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Introduction 

This publication contains general information regarding the withholding of Virginia income tax from wages. You 

should use this booklet as a reference guide, not as a substitute for the complete tax law provided by the Code 

of Virginia or the regulations and public documents published by Virginia Tax. 

 

Introducing RetirePath Virginia 

RetirePath Virginia is open for registration. The Commonwealth’s new retirement savings program is a simple 

solution for eligible businesses, with no employer fees or fiduciary responsibilities. Under state law, certain 

Virginia businesses are required to either register for RetirePath or offer their own qualified retirement plan. 

RetirePath is voluntary for employees. Individuals who are self-employed or don’t work for a participating 

employer can independently open an account. Learn more at RetirePathVA.com.  

 

New: Increase in Standard Deduction 

Legislation enacted during the 2023 General Assembly session increases the standard deduction from $8,000 to 

$8,500 for single filers and from $16,000 to $17,000 for married filers filing jointly. Under this Act, the increase 

in the standard deduction is scheduled to sunset after Taxable Year 2025 and revert to the standard deduction 

amounts that applied prior to Taxable Year 2019: $3,000 for single filers and $6,000 for married couples filing 

jointly.  

 

Important Due Date for Forms VA-6, W-2, and 1099 

The due date for the Employer’s Annual Summary of Virginia Income Tax Withheld (Form VA-6 or Form VA-6H) 

along with required wage statements (Forms W-2 and 1099) is January 31. If a business closes, these forms must 

be filed within 30 days after the last month in which wages were paid. 

 

Where to Get Assistance 

Visit our website at tax.virginia.gov to: 

 Download forms and instructions 

 Get filing information 

 Review answers to frequently asked questions 

 File electronically using online services for Businesses 

 Update registration information using online services for Businesses 

Call Virginia Tax Customer Service for Businesses: 804.367.8037. Tenemos servicio disponible en Español. 
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Online File and Pay Options 

Virginia Tax offers free online filing and ACH Debit payment options. Each option allows you to schedule your 

payment on a date that you specify and provides immediate filing and payment confirmation. If you prefer to 

make payments by ACH Credit, use our online services for businesses or Web Upload to submit the required 

reconciliation Forms VA-6 and/or VA-16, as applicable. See below for details. 

 

 

1. eForms – an easy option for all taxpayers. Whether you have little to no computer experience or you are an 

expert, eForms is the easiest and fastest way to file and pay electronically.  

 Prepare your return without having to enroll or login 

 Fill in the fields on a return that looks just like the paper return, with eForms performing some of the 

calculations for you  

 Save time by storing your account and banking information for your next filing  

 Go to tax.virginia.gov/eforms 

 

2. Online Services for Businesses – for the taxpayer who wants to do more than file and pay electronically. 

With an online account you can update your contact and address information, add new business locations, 

and more.  

 Enroll and login with the user ID and password that you select  

 Save time by storing your account and banking information for your next filing  

 File returns and make payments electronically, with our system performing the calculations for you  

 View up to 14 months of your filing history  

 Go to business.tax.virginia.gov 

 

3. Web Upload – for the taxpayer with computer experience. With this option, you can send tax return and 

payment files from your computer directly to Virginia Tax.  

 Enroll and login with the user ID and password that you select  

 Use a variety of file types, including Excel  

 View up to 24 months of uploaded file information  

 File Form W-2  

 Go to tax.virginia.gov/webupload 

 

4. ACH Credit – to make electronic payments directly into the state’s bank account. 

 You must contact your financial institution and make arrangements to credit the state’s bank account 

with funds from your bank account.  

 Your financial institution will advise you of ACH origination services offered and any associated costs. 

 

 

All of Virginia Tax’s online services are free, secure, easy to use,  

and available 24/7 at tax.virginia.gov 

http://www.tax.virginia.gov/eforms
http://www.business.tax.virginia.gov/
http://www.tax.virginia.gov/webupload
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Registering for a Withholding Tax Account 

Who Must Register 

You must have a Virginia withholding account if you have an employee who is earning income while in Virginia. 

This includes a person or business that pays wages or salaries for services performed in Virginia or pays pensions 

or annuities to Virginia residents. Visit our website at virginia.gov/ireg to register your business. You may also 

register with the Virginia Employment Commission (VEC) at the same time you register your business online with 

us. Registering online is fast, easy, secure, and most of all reduces errors. You also have the ability to save your 

registration and complete it at a later time. If you prefer to register on paper, complete Form R-1 (Registration 

Application). For faster processing, provide all of the requested information. 

 

When to Register 

You should register your business before you begin withholding wages. If you have not registered by the date 
that your first tax payment is due, send the payment with Form R-1 and a letter explaining what period the 
payment covers. 
 

Filing Frequency Status 

If your estimated total withholding is: You are required to file: 

Less than $300 per quarter Quarterly 

$300 to $2,999 per quarter Monthly  

$3,000 or more per quarter Semi-weekly 

 

After you have registered, we will review your account each year and adjust your filing status accordingly. If your 

filing frequency changes, we will send you a letter of notification for the appropriate filing frequency. Filing 

status changes are effective on January 1 of each year and remain in effect until the following January 1.  

 

For businesses that are operating on a seasonal basis or paying wages or salaries only during certain months of 

the year, complete the “Seasonal Business” section when registering using iReg or on Form R-1. Your business 

will be assigned a seasonal filing status. 

 

Your Virginia Account Number 

The Virginia account number assigned by Virginia Tax will serve as the identification number for your 

withholding tax account and for your other major business tax accounts. Please use your account number on 

any returns, checks, or correspondence that you send to us. 

Because your registration information also includes your Federal Employer’s Identification Number (FEIN), it is 

helpful if you also include that number on forms and correspondence. If the Internal Revenue Service assigns a 
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new FEIN to your business because of a reorganization, change in business type, or change of ownership, you 

must file Form R-1 and obtain a new Virginia account number.  

 

If you have more than one account number and do not know which one is correct, please contact us at 

804.367.8037. If you acquire another employer’s business, do not use that employer’s account number. Instead, 

complete Form R-1 and file it with a statement explaining the change in ownership. 

 

Registration Changes 

Report all changes to your business by updating your account online at business.tax.virginia.gov. You can make 

any of the following changes:  

 Update addresses 

 End liability for a specific tax type  

 Update contacts  

 Add a new tax type to an existing account  

 Close your business  

 

If you prefer to submit changes on paper, submit Form R-3, which can be downloaded from Virginia Tax’s 

website at tax.virginia.gov. Do not use Form R-3 to report a name change that results from a change in 

ownership. Instead, file Form R-3 to close the former owner’s account and file Form R-1 to obtain a Virginia 

account number for the new owner. In the case of a corporate merger, you should attach a copy of the merger 

statement to Form R-3. 

 

When to File 

For timely filing, your return must be postmarked or received on or before the due date.  

 

Electronic Filing - Withholding filers must file forms and payments electronically. Use eForms, online services for 

businesses, or Web Upload. When you use an online account, we will process your return immediately, and you 

can opt to schedule your payment at a future date. When using Web Upload, both return and payment can be 

held and processed on a future date. Be sure to file by the due date to avoid late filing penalties and interest. 

You may request a temporary waiver by submitting an Electronic Filing Waiver Request, citing your specific 

hardship. All waivers are temporary and must be renewed annually. 

 

Filing by Mail – When you submit a payment or return by mail or commercial delivery service, we will consider it 

timely provided that either the envelope shows a postmark or bears a confirmation of shipment on or before 

midnight of the day the return must be filed. Visit Virginia Tax’s website at tax.virginia.gov to learn more. 
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Virginia Withholding Tax Forms and Due Dates 

Form Title and Description 

EMPLOYER FORMS 

iReg Online registration 

Used to register your business for withholding tax online at our website – tax.virginia.gov. 

R-1 Registration Application 

Used to register your business for withholding tax. 

R-1H Household Employer Registration Form  

Used by employers of household service employees to register for withholding tax. 

R-3 Registration Change Request  

Used to report a change of name or address, or to notify Virginia Tax that an employer is no longer liable 

for withholding. File before the effective date of the change. If you do not have Form R-3, send us a 

letter. 

VA-5 Employer’s Return of Virginia Income Tax Withheld  

Used by quarterly, monthly and seasonal filers. Quarterly returns are due on April 30, July 31, October 

31, and January 31. Monthly returns are due by the 25th day of the following month. Seasonal returns 

are due on the same dates as monthly returns, for each month that the business has employees. 

VA-15 Employer’s Payment of Virginia Income Tax Withheld  

Used by semi-weekly filers. Payments are due within 3 banking days of any federal cutoff date (generally 

Tuesdays and Fridays) if the accumulated tax liability exceeds $500. If the due date falls within 3 days of 

the due date for Form VA-16, your payment must accompany the Form VA-16 submission. 

VA-16 Employer’s Payments Quarterly Reconciliation and Return of Virginia Income Tax Withheld  

Used by semi-weekly filers to reconcile payments for each calendar quarter. 

VA-6 Employer’s Annual Reconciliation of Virginia Income Tax Withheld  

Annual or final summary of payments for the year. Form VA-6 is due by January 31 each year or within 

30 days after the last payment of wages. Forms W-2 must be sent electronically using Web Upload. 

Forms W-2, W-2C, W-2G, or 1099 information must be submitted if Virginia income tax withheld is 

reflected on the statements. Note: Form W-2 and Form VA-6 information are 2 separate statements. 

Uploading Form W-2 data to Web Upload will NOT automatically create your Form VA-6. See 

instructions for filing electronically at tax.virginia.gov. 

VA-6H Household Employer’s Annual Summary of Virginia Income Tax Withheld  

For household employers who elect to file their withholding tax returns on an annual basis. Form VA-6H is due 

by January 31 each year. When filing Form VA-6H, Wage and Tax Statements (Form W-2) must also be 

submitted electronically for each employee using Web Upload or eForms. 

EMPLOYEE FORMS 

VA-4 Virginia Employee’s Withholding Exemption Certificate  

Used to report the number of exemptions that an employee is entitled to claim. Obtain 1 Form VA-4 

from each employee on the date employment begins. 

VA-4P Withholding Exemption Certificate for Recipients of Pension and Annuity Payments  

Used to report the number of exemptions that a pension or annuity for recipients of pension is entitled 

to claim. Obtain 1 from each recipient before annuity payments begin. 
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Who Must Withhold Virginia Income Tax 

Who is an Employer 

As a general rule, any person or entity that meets the definition of “employer,” which is described below, must 

withhold Virginia income tax. An employer is generally a person or entity that pays wages to employees for 

services performed in Virginia or makes pension or annuity payments to residents of Virginia. 

 

The term “employer” includes the following:  

 An individual, fiduciary, partnership, association, joint enterprise, or corporation for whom an employee 

performs services  

 The Commonwealth of Virginia, or any political subdivision thereof, or any agency or instrumentality 

thereof  

 The United States or any agency or instrumentality thereof  

 Payers of pensions or annuities to residents of Virginia, except that financial institutions are not 

considered employers with respect to payments from Individual Retirement Accounts (IRA) or simplified 

employee pension funds (SEP) 

 

An employer is generally subject to the Virginia withholding requirements if the employer is:  

 A resident of Virginia  

 Doing business in Virginia  

 Domesticated under the laws of Virginia relating to the domestication of foreign corporations  

 Making payments of wages or salaries to employees for services performed in Virginia  

 Making pension or annuity payments to residents of Virginia 

 

 

Conformity to Federal Definitions 

The determination of whether an employer-employee relationship exists for purposes of Virginia withholding 

requirements is made under federal law (Treas. Reg. § 31.3401(c)-1). Anyone classified as an employer for 

federal purposes is also an employer for Virginia purposes. Effective Jan. 1, 2021, employers are subject to a civil 

monetary penalty for employee misclassification. In addition to the penalties, if misclassifications are found 

during a second audit, then that employer will be barred from certain government contracts. Businesses found 

to be in violation are also liable for withholding taxes for any individual who was improperly classified for the 

period they were employed, as well as penalties and interest on those taxes. 

 

 

Courtesy Filers 

An employer who is not otherwise subject to the Virginia withholding requirements, but wishes to withhold 

Virginia income tax as a courtesy to employees who reside in Virginia, may register for an account number. Once 

registered, the employer will be subject to the same filing requirements as all other Virginia employers. 
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Who is an Employee 

The term “employee” includes:  

 An individual (resident or nonresident) who performs or performed services in Virginia for wages  

 A resident of Virginia who performs or performed services outside Virginia for wages  

 An officer, employee, or elected official of the United States, or any other state or territory, or any 

political subdivision thereof, or the District of Columbia, or any instrumentality or agency of the 

governments listed  

 An officer of a corporation  

 A resident of Virginia who receives pension or annuity payments 

 

An employee is generally subject to Virginia income tax withholding if any of the following conditions are met:  

 The individual receives taxable wages for services performed in Virginia and is not eligible for an 

exemption from withholding  

 The individual is a resident of Virginia who receives taxable wages for services performed outside 

Virginia and does not qualify for an exemption from withholding 

 The individual is a resident of Virginia and receives pension or annuity payments or both from which 

federal income tax has been withheld (except IRA and SEP payments) and is not eligible for an 

exemption from withholding  

 

See “How to Compute the Tax” for additional information. 

 

Taxable and Exempt Payments 

Payments Subject to Withholding 

Virginia law conforms to the federal definition of income subject to withholding. Virginia withholding is generally 

required on any payment for which federal withholding is required. This includes most wages, pensions and 

annuities, gambling winnings, vacation pay, bonuses, and certain expense reimbursements. 

 

 

Payments Exempt from Withholding 

Payments that are exempt from federal withholding are also exempt from Virginia withholding. In addition, the 

following payments are exempt from Virginia withholding:  

 Payments made for acting in or serving as a crew member for movies, television series, commercials, or 

promotional films that are filmed totally or partially in Virginia by an employer that conducts business in 

Virginia for less than 90 days and that edits, processes, and markets the completed project outside 

Virginia 
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 Payments made from an IRA or SEP  

 Payments made to nonresident employees of rail carriers, motor carriers, and water carriers  

 Payments made to resident and nonresident merchant seamen 

 

Payments to Nonresidents under Reciprocity Agreements 

When you make wage or salary payments to a nonresident for services performed in Virginia, you typically must 

withhold Virginia income tax in the same manner as you would for a resident. Virginia has entered into 

reciprocity agreements with other states for individuals who earn income in states other than their states of 

residence. The agreements allow those individuals to be taxed only by their state of residence on earned or 

business income, provided that certain conditions are met. The terms of the agreements eliminate a 

nonresident’s liability for Virginia income tax, as well as the requirement for withholding from payments made 

for services performed in Virginia. Current reciprocity agreements affect Virginia withholding requirements for 

residents of the following states: Kentucky, the District of Columbia, Maryland, West Virginia and Pennsylvania. 

Withholding provisions for residents of these states who work in Virginia are described below. 

 

Kentucky and the District of Columbia: 

Wage and salary payments to residents of these states are not subject to Virginia withholding if the employees 

commute daily to a place of employment in Virginia. 

 

Maryland, West Virginia, and Pennsylvania: 

Wage and salary payments made to residents of these states are not subject to Virginia withholding if the 

employees meet the following conditions:  

 The employee maintains a legal domicile in another state and lives in Virginia for less than 183 days of 

the taxable year (or does not live in Virginia at all)  

 The only Virginia source income received during the year was from salaries or wages  

 The Virginia source income is subject to taxation by the individual’s state of residence  

 

Any nonresident who is exempt from Virginia withholding under a reciprocity agreement must indicate this on 

the Form VA-4, Employee’s Exemption Certificate, filed with their employer. 

 

Payments to Other Nonresidents 

Payments to the following nonresidents for services performed in Virginia are subject to withholding:  

 Residents of non-reciprocity states. This includes residents of neighboring states (Tennessee and North 

Carolina) for which Virginia has no reciprocity agreement in place, as well as residents of other states 

who are working in Virginia on a temporary basis  

 Residents of Kentucky, the District of Columbia, Maryland, West Virginia, and Pennsylvania who do not 

meet the conditions for exemption under Virginia’s reciprocity agreements with those states 
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Partially Exempt Employment  

If an employee performs both taxable and nontaxable services for an employer, the entire payment for those 

services is subject to Virginia withholding if at least one-half of the services are taxable. If less than one-half of 

the employee’s time is spent in services not subject to withholding, the entire payment is exempt. 

 

 

Employee Withholding Exemption Certificates 

Use of Exemption Certificates 

To compute Virginia withholding tax for payments made to an employee, you need to know the number of 

personal exemptions that the employee can claim. The employee gives you this information on Form VA-4, 

Virginia Employee’s Income Tax Withholding Exemption Certificate. An employee would also use Form VA-4 to 

tell an employer that he or she is exempt from Virginia withholding. Recipients of pension and annuity payments 

use a different certificate, Form VA-4P, to report their exemption information to their payers.  

 

Keep exemption certificates in your records to support your computation of Virginia withholding tax for each 

employee. Do not send the certificates to Virginia Tax. 

 

You must use the Virginia exemption certificates for computing Virginia withholding. You may not substitute 

federal certificates (Forms W-4 or W-4P). 

 

Filing Exemption Certificates 

Employees must file Form VA-4 with you when their employment begins. Form VA-4P should be filed before 

pension or annuity distributions begin. If no Form VA-4 or VA-4P is filed, withhold Virginia income tax as if no 

exemptions had been claimed. A new Form VA-4 or Form VA-4P must be filed if the employee’s allowable 

number of exemptions changes or if an employee that was previously exempt from Virginia income tax becomes 

subject to the tax. The form should be filed within 10 days of the employee’s change in status. Note: Employers 

may establish a system to electronically receive Forms VA-4 from employees, provided the system meets 

Internal Revenue Service requirements as specified in Treas. Reg. § 31.3402(f)(5)-1(c). 

Claiming Exemptions 

The employee must complete the Personal Exemption Worksheet to determine the allowable number of 

exemptions for withholding purposes. An employee may not claim more than the number of personal 

exemptions that he or she is entitled to claim for purposes of filing an individual income tax return, unless 

Virginia Tax has authorized additional exemptions in writing.  

 

In cases where an employee will be claiming a large amount of itemized deductions on their income tax return, 

basing the withholding computation on the usual number of allowable exemptions may result in withholding too 

much tax. If an employee can show that such withholding has resulted in a refund of $300 or more for the 

preceding tax year, they may write to the Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1115, Richmond, VA 23218-1115 to 
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request permission to claim additional withholding exemptions. The letter should include the employee’s name, 

Social Security number, estimated Virginia taxable income for the year, gross wages per pay period, and number 

of pay periods.  

 

If you believe that an employee has claimed too many exemptions, please send a copy of the employee’s Form 

VA-4 to the Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1115, Richmond, VA 23218-1115, and request a review of the 

information. We will notify you in writing whether you may accept the Form VA-4 as filed or whether the 

employee must file a new Form VA-4. 

 

Additional Withholding  

If an employee wants to have an additional amount of tax withheld from each paycheck, and you agree to do so, 

the employee must indicate the additional amount on Form VA-4 or Form VA-4P. If you do not agree to withhold 

additional tax, the employee may need to make estimated tax payments. 

 

Exemption from Withholding  

An employee is exempt from Virginia withholding if he or she meets any of the conditions listed on Form VA-4 or 

VA-4P. The employee must file a new certificate each year to certify the exemption. Be sure to keep copies of 

any certificate claiming exemption from withholding. 

 

 

How to File and Pay the Tax 

Electronic Filing and Payment Requirements 

All employers are required to submit all returns and payments electronically. Virginia Tax offers the following 

filing options: eForms, online services for Businesses, and Web Upload. You must submit return and payment 

information using these systems or by making payments via ACH Credit. You can download an Electronic 

Payment Guide from our website at tax.virginia.gov. 

 

How Often to File 

Your filing status is determined by the average amount of income tax that you withhold each month. When you 

register your business for withholding tax, you are asked to estimate this figure so that Virginia Tax can assign a 

filing status. Based on that information, we assign a quarterly, monthly, semi-weekly, or seasonal filing status. In 

addition, all employers must file an annual summary. You are not responsible for monitoring your monthly tax 

liability to see if a status change is needed. Virginia Tax reviews each account annually and makes any necessary 

changes. We usually mail notices of change in filing status during December of each year and they become 

effective on January 1. 
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Liability for Filing 

After you register for a withholding tax account, you must file a return for every period during which the account 

remains open, even if there is no tax due. If you do not expect to pay wages for an extended period of time, you 

may want to close the account until you begin paying wages again. 

 

Extensions of Time for Filing and Payment 

Virginia Tax will grant a reasonable extension of time for filing and/or payment when good cause exists. You 

must apply for an extension in writing before the due date of the applicable return. If the time for payment is 

extended, we will assess interest on the tax due from the original due date through the date of payment. 

 

Semi-Weekly Filing 

If your average monthly liability is $1,000 or more, Virginia Tax will assign a semi-weekly filing status to your 

account. If the Virginia income tax withheld as of the close of any federal deposit period is more than $500, a 

payment must be made within 3 banking days. Federal cutoff days for withholding deposits are generally 

Tuesday and Friday of each week. At the end of each calendar quarter, you are required to submit a 

reconciliation on Form VA-16, along with payment of any remaining tax due for the quarter. In addition, if the 

due date for Form VA-16 falls within 3 days of the due date of a current month’s semi-weekly payment, the 

current payment is included on Form VA-16. Form VA-16 is due the last day of the month following the close of 

the quarterly filing period. 

 

Special Rule for Semi-Weekly Filers 

Semi-weekly filers are required to file a summary for each calendar quarter on Form VA-16. The total payments 

made for the quarter are subtracted from the actual tax withheld, and any remaining balance due is paid with 

the return. Semi-weekly filers are subject to a 6% underpayment penalty if at least 90% of the total tax liability 

for the quarterly period has not been paid within 3 banking days after the close of the semi-weekly deposit 

period that covers the quarterly period end date. 

 

Waiver  

Certain employers may request a waiver from Virginia semi-weekly income tax withholding requirements. If the 

Tax Commissioner grants a waiver, the employer will be allowed to file withholding returns and pay the 

withholding tax on a monthly basis. An employer must have no more than 5 employees who are subject to 

Virginia income tax withholding and must submit a request in writing to Virginia Tax no later than December 15 

of the year prior to the year for which a waiver is being requested. To meet the employment requirement, an 

employer must certify that it employed an average number of no more than 5 employees during the current 

year, and that it does not foresee a change in the average number of employees during the upcoming year. The 

request must also set forth in detail the reasons for the waiver. Waiver requests should be submitted to: Virginia 

Department of Taxation, Employer Withholding Waiver Request, P.O. Box 1114, Richmond, Virginia 23218- 1114 

or fax to 804.367.2603.  

 

Virginia Tax will notify the employer in writing whether the Tax Commissioner has granted such a request. If so, 

the employer will be allowed to file withholding returns and pay the withholding tax on a monthly basis for the 

following calendar year. You must submit waiver requests each year by December 15 of the year prior to the 

year for which a waiver is being requested. For more information, contact us at 804.367.8037 or visit 

tax.virginia.gov. 
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Monthly Filing 

If your average monthly withholding tax liability is at least $100 but less than $1,000, Virginia Tax will assign a 

monthly filing status to your account. Submit Form VA-5 and pay by the 25th day of the following month. A list 

of the due dates for monthly returns is shown below. 

 

Month Due Date  Month Due Date 

January February 25  July August 25 

February March 25  August September 25 

March April 25  September October 25 

April May 25  October November 25 

May June 25  November December 25 

June July 25  December January 25 

 

You must submit a return for each month even if there is no tax due. Any tax due must be paid by the due date. 

Quarterly Filing 

If the average monthly withholding tax liability is less than $100, Virginia Tax will assign a quarterly filing status 

to your account. Submit Form VA-5 and pay by the last day of the following month. A list of the due dates for 

quarterly returns is shown below. 

 

Quarter Ended Due Date 

March 31 April 30 

June 30 July 31 

September 30 October 31 

December 31 January 31 

 

You must submit a return for each quarter even if there is no tax due 

 

Seasonal Filing 

As a seasonal filer, you are required to submit returns for the months that you designated when you registered, 

even if there is no tax due. Seasonal returns are submitted using Form VA-5 and are due on the 25th of the 

following month for each month that the business has an employee. To change the designated months, write to 

the Registration Unit, P.O. Box 1114, Richmond, VA 23218-1114. 
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Annual Summary 

Form VA-6. Every employer must submit Form VA-6, Annual Summary online using eForms, online services for 

Businesses, or Web Upload at tax.virginia.gov. Form VA-6 is due on January 31. If you close your account before 

the end of the year, you must file Form VA-6 within 30 days of the last month in which you pay wages. All 

employers must submit their VA-6 electronically.  

 

Federal Income Statements. You must submit any federal income statements (Forms W-2 and 1099) that reflect 

Virginia withholding. Beginning in December 2021, a new Form W-2C layout must be used to correct W-2 

information via Web Upload and eForms. Forms W-2, W-2C, 1099- MISC, 1099-NEC, and 1099-R may be 

submitted using Web Upload or eForms. If you have other federal series forms, such as the Forms W-2G or 

1099-INT that reflect Virginia withholding, you must submit these on paper.  

 

Web Upload Reporting. You may file Forms W-2, W-2C, 1099-MISC, 1099-NEC, 1099-R, and 1099-K 

electronically via the Web Upload system and receive immediate validation/feedback on your submitted data. 

Files must be formatted according to the SSA’s EFW2 and the IRS’s Publication 1220. The state code of (51) 

should be used to indicate Virginia income tax withheld. Details for filing by Web Upload can be found at 

tax.virginia.gov/web-upload. Note: Submitting Form W-2 information to Virginia Tax does not take the place of 

filing state employment data. You must transmit that information separately to the VEC.  

eForms. Virginia’s eForms system is a free and secure system using fillable electronic forms to electronically file 

your wage and tax statements. Use eForms to enter your W-2, W-2C, or 1099 information and submit it 

electronically to Virginia Tax. With eForms, you can file directly from your web browser without signing up for an 

account. You can find details for submitting data using eForms at tax.virginia.gov/eforms.  

 

Form 1099 Requirements. You are required to file Forms 1099 with Virginia Tax when the forms show Virginia 

income tax withheld. See Tax Bulletin 20-10 for Form 1099-K reporting requirements. Since we use employer 

withholding records to combat refund fraud and identity theft, the delay in receipt of records can impact the 

processing of individual income tax returns. Without a payer copy on record, we may contact recipients to 

provide additional documentation to substantiate their Virginia withholding claims and refund entitlements. 

 

 

Adjustments to Returns  

If you overpay your withholding tax, you may claim a credit on your return for the next period or request a 

refund. Refund requests should be mailed to Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1115, Richmond, VA 23218-1115. 

Virginia Tax will allow a refund only if the tax in question was not actually withheld from an employee’s wages. 

Claims for credit or refund must be filed within 3 years from the due date of the return for the period in which 

the overpayment occurred. If you underpay your tax, report the underpayment on your next return and attach a 

detailed explanation. If the underpayment is not discovered until the end of the calendar year, you should pay 

the tax with your annual summary, Form VA-6. 

 

Late Filing Penalty  

The penalty for filing a withholding return after the due date is 6% of the tax due for every month or part of a 

month that the return is late. The maximum penalty is 30% of the tax due. The minimum penalty is $10.00. The 

minimum penalty applies even if there is no tax due.  

https://www.tax.virginia.gov/laws-rules-decisions/tax-bulletins/20-10
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Late Payment Penalty  

The penalty for late payment of withholding tax is the same as the late filing penalty (6% per month), and the 

same minimum and maximum amounts apply. However, the late payment penalty does not apply to any month 

for which the late filing penalty has already been assessed. Therefore, the total combined penalties for late filing 

and late payment cannot exceed 30% of the tax due, and the minimum penalty of $10.00 can be assessed only 

once.  

 

Interest  

If tax is paid after the due date, even with an approved extension, interest is accrued on the tax due from the 

due date through the date of payment. The interest rate is the federal underpayment rate established under 

Internal Revenue Code § 6621, plus 2%. 

 

 

Record Keeping Requirements  

Your withholding tax records should include: 

 The amounts and dates of wage payments made to each employee  

 The amounts and dates of all Virginia income tax withheld from each employee  

 The name, address, social security number, and period of employment for each employee  

 An exemption certificate (Form VA-4 or VA-4P) for each employee  

 Your account number and the amounts and dates of all tax payments made to the Department; and  

 A list of employees claiming exemption from withholding, including Social Security numbers  

 

Keep all records for at least 3 years after the due date to which they relate or the date the tax was paid, 

whichever is later. 

 

 

How to Compute the Tax 

Tax Tables and Formula 

Tables for computing the tax, based on weekly, bi-weekly, semi-monthly, monthly, and daily or miscellaneous 

pay periods are provided starting on Page 21. To use a table, select the appropriate wage bracket in the left-

hand column, then the number of exemptions from the top of the table to arrive at the amount of tax to be 

withheld. The tax amounts listed in the tables are rounded to the nearest dollar. To compute the exact amount 

of tax to be withheld, use the formula on Page 21.  
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Determining the Payroll Period  

For purposes of computing withholding, “payroll period” means the period of service (daily, weekly, monthly, 

etc.) for which you normally pay wages. You should use the same period that you use for federal withholding tax 

purposes. If you have a regular payroll period, use that period for computing the tax, even if your employee 

does not work for the entire period. If you do not have a regular payroll period in place, compute the tax using 

the Daily or Miscellaneous Withholding Tax Table. Special instructions for using that table are given below.  

 

For a period of less than 1 week, you may compute the tax using a weekly payroll period, provided that the 

employee signs a statement certifying that they have not worked for any other employer for wages subject to 

withholding in that calendar week. 

 

Using the Daily or Miscellaneous Withholding Table  

To compute the tax using the Daily or Miscellaneous Withholding Tax Table:  

a. Count the number of days in the period covered by the payment, including Saturdays, Sundays, and 

holidays. If the wages are not related to a specific period of time (for example, commissions paid upon 

completion of a sale), count the number of days back from the payment date to the latest of the 

following dates:  

i. The last wage payment made to that employee in the same calendar year  

ii. The date employment began, if that date falls in the same calendar year  

iii. January 1 of the year in which you are making the payment  

b. Divide the wage payment by the number of days computed under a. This is the average daily wage.  

c. Locate the average daily wage amount in the left column of the Daily or Miscellaneous Withholding Tax 

Table, then compute the daily tax by selecting the appropriate number of exemptions from the top of 

the table.  

d. Multiply the daily tax by the number of days computed under a to compute the tax for the pay period. 

Nonperiodic Payments 

Pension and Annuity Payments. If the payment is subject to mandatory federal withholding of 20% or 28% or if 

payments are not made on a regular basis, withhold Virginia tax at a rate of 4%.  

 

Vacation Pay and Bonuses. If vacation pay or bonuses are included with a regular wage payment, add those 

amounts to the gross wages for the period and withhold tax on the entire total using the withholding tax tables 

or formula. If the payments are not included with regular wage payments, compute the tax as described in the 

“Supplemental Wage Payments” section. 

 

Supplemental Wage Payments. Add supplemental payments (such as commissions, overtime, back pay, and 

certain reimbursements) that are included with a regular wage payment to the gross wages and withhold tax on 

the entire total, using the withholding tax tables or the formula.  

 

If the supplemental wage payment is made separately, compute the tax as follows:  
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a. Add the supplemental wage payment to the regular wages for the current payroll period or to the wages 

for the last regular payroll period in the same calendar year.  

b. Compute the tax on the total from a using the withholding tax tables or formula. 

c. Compute the tax on the regular wages alone.  

d. Subtract the tax computed in c from the tax computed in b. This is the amount that should be withheld 

from the supplemental payment. 

 

However, if supplemental wage payments are paid and tax has been withheld from the employee’s regular 

wages, the employer may determine the tax to be withheld by using a flat percentage rate of 5.75%, without 

allowance for exemption and without reference to any regular payment of wages. 

 

Other Methods for Computing the Tax  

Virginia law allows the Tax Commissioner to approve the use of computation methods other than the formula 

and tables provided in this booklet. To apply for permission to use an alternative method, write to the Tax 

Commissioner, Virginia Tax, P.O. Box 2475, Richmond, VA 23218-2475. The requested method must result in 

substantially the same amount of tax withheld as you would compute using the tables or formula. Because of 

several differences between Virginia and federal income tax laws, it is not possible to correctly compute the 

Virginia tax to be withheld by using a method comparable to the federal “percentage method” or by using a set 

% of the federal tax withheld. 
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Withholding Tables 
for Wages Paid after April 1, 2024 

The amounts in the tables are approximate. Use the formula below for exact amounts. 
 

The tables include increases in the standard deduction from $8,000 to $8,500 for single filers and from $16,000 to $17,000 

for married filers filing jointly. If you are an employer properly using a prior version of these tables, you may begin 

using these updated tables for wages paid on any date after April 1, 2024.  
 

The increase in the standard deduction is scheduled to sunset after Taxable Year 2025 and revert to the standard deduction 

amounts that applied prior to Taxable Year 2019: $3,000 for single filers and $6,000 for married couples filing jointly. 

Formula for Computing Tax to be Withheld 

 

Legend  
G = Gross pay for pay period  

P = Number of pay periods per year  

A = Annualized gross pay (G x P)  

E1 = Personal and Dependent Exemptions  

E2 = Age 65 and Over & Blind Exemptions  

T = Annualized taxable income  

W = Annualized tax to be withheld  

W/H = Tax to be withheld for pay period 

 

 

Formula  

Effective for wages paid after April 1, 2024 

(for Taxable Year 2024 and after filers) 
 

1. (G)P - [$8,500 + (E1 X $930) + (E2 X 800)] = T 

2. If T is: W is: 

Not over $3,000 2% of T 

Over But not Over Then 

$3,000 $5,000 $60 + (3% of excess over $3,000)  

$5,000 $17,000 $120 + (5% of excess over $5,000)  

$17,000  $720 + (5.75% of excess over $17,000) 

3. W ÷ P = W/H 
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Example: 

 

John claims exemptions for himself, his spouse, and their three children for withholding tax purposes. He is paid 

on a semi-monthly basis, and his gross wages for this pay period were $2,476.  

1. (G)P - [$8,500 + ($930)E1] = T  

($2,476)24 - [$8,500+ ($930)5] = T  

$59,424 - $13,150 = $46,274  

 

2. T is over $17,000  

$720 + 5.75% of $29,274 = W  

$720 + $1,683 = $2,403 

 

3. W ÷ P = W/H  

$2,403 ÷ 24 = $100.13 

 

The tax to be withheld for the current period is $100.13. 

 

 

Pay Period Conversion Table (P) 

 

Annual = 1 Semi-monthly = 24 

Semiannual = 2 Bi-weekly = 26 

Quarterly = 4 Weekly = 52 

Monthly = 12 Daily = 300 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and over

$0 28 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
28 29 0.01 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
29 30 0.03 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
30 32 0.07 0.01 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
32 34 0.11 0.05 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
34 36 0.15 0.09 0.03 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
36 38 0.19 0.13 0.07 0.01 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
38 40 0.25 0.17 0.11 0.05 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
40 42 0.31 0.22 0.15 0.09 0.03 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
42 44 0.37 0.28 0.19 0.13 0.07 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
44 46 0.45 0.34 0.24 0.17 0.11 0.04 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
46 48 0.55 0.40 0.30 0.21 0.15 0.08 0.02 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
48 50 0.65 0.50 0.36 0.27 0.19 0.12 0.06 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
50 52 0.75 0.60 0.44 0.33 0.24 0.16 0.10 0.04 0.00 0.00 0.00
52 54 0.85 0.70 0.54 0.39 0.30 0.21 0.14 0.08 0.02 0.00 0.00
54 56 0.95 0.80 0.64 0.49 0.36 0.27 0.18 0.12 0.06 0.00 0.00
56 58 1.05 0.90 0.74 0.59 0.43 0.33 0.23 0.16 0.10 0.04 0.00
58 60 1.15 1.00 0.84 0.69 0.53 0.39 0.29 0.20 0.14 0.08 0.01
60 62 1.25 1.10 0.94 0.79 0.63 0.48 0.35 0.26 0.18 0.12 0.05
62 64 1.35 1.20 1.04 0.89 0.73 0.58 0.42 0.32 0.23 0.16 0.09
64 66 1.45 1.30 1.14 0.99 0.83 0.68 0.52 0.38 0.29 0.20 0.13
66 68 1.55 1.40 1.24 1.09 0.93 0.78 0.62 0.47 0.35 0.25 0.17
68 70 1.65 1.50 1.34 1.19 1.03 0.88 0.72 0.57 0.41 0.31 0.22
70 72 1.75 1.60 1.44 1.29 1.13 0.98 0.82 0.67 0.51 0.37 0.28
72 74 1.85 1.70 1.54 1.39 1.23 1.08 0.92 0.77 0.61 0.46 0.34
74 76 1.95 1.80 1.64 1.49 1.33 1.18 1.02 0.87 0.71 0.56 0.40
76 78 2.05 1.90 1.74 1.59 1.43 1.28 1.12 0.97 0.81 0.66 0.50
78 80 2.15 2.00 1.84 1.69 1.53 1.38 1.22 1.07 0.91 0.76 0.60
80 82 2.25 2.10 1.94 1.79 1.63 1.48 1.32 1.17 1.01 0.86 0.70
82 84 2.35 2.20 2.04 1.89 1.73 1.58 1.42 1.27 1.11 0.96 0.80
84 86 2.46 2.30 2.14 1.99 1.83 1.68 1.52 1.37 1.21 1.06 0.90
86 88 2.57 2.40 2.24 2.09 1.93 1.78 1.62 1.47 1.31 1.16 1.00
88 90 2.69 2.51 2.34 2.19 2.03 1.88 1.72 1.57 1.41 1.26 1.10
90 92 2.80 2.62 2.45 2.29 2.13 1.98 1.82 1.67 1.51 1.36 1.20
92 94 2.92 2.74 2.56 2.39 2.23 2.08 1.92 1.77 1.61 1.46 1.30
94 96 3.03 2.85 2.68 2.50 2.33 2.18 2.02 1.87 1.71 1.56 1.40
96 98 3.15 2.97 2.79 2.61 2.43 2.28 2.12 1.97 1.81 1.66 1.50
98 100 3.26 3.08 2.91 2.73 2.55 2.38 2.22 2.07 1.91 1.76 1.60

100 102 3.38 3.20 3.02 2.84 2.66 2.49 2.32 2.17 2.01 1.86 1.70
102 104 3.49 3.31 3.14 2.96 2.78 2.60 2.42 2.27 2.11 1.96 1.80
104 106 3.61 3.43 3.25 3.07 2.89 2.72 2.54 2.37 2.21 2.06 1.90
106 108 3.72 3.54 3.37 3.19 3.01 2.83 2.65 2.47 2.31 2.16 2.00
108 110 3.84 3.66 3.48 3.30 3.12 2.95 2.77 2.59 2.41 2.26 2.10
110 112 3.95 3.77 3.60 3.42 3.24 3.06 2.88 2.70 2.53 2.36 2.20
112 114 4.07 3.89 3.71 3.53 3.35 3.18 3.00 2.82 2.64 2.46 2.30
114 116 4.18 4.00 3.83 3.65 3.47 3.29 3.11 2.93 2.76 2.58 2.40
116 118 4.30 4.12 3.94 3.76 3.58 3.41 3.23 3.05 2.87 2.69 2.52
118 120 4.41 4.23 4.06 3.88 3.70 3.52 3.34 3.16 2.99 2.81 2.63
120 122 4.53 4.35 4.17 3.99 3.81 3.64 3.46 3.28 3.10 2.92 2.75
122 124 4.64 4.46 4.29 4.11 3.93 3.75 3.57 3.39 3.22 3.04 2.86
124 126 4.76 4.58 4.40 4.22 4.04 3.87 3.69 3.51 3.33 3.15 2.98
126 128 4.87 4.69 4.52 4.34 4.16 3.98 3.80 3.62 3.45 3.27 3.09
128 130 4.99 4.81 4.63 4.45 4.27 4.10 3.92 3.74 3.56 3.38 3.21

At Least But Less 
Than THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

Daily Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After April 1, 2024

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and over

At Least But Less 
Than THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

Daily Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After April 1, 2024

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

130 132 5.10 4.92 4.75 4.57 4.39 4.21 4.03 3.85 3.68 3.50 3.32
132 134 5.22 5.04 4.86 4.68 4.50 4.33 4.15 3.97 3.79 3.61 3.44
134 136 5.33 5.15 4.98 4.80 4.62 4.44 4.26 4.08 3.91 3.73 3.55
136 138 5.45 5.27 5.09 4.91 4.73 4.56 4.38 4.20 4.02 3.84 3.67
138 140 5.56 5.38 5.21 5.03 4.85 4.67 4.49 4.31 4.14 3.96 3.78
140 142 5.68 5.50 5.32 5.14 4.96 4.79 4.61 4.43 4.25 4.07 3.90
142 144 5.79 5.61 5.44 5.26 5.08 4.90 4.72 4.54 4.37 4.19 4.01
144 146 5.91 5.73 5.55 5.37 5.19 5.02 4.84 4.66 4.48 4.30 4.13
146 148 6.02 5.84 5.67 5.49 5.31 5.13 4.95 4.77 4.60 4.42 4.24
148 150 6.14 5.96 5.78 5.60 5.42 5.25 5.07 4.89 4.71 4.53 4.36
150 152 6.25 6.07 5.90 5.72 5.54 5.36 5.18 5.00 4.83 4.65 4.47
152 154 6.37 6.19 6.01 5.83 5.65 5.48 5.30 5.12 4.94 4.76 4.59
154 156 6.48 6.30 6.13 5.95 5.77 5.59 5.41 5.23 5.06 4.88 4.70
156 158 6.60 6.42 6.24 6.06 5.88 5.71 5.53 5.35 5.17 4.99 4.82
158 160 6.71 6.53 6.36 6.18 6.00 5.82 5.64 5.46 5.29 5.11 4.93
160 162 6.83 6.65 6.47 6.29 6.11 5.94 5.76 5.58 5.40 5.22 5.05
162 164 6.94 6.76 6.59 6.41 6.23 6.05 5.87 5.69 5.52 5.34 5.16
164 166 7.06 6.88 6.70 6.52 6.34 6.17 5.99 5.81 5.63 5.45 5.28
166 168 7.17 6.99 6.82 6.64 6.46 6.28 6.10 5.92 5.75 5.57 5.39
168 170 7.29 7.11 6.93 6.75 6.57 6.40 6.22 6.04 5.86 5.68 5.51
170 172 7.40 7.22 7.05 6.87 6.69 6.51 6.33 6.15 5.98 5.80 5.62
172 174 7.52 7.34 7.16 6.98 6.80 6.63 6.45 6.27 6.09 5.91 5.74
174 176 7.63 7.45 7.28 7.10 6.92 6.74 6.56 6.38 6.21 6.03 5.85
176 178 7.75 7.57 7.39 7.21 7.03 6.86 6.68 6.50 6.32 6.14 5.97
178 180 7.86 7.68 7.51 7.33 7.15 6.97 6.79 6.61 6.44 6.26 6.08
180 182 7.98 7.80 7.62 7.44 7.26 7.09 6.91 6.73 6.55 6.37 6.20
182 184 8.09 7.91 7.74 7.56 7.38 7.20 7.02 6.84 6.67 6.49 6.31
184 186 8.21 8.03 7.85 7.67 7.49 7.32 7.14 6.96 6.78 6.60 6.43
186 188 8.32 8.14 7.97 7.79 7.61 7.43 7.25 7.07 6.90 6.72 6.54
188 190 8.44 8.26 8.08 7.90 7.72 7.55 7.37 7.19 7.01 6.83 6.66
190 192 8.55 8.37 8.20 8.02 7.84 7.66 7.48 7.30 7.13 6.95 6.77
192 194 8.67 8.49 8.31 8.13 7.95 7.78 7.60 7.42 7.24 7.06 6.89
194 196 8.78 8.60 8.43 8.25 8.07 7.89 7.71 7.53 7.36 7.18 7.00
196 198 8.90 8.72 8.54 8.36 8.18 8.01 7.83 7.65 7.47 7.29 7.12
198 200 9.01 8.83 8.66 8.48 8.30 8.12 7.94 7.76 7.59 7.41 7.23
200 202 9.13 8.95 8.77 8.59 8.41 8.24 8.06 7.88 7.70 7.52 7.35
202 204 9.24 9.06 8.89 8.71 8.53 8.35 8.17 7.99 7.82 7.64 7.46
204 206 9.36 9.18 9.00 8.82 8.64 8.47 8.29 8.11 7.93 7.75 7.58
206 208 9.47 9.29 9.12 8.94 8.76 8.58 8.40 8.22 8.05 7.87 7.69
208 210 9.59 9.41 9.23 9.05 8.87 8.70 8.52 8.34 8.16 7.98 7.81
210 212 9.70 9.52 9.35 9.17 8.99 8.81 8.63 8.45 8.28 8.10 7.92
212 214 9.82 9.64 9.46 9.28 9.10 8.93 8.75 8.57 8.39 8.21 8.04
214 216 9.93 9.75 9.58 9.40 9.22 9.04 8.86 8.68 8.51 8.33 8.15
216 218 10.05 9.87 9.69 9.51 9.33 9.16 8.98 8.80 8.62 8.44 8.27
218 220 10.16 9.98 9.81 9.63 9.45 9.27 9.09 8.91 8.74 8.56 8.38

compute 5.75% of such excess and add to the last amount in the applicable column.
If wages are in excess of the maximum amount shown above,
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and over

$0 160 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
160 165 0.03 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
165 170 0.13 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
170 175 0.23 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
175 180 0.33 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
180 185 0.43 0.07 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
185 190 0.53 0.17 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
190 195 0.63 0.27 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
195 200 0.73 0.37 0.02 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
200 210 0.93 0.57 0.22 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
210 220 1.13 0.77 0.42 0.06 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
220 230 1.42 0.97 0.62 0.26 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
230 240 1.72 1.18 0.82 0.46 0.10 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
240 250 2.02 1.48 1.02 0.66 0.30 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
250 260 2.33 1.78 1.25 0.86 0.50 0.14 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
260 270 2.83 2.08 1.55 1.06 0.70 0.34 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
270 280 3.33 2.43 1.85 1.31 0.90 0.54 0.18 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
280 290 3.83 2.93 2.15 1.61 1.10 0.74 0.38 0.03 0.00 0.00 0.00
290 300 4.33 3.43 2.54 1.91 1.37 0.94 0.58 0.23 0.00 0.00 0.00
300 310 4.83 3.93 3.04 2.21 1.67 1.14 0.78 0.43 0.07 0.00 0.00
310 320 5.33 4.43 3.54 2.64 1.97 1.44 0.98 0.63 0.27 0.00 0.00
320 330 5.83 4.93 4.04 3.14 2.27 1.74 1.20 0.83 0.47 0.11 0.00
330 340 6.33 5.43 4.54 3.64 2.75 2.04 1.50 1.03 0.67 0.31 0.00
340 350 6.83 5.93 5.04 4.14 3.25 2.36 1.80 1.26 0.87 0.51 0.15
350 360 7.33 6.43 5.54 4.64 3.75 2.86 2.10 1.56 1.07 0.71 0.35
360 370 7.83 6.93 6.04 5.14 4.25 3.36 2.46 1.86 1.33 0.91 0.55
370 380 8.33 7.43 6.54 5.64 4.75 3.86 2.96 2.16 1.63 1.11 0.75
380 390 8.83 7.93 7.04 6.14 5.25 4.36 3.46 2.57 1.93 1.39 0.95
390 400 9.33 8.43 7.54 6.64 5.75 4.86 3.96 3.07 2.23 1.69 1.15
400 410 9.83 8.93 8.04 7.14 6.25 5.36 4.46 3.57 2.67 1.99 1.45
410 420 10.33 9.43 8.54 7.64 6.75 5.86 4.96 4.07 3.17 2.29 1.75
420 430 10.83 9.93 9.04 8.14 7.25 6.36 5.46 4.57 3.67 2.78 2.05
430 440 11.33 10.43 9.54 8.64 7.75 6.86 5.96 5.07 4.17 3.28 2.38
440 450 11.83 10.93 10.04 9.14 8.25 7.36 6.46 5.57 4.67 3.78 2.88
450 460 12.33 11.43 10.54 9.64 8.75 7.86 6.96 6.07 5.17 4.28 3.38
460 470 12.83 11.93 11.04 10.14 9.25 8.36 7.46 6.57 5.67 4.78 3.88
470 480 13.33 12.43 11.54 10.64 9.75 8.86 7.96 7.07 6.17 5.28 4.38
480 490 13.83 12.93 12.04 11.14 10.25 9.36 8.46 7.57 6.67 5.78 4.88
490 500 14.40 13.43 12.54 11.64 10.75 9.86 8.96 8.07 7.17 6.28 5.38
500 510 14.97 13.95 13.04 12.14 11.25 10.36 9.46 8.57 7.67 6.78 5.88
510 520 15.55 14.52 13.54 12.64 11.75 10.86 9.96 9.07 8.17 7.28 6.38
520 530 16.12 15.10 14.07 13.14 12.25 11.36 10.46 9.57 8.67 7.78 6.88
530 540 16.70 15.67 14.64 13.64 12.75 11.86 10.96 10.07 9.17 8.28 7.38
540 550 17.27 16.25 15.22 14.19 13.25 12.36 11.46 10.57 9.67 8.78 7.88
550 560 17.85 16.82 15.79 14.76 13.75 12.86 11.96 11.07 10.17 9.28 8.38
560 570 18.42 17.40 16.37 15.34 14.31 13.36 12.46 11.57 10.67 9.78 8.88
570 580 19.00 17.97 16.94 15.91 14.89 13.86 12.96 12.07 11.17 10.28 9.38
580 590 19.57 18.55 17.52 16.49 15.46 14.43 13.46 12.57 11.67 10.78 9.88
590 600 20.15 19.12 18.09 17.06 16.04 15.01 13.98 13.07 12.17 11.28 10.38
600 610 20.72 19.70 18.67 17.64 16.61 15.58 14.55 13.57 12.67 11.78 10.88
610 620 21.30 20.27 19.24 18.21 17.19 16.16 15.13 14.10 13.17 12.28 11.38
620 630 21.87 20.85 19.82 18.79 17.76 16.73 15.70 14.68 13.67 12.78 11.88
630 640 22.45 21.42 20.39 19.36 18.34 17.31 16.28 15.25 14.22 13.28 12.38

Weekly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After April 1, 2024

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least But Less 
Than THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and over

Weekly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After April 1, 2024

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least But Less 
Than THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

640 650 23.02 22.00 20.97 19.94 18.91 17.88 16.85 15.83 14.80 13.78 12.88
650 660 23.60 22.57 21.54 20.51 19.49 18.46 17.43 16.40 15.37 14.34 13.38
660 670 24.17 23.15 22.12 21.09 20.06 19.03 18.00 16.98 15.95 14.92 13.89
670 680 24.75 23.72 22.69 21.66 20.64 19.61 18.58 17.55 16.52 15.49 14.47
680 690 25.32 24.30 23.27 22.24 21.21 20.18 19.15 18.13 17.10 16.07 15.04
690 700 25.90 24.87 23.84 22.81 21.79 20.76 19.73 18.70 17.67 16.64 15.62
700 710 26.47 25.45 24.42 23.39 22.36 21.33 20.30 19.28 18.25 17.22 16.19
710 720 27.05 26.02 24.99 23.96 22.94 21.91 20.88 19.85 18.82 17.79 16.77
720 730 27.62 26.60 25.57 24.54 23.51 22.48 21.45 20.43 19.40 18.37 17.34
730 740 28.20 27.17 26.14 25.11 24.09 23.06 22.03 21.00 19.97 18.94 17.92
740 750 28.77 27.75 26.72 25.69 24.66 23.63 22.60 21.58 20.55 19.52 18.49
750 760 29.35 28.32 27.29 26.26 25.24 24.21 23.18 22.15 21.12 20.09 19.07
760 770 29.92 28.90 27.87 26.84 25.81 24.78 23.75 22.73 21.70 20.67 19.64
770 780 30.50 29.47 28.44 27.41 26.39 25.36 24.33 23.30 22.27 21.24 20.22
780 790 31.07 30.05 29.02 27.99 26.96 25.93 24.90 23.88 22.85 21.82 20.79
790 800 31.65 30.62 29.59 28.56 27.54 26.51 25.48 24.45 23.42 22.39 21.37
800 810 32.22 31.20 30.17 29.14 28.11 27.08 26.05 25.03 24.00 22.97 21.94
810 820 32.80 31.77 30.74 29.71 28.69 27.66 26.63 25.60 24.57 23.54 22.52
820 830 33.37 32.35 31.32 30.29 29.26 28.23 27.20 26.18 25.15 24.12 23.09
830 840 33.95 32.92 31.89 30.86 29.84 28.81 27.78 26.75 25.72 24.69 23.67
840 850 34.52 33.50 32.47 31.44 30.41 29.38 28.35 27.33 26.30 25.27 24.24
850 860 35.10 34.07 33.04 32.01 30.99 29.96 28.93 27.90 26.87 25.84 24.82
860 870 35.67 34.65 33.62 32.59 31.56 30.53 29.50 28.48 27.45 26.42 25.39
870 880 36.25 35.22 34.19 33.16 32.14 31.11 30.08 29.05 28.02 26.99 25.97
880 890 36.82 35.80 34.77 33.74 32.71 31.68 30.65 29.63 28.60 27.57 26.54
890 900 37.40 36.37 35.34 34.31 33.29 32.26 31.23 30.20 29.17 28.14 27.12
900 910 37.97 36.95 35.92 34.89 33.86 32.83 31.80 30.78 29.75 28.72 27.69
910 920 38.55 37.52 36.49 35.46 34.44 33.41 32.38 31.35 30.32 29.29 28.27
920 930 39.12 38.10 37.07 36.04 35.01 33.98 32.95 31.93 30.90 29.87 28.84
930 940 39.70 38.67 37.64 36.61 35.59 34.56 33.53 32.50 31.47 30.44 29.42
940 950 40.27 39.25 38.22 37.19 36.16 35.13 34.10 33.08 32.05 31.02 29.99
950 960 40.85 39.82 38.79 37.76 36.74 35.71 34.68 33.65 32.62 31.59 30.57
960 970 41.42 40.40 39.37 38.34 37.31 36.28 35.25 34.23 33.20 32.17 31.14
970 980 42.00 40.97 39.94 38.91 37.89 36.86 35.83 34.80 33.77 32.74 31.72
980 990 42.57 41.55 40.52 39.49 38.46 37.43 36.40 35.38 34.35 33.32 32.29
990 1000 43.15 42.12 41.09 40.06 39.04 38.01 36.98 35.95 34.92 33.89 32.87
1000 1010 43.72 42.70 41.67 40.64 39.61 38.58 37.55 36.53 35.50 34.47 33.44
1010 1020 44.30 43.27 42.24 41.21 40.19 39.16 38.13 37.10 36.07 35.04 34.02
1020 1030 44.87 43.85 42.82 41.79 40.76 39.73 38.70 37.68 36.65 35.62 34.59
1030 1040 45.45 44.42 43.39 42.36 41.34 40.31 39.28 38.25 37.22 36.19 35.17
1040 1050 46.02 45.00 43.97 42.94 41.91 40.88 39.85 38.83 37.80 36.77 35.74
1050 1060 46.60 45.57 44.54 43.51 42.49 41.46 40.43 39.40 38.37 37.34 36.32
1060 1070 47.17 46.15 45.12 44.09 43.06 42.03 41.00 39.98 38.95 37.92 36.89
1070 1080 47.75 46.72 45.69 44.66 43.64 42.61 41.58 40.55 39.52 38.49 37.47
1080 1090 48.32 47.30 46.27 45.24 44.21 43.18 42.15 41.13 40.10 39.07 38.04
1090 1100 48.90 47.87 46.84 45.81 44.79 43.76 42.73 41.70 40.67 39.64 38.62
1100 1110 49.47 48.45 47.42 46.39 45.36 44.33 43.30 42.28 41.25 40.22 39.19
1110 1120 50.05 49.02 47.99 46.96 45.94 44.91 43.88 42.85 41.82 40.79 39.77
1120 1130 50.62 49.60 48.57 47.54 46.51 45.48 44.45 43.43 42.40 41.37 40.34

compute 5.75% of such excess and add to the last amount in the applicable column.
If wages are in excess of the maximum amount shown above,
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and over

$0 370 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
370 380 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
380 390 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
390 400 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
400 410 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
410 420 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
420 430 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
430 440 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
440 450 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
450 460 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
460 470 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
470 480 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
480 490 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
490 500 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
500 510 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
510 520 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
520 530 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
530 540 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
540 550 5 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
550 560 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
560 570 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
570 580 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
580 590 6 5 4 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
590 600 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
600 615 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0
615 630 8 6 5 4 2 2 1 0 0 0 0
630 645 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0
645 660 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0
660 675 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0
675 690 11 9 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
690 705 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 2 1 0 0
705 720 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0
720 735 14 12 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0
735 750 14 12 11 9 7 5 4 2 2 1 0
750 765 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0
765 780 16 14 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 2 1
780 795 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1
795 810 17 15 14 12 10 8 6 4 3 2 1
810 825 18 16 14 12 10 8 7 5 4 2 2
825 840 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2
840 855 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 4 3 2
855 870 20 18 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 3
870 885 21 19 17 15 13 11 10 8 6 4 3
885 900 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 5 4
900 915 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 4
915 930 23 21 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 4
930 945 24 22 20 18 16 14 13 11 9 7 5
945 960 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 6
960 975 26 24 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 6
975 990 26 24 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 7
990 1005 27 25 23 21 19 17 16 14 12 10 8

1005 1020 28 26 24 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 9
1020 1035 29 27 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 9

At Least But Less 
Than THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

Semi-Monthly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After April 1, 2024

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and over

At Least But Less 
Than THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

Semi-Monthly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After April 1, 2024

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

1035 1050 29 27 26 24 22 20 18 16 14 12 10
1050 1065 30 28 26 24 22 20 19 17 15 13 11
1065 1080 31 29 27 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 12
1080 1095 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 18 16 14 12
1095 1110 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 19 17 15 13
1110 1125 34 31 29 27 25 23 22 20 18 16 14
1125 1140 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 18 16 15
1140 1155 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 19 17 15
1155 1170 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 18 16
1170 1185 37 35 33 30 28 26 25 23 21 19 17
1185 1200 38 36 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 19 18
1200 1215 39 37 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 18
1215 1230 40 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 19
1230 1245 40 38 36 34 32 29 28 26 24 22 20
1245 1260 41 39 37 35 32 30 28 26 24 22 21
1260 1275 42 40 38 36 33 31 29 27 25 23 21
1275 1290 43 41 39 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22
1290 1305 44 42 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23
1305 1320 45 43 40 38 36 34 31 29 27 25 24
1320 1335 46 43 41 39 37 35 32 30 28 26 24
1335 1350 47 44 42 40 38 35 33 31 29 27 25
1350 1365 47 45 43 41 38 36 34 32 30 28 26
1365 1380 48 46 44 42 39 37 35 33 30 28 27
1380 1395 49 47 45 42 40 38 36 34 31 29 27
1395 1410 50 48 46 43 41 39 37 34 32 30 28
1410 1425 51 49 46 44 42 40 37 35 33 31 29
1425 1440 52 49 47 45 43 41 38 36 34 32 30
1440 1455 53 50 48 46 44 41 39 37 35 33 30
1455 1470 53 51 49 47 45 42 40 38 36 33 31
1470 1485 54 52 50 48 45 43 41 39 36 34 32
1485 1500 55 53 51 48 46 44 42 40 37 35 33
1500 1515 56 54 52 49 47 45 43 40 38 36 34
1515 1530 57 55 52 50 48 46 44 41 39 37 35
1530 1545 58 56 53 51 49 47 44 42 40 38 35
1545 1560 59 56 54 52 50 47 45 43 41 39 36
1560 1575 59 57 55 53 51 48 46 44 42 39 37
1575 1590 60 58 56 54 51 49 47 45 43 40 38
1590 1605 61 59 57 55 52 50 48 46 43 41 39
1605 1620 62 60 58 55 53 51 49 46 44 42 40
1620 1635 63 61 58 56 54 52 50 47 45 43 41
1635 1650 64 62 59 57 55 53 50 48 46 44 42
1650 1665 65 62 60 58 56 54 51 49 47 45 42
1665 1680 66 63 61 59 57 54 52 50 48 45 43
1680 1695 66 64 62 60 57 55 53 51 49 46 44
1695 1710 67 65 63 61 58 56 54 52 49 47 45
1710 1725 68 66 64 61 59 57 55 52 50 48 46
1725 1740 69 67 65 62 60 58 56 53 51 49 47
1740 1755 70 68 65 63 61 59 56 54 52 50 48
1755 1770 71 68 66 64 62 60 57 55 53 51 48

compute 5.75% of such excess and add to the last amount in the applicable column.
If wages are in excess of the maximum amount shown above,
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and over

$0 350 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
350 360 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
360 370 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
370 380 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
380 390 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
390 400 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
400 410 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
410 420 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
420 430 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
430 440 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
440 450 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
450 460 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
460 470 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
470 480 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
480 490 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
490 500 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
500 510 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
510 520 5 4 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
520 530 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
530 540 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
540 550 6 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
550 560 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
560 570 7 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0
570 580 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0
580 590 8 6 5 4 2 2 1 0 0 0 0
590 600 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0
600 610 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0
610 620 10 8 6 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0
620 630 10 8 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0
630 640 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
640 650 11 9 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
650 660 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 2 1 0 0
660 670 12 10 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0
670 680 13 11 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 1 0
680 690 13 11 10 8 6 4 3 2 2 1 0
690 700 14 12 10 8 7 5 4 3 2 1 0
700 710 14 12 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 1
710 720 15 13 11 9 8 6 4 3 2 1 1
720 730 15 13 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 2 1
730 740 16 14 12 10 9 7 5 4 3 2 1
740 750 16 14 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1
750 760 17 15 13 11 10 8 6 4 3 2 2
760 770 17 15 14 12 10 8 6 5 4 2 2
770 780 18 16 14 12 11 9 7 5 4 3 2
780 790 18 16 15 13 11 9 7 6 4 3 2
790 800 19 17 15 13 12 10 8 6 4 3 2
800 810 19 17 16 14 12 10 8 7 5 4 3
810 820 20 18 16 14 13 11 9 7 5 4 3
820 830 20 18 17 15 13 11 9 8 6 4 3
830 840 21 19 17 15 14 12 10 8 6 5 4
840 850 21 19 18 16 14 12 10 9 7 5 4
850 860 22 20 18 16 15 13 11 9 7 6 4
860 870 22 20 19 17 15 13 11 10 8 6 4
870 880 23 21 19 17 16 14 12 10 8 7 5
880 890 23 21 20 18 16 14 12 11 9 7 5
890 900 24 22 20 18 17 15 13 11 9 8 6
900 910 24 22 21 19 17 15 13 12 10 8 6
910 920 25 23 21 19 18 16 14 12 10 9 7
920 930 25 23 22 20 18 16 14 13 11 9 7
930 940 26 24 22 20 19 17 15 13 11 10 8
940 950 26 24 23 21 19 17 15 14 12 10 8

At Least But Less 
Than THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

Biweekly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After April 1, 2024
IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and over

At Least But Less 
Than THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

Biweekly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After April 1, 2024
IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

950 960 27 25 23 21 20 18 16 14 12 11 9
960 970 27 25 24 22 20 18 16 15 13 11 9
970 980 28 26 24 22 21 19 17 15 13 12 10
980 990 28 26 25 23 21 19 17 16 14 12 10
990 1000 29 27 25 23 22 20 18 16 14 13 11
1000 1010 29 27 26 24 22 20 18 17 15 13 11
1010 1020 30 28 26 24 23 21 19 17 15 14 12
1020 1030 31 28 27 25 23 21 19 18 16 14 12
1030 1040 31 29 27 25 24 22 20 18 16 15 13
1040 1050 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 19 17 15 13
1050 1060 32 30 28 26 25 23 21 19 17 16 14
1060 1070 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 20 18 16 14
1070 1080 33 31 29 27 26 24 22 20 18 17 15
1080 1090 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 21 19 17 15
1090 1100 35 32 30 28 27 25 23 21 19 18 16
1100 1110 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 22 20 18 16
1110 1120 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 19 17
1120 1130 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 23 21 19 17
1130 1140 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 20 18
1140 1150 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 24 22 20 18
1150 1160 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 21 19
1160 1170 39 37 34 32 30 28 26 25 23 21 19
1170 1180 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 22 20
1180 1190 40 38 36 34 31 29 27 26 24 22 20
1190 1200 40 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 23 21
1200 1210 41 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 21
1210 1220 41 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 24 22
1220 1230 42 40 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22
1230 1240 43 41 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 25 23
1240 1250 43 41 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23
1250 1260 44 42 40 38 36 33 31 29 27 26 24
1260 1270 44 42 40 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 24
1270 1280 45 43 41 39 37 35 33 31 28 27 25
1280 1290 45 43 41 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25
1290 1300 46 44 42 40 38 36 34 32 30 28 26
1300 1310 47 45 43 40 38 36 34 32 30 28 26
1310 1320 47 45 43 41 39 37 35 33 31 29 27
1320 1330 48 46 44 42 40 37 35 33 31 29 27
1330 1340 48 46 44 42 40 38 36 34 32 30 28
1340 1350 49 47 45 43 41 39 37 35 32 30 28
1350 1360 49 47 45 43 41 39 37 35 33 31 29
1360 1370 50 48 46 44 42 40 38 36 34 32 30
1370 1380 51 49 47 44 42 40 38 36 34 32 30
1380 1390 51 49 47 45 43 41 39 37 35 33 31
1390 1400 52 50 48 46 44 42 39 37 35 33 31
1400 1410 52 50 48 46 44 42 40 38 36 34 32
1410 1420 53 51 49 47 45 43 41 39 36 34 32
1420 1430 54 51 49 47 45 43 41 39 37 35 33
1430 1440 54 52 50 48 46 44 42 40 38 36 34
1440 1450 55 53 51 49 46 44 42 40 38 36 34
1450 1460 55 53 51 49 47 45 43 41 39 37 35
1460 1470 56 54 52 50 48 46 43 41 39 37 35
1470 1480 56 54 52 50 48 46 44 42 40 38 36
1480 1490 57 55 53 51 49 47 45 43 41 38 36
1490 1500 58 55 53 51 49 47 45 43 41 39 37
1500 1510 58 56 54 52 50 48 46 44 42 40 38
1510 1520 59 57 55 53 50 48 46 44 42 40 38

compute 5.75% of such excess and add to the last amount in the applicable column.
If wages are in excess of the maximum amount shown above,
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and over

$0 725 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
725 750 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
750 775 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
775 800 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
800 825 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
825 850 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
850 875 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
875 900 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
900 925 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
925 950 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
950 975 6 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
975 1000 6 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1000 1025 7 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1025 1050 8 5 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
1050 1075 9 6 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
1075 1100 9 7 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0
1100 1125 10 8 5 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
1125 1150 11 8 6 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0
1150 1175 13 9 7 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0
1175 1200 14 10 8 5 4 2 1 0 0 0 0
1200 1225 15 11 8 6 4 3 1 0 0 0 0
1225 1250 16 12 9 7 5 3 2 0 0 0 0
1250 1275 18 14 10 8 5 4 2 0 0 0 0
1275 1300 19 15 11 8 6 4 3 1 0 0 0
1300 1325 20 16 12 9 7 5 3 1 0 0 0
1325 1350 21 17 14 10 7 5 4 2 0 0 0
1350 1375 23 19 15 11 8 6 4 2 1 0 0
1375 1400 24 20 16 12 9 7 5 3 1 0 0
1400 1425 25 21 17 13 10 7 5 3 2 0 0
1425 1450 26 22 19 15 11 8 6 4 2 1 0
1450 1475 28 24 20 16 12 9 7 4 3 1 0
1475 1500 29 25 21 17 13 10 7 5 3 2 0
1500 1525 30 26 22 18 15 11 8 6 4 2 1
1525 1550 31 27 24 20 16 12 9 6 4 3 1
1550 1575 33 29 25 21 17 13 10 7 5 3 2
1575 1600 34 30 26 22 18 14 11 8 6 4 2
1600 1625 35 31 27 23 20 16 12 9 6 4 3
1625 1650 36 32 29 25 21 17 13 9 7 5 3
1650 1675 38 34 30 26 22 18 14 10 8 6 4
1675 1700 39 35 31 27 23 19 16 12 9 6 4
1700 1725 40 36 32 28 25 21 17 13 9 7 5
1725 1750 41 37 34 30 26 22 18 14 10 8 6
1750 1775 43 39 35 31 27 23 19 15 12 9 6
1775 1800 44 40 36 32 28 24 21 17 13 9 7
1800 1825 45 41 37 33 30 26 22 18 14 10 8
1825 1850 46 42 39 35 31 27 23 19 15 11 9
1850 1875 48 44 40 36 32 28 24 20 17 13 9
1875 1900 49 45 41 37 33 29 26 22 18 14 10
1900 1925 50 46 42 38 35 31 27 23 19 15 11
1925 1950 51 47 44 40 36 32 28 24 20 16 13
1950 1975 53 49 45 41 37 33 29 25 22 18 14
1975 2000 54 50 46 42 38 34 31 27 23 19 15
2000 2025 55 51 47 43 40 36 32 28 24 20 16

Monthly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After April 1, 2024

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least But Less 
Than THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and over

Monthly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After April 1, 2024

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least But Less 
Than THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

2025 2075 58 54 50 46 42 38 34 30 27 23 19
2075 2100 59 55 51 47 43 39 36 32 28 24 20
2100 2125 60 56 52 48 45 41 37 33 29 25 21
2125 2150 61 57 54 50 46 42 38 34 30 26 23
2150 2175 63 59 55 51 47 43 39 35 32 28 24
2175 2200 64 60 56 52 48 44 41 37 33 29 25
2200 2225 66 61 57 53 50 46 42 38 34 30 26
2225 2250 67 63 59 55 51 47 43 39 35 31 28
2250 2275 69 64 60 56 52 48 44 40 37 33 29
2275 2300 70 66 61 57 53 49 46 42 38 34 30
2300 2325 72 67 63 58 55 51 47 43 39 35 31
2325 2350 73 68 64 60 56 52 48 44 40 36 33
2350 2375 74 70 65 61 57 53 49 45 42 38 34
2375 2400 76 71 67 62 58 54 51 47 43 39 35
2400 2425 77 73 68 64 60 56 52 48 44 40 36
2425 2450 79 74 70 65 61 57 53 49 45 41 38
2450 2475 80 76 71 67 62 58 54 50 47 43 39
2475 2500 82 77 73 68 64 59 56 52 48 44 40
2500 2525 83 79 74 70 65 61 57 53 49 45 41
2525 2550 84 80 76 71 67 62 58 54 50 46 43
2550 2575 86 81 77 73 68 64 59 55 52 48 44
2575 2600 87 83 78 74 69 65 61 57 53 49 45
2600 2625 89 84 80 75 71 66 62 58 54 50 46
2625 2650 90 86 81 77 72 68 63 59 55 51 48
2650 2675 92 87 83 78 74 69 65 60 57 53 49
2675 2700 93 89 84 80 75 71 66 62 58 54 50
2700 2725 95 90 86 81 77 72 68 63 59 55 51
2725 2750 96 91 87 83 78 74 69 65 60 56 53
2750 2775 97 93 88 84 80 75 71 66 62 58 54
2775 2800 99 94 90 85 81 77 72 68 63 59 55
2800 2825 100 96 91 87 82 78 74 69 65 60 56
2825 2850 102 97 93 88 84 79 75 70 66 62 58
2850 2875 103 99 94 90 85 81 76 72 67 63 59
2875 2900 105 100 96 91 87 82 78 73 69 64 60
2900 2925 106 102 97 93 88 84 79 75 70 66 61
2925 2950 107 103 99 94 90 85 81 76 72 67 63
2950 2975 109 104 100 96 91 87 82 78 73 69 64
2975 3000 110 106 101 97 92 88 84 79 75 70 66
3000 3025 112 107 103 98 94 89 85 81 76 72 67
3025 3050 113 109 104 100 95 91 86 82 78 73 69
3050 3075 115 110 106 101 97 92 88 83 79 75 70
3075 3100 116 112 107 103 98 94 89 85 80 76 72
3100 3125 118 113 109 104 100 95 91 86 82 77 73
3125 3150 119 114 110 106 101 97 92 88 83 79 74
3150 3175 120 116 111 107 103 98 94 89 85 80 76
3175 3200 122 117 113 108 104 100 95 91 86 82 77
3200 3225 123 119 114 110 105 101 97 92 88 83 79
3225 3250 125 120 116 111 107 102 98 93 89 85 80
3250 3275 126 122 117 113 108 104 99 95 90 86 82
3275 3300 128 123 119 114 110 105 101 96 92 87 83

compute 5.75% of such excess and add to the last amount in the applicable column.
If wages are in excess of the maximum amount shown above,
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