## **Worksheet For Computing Virginia Digital Media Fee**

A fee is imposed equal to 10% of the price of all in-room purchases or rentals of digital media in hotels, motels, bed and breakfast establishments, inns, and other facilities offering guest rooms rented out for continuous occupancy for fewer than 90 consecutive days. Digital media means any audio-visual work received through the in-room television for a separate charge including, but not limited to, any motion picture, television or audio programming, or game, regardless if it is transmitted in an analog or digital format. Digital media does not include Internet access or telephone service. **NOTE:** This 10% fee is in addition to all other taxes that may be imposed.

Complete this worksheet and transfer the lines to corresponding lines on the Form DM-1 below. Dealer's Discount is allowable only when the return and payment are filed on time. Retain this worksheet as a part of your tax records; do not file it with Form DM-1.

1	Gross In-Room Digital Media Sales: Enter whether for cash or on credit.	total gross dollar am	nount of in-room digital	media sold or leased,	1		
2	Exempt In-Room Digital Media Sales and O sales, most of which require that an exemption Media Fee was paid that resulted in a refund of the Digital Media Fee was charged.	certificate be obtained	d from the purchaser, sa	les for which the Digital	2		
3	Taxable In-Room Digital Media Sales: Enter	the total taxable digital	al media sales (Subtrac	t Line 2 from Line 1).	3		
4	Digital Media Fee: 10%. Multiply Line 3 by the	e 10% rate (.10).			4		
5	<b>Dealer's Discount:</b> If you are subject to ma dealer's discount is allowed. For all other filers is allowable only when return and payment are	, the discount factors a					
	Multiply Line 4 by the applicable factor I www.policylibrary.tax.virginia.gov.	below. For more inf	formation, please see	Tax Bulletin 10-5 at			
	Determine Monthly Digit	tal Media Sales and I	Dealer's Discount Fact	tor			
	Use digital media sales on Line 3 to determine the dealer's discount factor.	Monthly Ta	xable Sales	Dealer's Discount Factor			
	If you file more than one return, use the total of digital media sales from all locations.	(a) At Least	(b) But Less Than	(c)			
		\$0	\$62,501	.0048			
	• If you file on a quarterly basis, divide the taxable sales for all locations by 3.	\$62,501	\$208,001	.0036			
	taxable sales for all locations by 0.	\$208,001	And Up	.0024	5		
6	Fee Due: (Line 4 less Line 5).				6	1	
7	<b>Penalty:</b> The late filing and payment penalty is to exceed 30%. The minimum payment is \$10.0			n the tax is not paid, not	7		
8	Interest: For late filing and payment, interest Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as amended, p		at the rate established	in Section 6621 of the	8		
9	Total Amount Due: (Add Lines 6, 7, and 8).				9		

## **Return and Payment Filing**

- For assistance, call (804) 367-8037. Tenemos servicios disponible en Español.
- Forms and instructions are available at www.tax.virginia.gov or by calling (804) 367-8037.

Make your check payable to the Department of Taxation.

**Department of Taxation** 

P. O. Box 26627

Richmond, VA 23261-6627

DO NOT mail this worksheet. Detach at dotted line below.

## DM-1 Virginia Digital Media Fee Return (Lodging Industry Only)

(Doc ID 121)

For assistance, call (804)367-8037

Period	Due Date

## 000000 8888127 00000000000

Account Number	FEIN	
Name		
Address		
Address		
City, State, ZIP		

I declare that this return has been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete

Complete the worksheet above and transfer the entries to the corresponding line numbers on this Form DM-1.

Gross In-Room Digital Media Sales		
Exempt In-Room Digital Media Sales and Other Deductions		
Taxable In-Room Digital Media Sales		
Digital Media Fee - 10% (Line 3 X .10)		
Dealer's Discount		
Fee Due (Line 4 less Line 5)		
Penalty		
Interest		
	Exempt In-Room Digital Media Sales and Other Deductions  Taxable In-Room Digital Media Sales  Digital Media Fee - 10% (Line 3 X .10)  Dealer's Discount  Fee Due (Line 4 less Line 5)  Penalty	Exempt In-Room Digital Media Sales and Other Deductions  Taxable In-Room Digital Media Sales  Digital Media Fee - 10% (Line 3 X .10)  Dealer's Discount  Fee Due (Line 4 less Line 5)  Penalty

Total Amount
--------------

. Dept. of Taxation 6210107-W Rev. 12/16

Signature Pho

Phone Number

Date