
	 	        commonwealth of virginia 
	 	        department of taxation
	 	        soft drink excise tax return

for the calendar yeaR _________ OR fiscal taxable year beginning ____________ and ending ____________

mail to
dept. of taxation
p.o. box 2185
richmond, va 23218-2185

name

trading as

address

		  (city or town)		             			   (state)         			   (zip code)	               

(number and street or rural route)

(location of principal office in virginia)

(name as shown on state income tax return)

tax rate schedule 	
(Rates based on amount on line 4 above)

declaration of taxpayer
I declare under penalties provided by law that this return has been examined by me and is, to the best of my knowledge and 
belief, a true, correct, and complete return, made in good faith pursuant to the provisions of the Code of Virginia.

      Date		       		         signature of taxpayer					              title        

form 404

EFFECTIVE 7/1/02

  Contact Person									             Daytime Telephone Number
											               (          )



(Trade name if Different Than Above)

Virginia Account Number

Total gross receipts per firm Amount of Tax

$ 100,000 or less . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 50.00
100,001 — 250,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 100.00
250,001 — 500,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 250.00
500,001 — 1,000,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 750.00

1,000,001 — 3,000,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1,500.00
3,000,001 — 5,000,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3,000.00
5,000,001 — 10,000,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4,500.00

10,000,001 — 25,000,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7,200.00
25,000,001 — 50,000,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18,000.00
50,000,001 — and above . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33,000.00

	

1. Gross receipts from sales (total sales for entire business)..................................................................

2. Gross receipts not subject to tax (see instructions)

(a) Gross receipts from sales other than carbonated soft drinks.......................

(b) Soft drink receipts not subject to tax............................................................

3. Total (sum of line 2(a) and (b))............................................................................................................

4. Soft drink receipts subject to tax (subtract line 3 from line 1)..............................................................

5. Tax due (see schedule of tax rates below)..........................................................................................

6. Penalty (see instructions)....................................................................................................................

7. Interest (see instructions)....................................................................................................................

8. Total due (sum of lines 5, 6 and 7). This amount must be paid with return.........................................



instructions

a. who must file form 404
Every wholesaler or distributor of carbonated soft drinks 
must file this return. “Wholesaler or distributor” means 
any person, firm or corporation who:

1.	manufactures or sells carbonated soft drinks to  
retailers for resale, or

2.	sells carbonated soft drinks at wholesale to 
institutional, commercial or industrial users, or

3.	distributes carbonated soft drinks to chain stores.

b. soft drink receipts subject to tax
The amount of soft drink receipts subject to tax is the 
total gross receipts of the business, less the following 
amounts:

A)	Gross receipts not attributable to the sale of 
carbonated soft drinks;

B)	Gross receipts attributable to sales of carbonated 
soft drinks to customers outside of Virginia;

C)	Gross receipts attributable to sales of carbonated 
soft drinks to other wholesalers for purposes of 
resale to retail dealers.

c. period to be covered by return
The taxable year for this return shall be the same as 
the taxpayer’s taxable year for income tax purposes.

d. accounting methods
All taxable gross receipts from sales of carbonated soft 
drinks during the taxable year must be included on this 
return, regardless of the method of accounting used 
for books, financial statements or income tax returns.

e. where and when to file and pay
Returns and payments must be filed with the Virginia 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 2185, Richmond, 
Virginia 23218-2185. For corporations and any other 
taxpayers filing on a fiscal year basis, Form 404 must 

be filed on or before the 15th day of the fourth month 
following the close of the taxable year. For calendar 
year taxpayers other than corporations, the due date is 
May 1. Checks should be made payable to the Virginia 
Department of Taxation.

f. extension of time for filing
An automatic six-month extension of time to file the Soft 
Drink return is granted to the date six months after such 
due date or 30 days after the extended date for filing the 
federal income tax return, whichever is later, provided 
the full amount estimated as the tax due has been paid 
on or before the original due date.   Interest will accrue 
on the tax due with any return filed under extension (see 
PENALTIES AND INTEREST).

g. penalties and interest
Penalties for late filing of Form 404 and/or late payment 
of the tax are computed in the same manner as late 
filing and late payment penalties for income tax returns.

Any corporation which fails to file a return and/or pay the 
full amount of tax by the required due date is subject to
a penalty of 6% of the amount of unpaid tax for each 
month or fraction thereof that the tax remains unpaid, 
not to exceed 30%. The minimum penalty for late filing is 
$100, regardless of whether there is any tax due for the 
delinquent period. Any taxpayer other than a corporation 
who fails to file a return and/or pay the full amount of 
tax due by the required due date is subject to the same 
penalty noted above, except that the $100 minimum 
penalty provision does not apply.

Interest is accrued on the tax owed, from the due date 
through the date the tax is paid. In accordance with 
§58.1‑15 of the Code of Virginia, interest is assessed 
at the underpayment rate established by Section 6621 
of the Internal Revenue Code, plus 2%.

h. where to get help
If you need assistance in completing Form 404, you may 
call (804) 786-2450; write the Taxpayer Assistance 
Section, Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 
715, Richmond, Virginia 23218-0715; or visit our web 
site at www.tax.virginia.gov.

This form reflects new rates effective 7/1/02.

6201130
Rev 9/05 404 W
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