

# **Commonwealth of Virginia** DEPARTMENT OF AVIATION

5702 Gulfstream Road Richmond, Virginia 23250-2422 Tel. 804-236-3637 Extension 102 Fax 804-236-3635 1-800-292-1034

www.doav.virginia.gov

# **Aircraft License Application**

### \*\*IMPORTANT\*\*

- A license will expire 12 months from the original date issued.
- Confirmation of tax payment must be attached before license can be issued.
- It is a misdemeanor to operate an unlicensed aircraft in Virginia.

INSTRUCTIONS:	Type or print providing complete information.  Return with check payable to "Treasurer of Virginia".						
Check One:	<ul><li>☐ Noncommercial Aircraft License - \$5.00</li><li>☐ Commercial Aircraft License - \$10.00</li></ul>						
	Section	n 1 – Own	er Inforn	nation			
Name of Primary Owner							
Address				Home	Phone (Area co	ode & number)	
City, State, ZIP Code				Busine	Business Phone (Area code & number)		
E-Mail Address	Cell Phone (Area code & number)			e & number)			
Ownership Type	☐ Individual Ownership ☐ Joint Ownership ☐ Fractional Ownership						
☐ Check if more than one	Check if more than one owner. (List names of owners of page 4.)  Additional Information for Businesses						
Incorporation Date	Additiona	ii informatio			corporation		
Contact Person			Tit	tle			
Contact's Phone			Contact's	Email			
Section 2 – Aircraft Registration Information							
FAA Registration Number	N		Serial N				
City/State where aircraft is registered as recorded with FAA							
City/County to which personal property tax is paid on aircraft							
Based Airport	<u> </u>						
Virginia Contract Carrier Permit Number (if applicable)							

			Section	on 3 – Aircr	raft Info	mation				
Model Year		M	lodel		Make	e/Manufacture	er			
Aircraft Type		☐ Fixed \	Wing Single-	engine 🗌 f	Rotorcraft	☐ Homebu	ilt/Oth	ner 🗌 G	lider	
		☐ Fixed \	Wing Multi-er	ngine 🔲 l	Ultralight	☐ Blimp/Di	rigible	e 🗌 Ba	lloon	
Aircraft Categor	у	Land	☐ Sea	Amphibian						
Number of Engi	nes	Е	ngine Make							
Engine Type		☐ Turbo	Jet 🗌 Turk	oopropeller	☐ Turbo	shaft 🗌 Tur	bo Air	Generati	ng	
		☐ Ram J	et 🗌 Rec	iprocating	☐ No Er	ngine 🗌 O	ther			
Aircraft Use		☐ Persor	nal 🗌 Bu	usiness 🗌	Rental	☐ Instruction	on	☐ SAR	LDA	
		☐ Flying	Club 🗌 Aç	griculture 🗌	Air Taxi	☐ Air Ambu	lance	☐ Othe	r	
Is aircraft airwor	thy?	☐ Yes ☐ No	If "no", s	state condition	ns					
			Section	n 4 – Purch	ase Info	rmation				
Date of Purchas	se or E	ntry Into Vir								
Total Purchase Price										
Seller's Name										
Seller's Address										
Seller's Phone Number										
		Section	on 5 – Airc	raft Sales	and Use	Tax Inform	natio	n		
Date Sales Tax	Paid			Amount of						
If sales tax not p	oaid, st	tate reason								
			Secti	on 6 – Leas	se Infori	nation				
If the aircraft is	"Lea	sed" or is a					wing	informati	on	
Lessee Name					Fleet/F	Permit Numbe	r (if ap	plicable)		
Lessee Address	;				Lesse	e Phone				
			Section	7 – Insura	ance Info	ormation				
Insurance Policy	y Numl	ber								
Insurance Comp	oany									
Issuing Agency	_									
Insurance Effect	tive Da	ate			Insuranc	e Expiration D	ate			

# **Section 8 – Financial Responsibility**

Minimum financial responsibility required for each aircraft by the Code of Virginia, §5.1-88.2:

## **OPTION 1**

Bodily Injury to or Death of One Person in Any One Accident	\$50,000
AND Bodily Injury to or Death of Two or More Persons in Any One Accident	\$100,000
AND Injury to or Destruction of Property of Others in Any One Accident	\$25,000
	\$175,000

Or, a Single Limit Policy Covering Bodily Injury and Property Damage \$250,000

#### **OPTION 2**

Execution of a bond by a licensee and by a surety company authorized to transact business in this Commonwealth conditioned for payment in amounts and under the same circumstances as would be required in a policy of bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance, as required by the provisions set forth above.

#### **OPTION 3**

\$250,000 in cash delivered to the Virginia Department of Aviation an irrevocable letter of credit in the amount of \$250,000 from a depository institution as defined in \$2.2-4701. Such money or securities so delivered to the Virginia Department of Aviation shall be placed by it in the custody of the State Treasurer and shall be subject to execution to satisfy any judgment within the limits on amounts required for personal injury and property damage liability insurance.

Section 9 – Certification by Owner				
I declare that this application has been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief is true, correct and complete.				
Primary Owner Name (Please Print )	Signature	Date		

DEPARTMENT OF	F AVIATION USE ONLY:
VA License #	
Expiration Date	
Check Number	
Fee Amount	
Transmittal Date	
Sales Tax Received	

Multiple Owners				
Name				
Address				
City, State ZIP				
Phone Number				
Email Address				
Name				
Address				
City, State ZIP				
Phone Number				
Email Address				
Г				
Name				
Address				
City, State ZIP				
Phone Number				
Email Address				
Γ	Г			
Name				
Address				
City, State ZIP				
Phone Number				
Email Address				
Name				
Address				
City, State ZIP				
Phone Number				
Email Address				