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Form 200 - Virginia Litter Tax Return and Instructions 
For Returns Filed on and after May 1, 2021

Who is Liable For the Virginia Litter Tax: The Virginia Litter Tax does 
not apply to individual consumers. The Litter Tax is imposed on every 
“person” in the state who, on January 1 of the taxable year, was engaged 
in business as a manufacturer, wholesaler, distributor, or retailer of 
certain enumerated products. The tax is imposed on:

•	 An individual as a sole proprietor
•	 Partnerships, but not partners
•	 Limited liability companies, but not members
•	 S Corporations, but not shareholders
•	 Corporations, but not shareholders
•	 Associations, but not members
•	 Trusts or estates operating such businesses

Any person who manufactures, wholesales, distributes, or retails any 
of the following products is subject to the tax:

•	 Food for human or pet consumption
•	 Groceries
•	 Cigarettes and tobacco products
•	 Soft drinks and carbonated waters
•	 Motor vehicle parts
•	 Distilled spirits, wine, beer and other malt beverages
•	 Newspapers and magazines
•	 Paper products and household paper
•	 Metal and glass containers
•	 Plastic or fiber containers made of synthetic material
•	 Cleaning agents and toiletries
•	 Non-drug drugstore sundry products

eForms: File and pay your Litter Tax online using the Department’s 
eForm. Simply complete the online version of the paper Litter Tax 
Return by entering the tax information as you would if you were 
completing a paper form. Payments are made electronically and you 
may schedule payments to be made on a future date.
Filing Procedure: If you are not in business on January 1, you are 
not liable for Virginia Litter Tax until the next succeeding calendar 
year. For example, if you open your business on February 1, 2019, 
and are subject to the Litter Tax, you are not liable for Litter Tax until 
May 1, 2021 for the year 2020.

The Litter Tax Return, Form 200, must be filed with the Virginia 
Department of Taxation and the tax paid on or before May 1, regardless 
of whether you operate on a calendar or fiscal year basis for tax 
purposes. When the return is filed, the full amount of the tax as shown 
on the face of the return should be paid. The Code of Virginia does not 
provide for an extension of time to file Form 200 and pay the Litter Tax.
Tax Rates: An annual $20 Litter Tax is imposed on each Virginia 
business establishment from which such a business is conducted on 
January 1 of the taxable year. 
In addition to the $20 Litter Tax, each business operating as a 
manufacturer, wholesaler, distributor or retailer of groceries, soft 
drinks, carbonated waters, or beer or other malt beverages shall 
pay an additional annual Litter Tax of $30, for each Virginia business 
establishment from which such business is conducted.
Penalty and Interest: If your Litter Tax Return is not filed and full 
payment is not made by the due date, a penalty of 100% of the Litter 
Tax plus $100 will apply. Interest will accrue at the underpayment rate 
established under Code of Virginia Section 58. 1-15 on the unpaid 
amount of tax and penalty from the due date of the return until the time 
of payment.
When and Where To Pay: Pay the balance due as shown on this return 
by midnight, May 1 regardless of whether you operate on a calendar or 
fiscal year basis. No extension of time to file or pay is provided by law 
and no such extension will be granted even if an extension has been 
granted to file an income tax return. 
If May 1 falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday you must file your 
return by midnight of the next succeeding day that is not a Saturday, 
Sunday or legal holiday.
Mail Form 200 with your payment to:
	 Virginia Department of Taxation 
	 Litter Tax 
	 P.O. Box 2185 
	 Richmond, Virginia 23218-2185
Please enter your account number on the check or money order and 
make a notation that the check is for Litter Tax. Payments returned by 
the bank will be subject to a returned payment fee in addition to any 
other penalties that may be incurred.
Where To Get Help: For assistance call 804.367.8037 or write to the 
Department of Taxation; ATTN: Customer Services; P.O. Box 1115; 
Richmond, VA  23218-1115.

Form 200	 Virginia Litter Tax Return - For Calendar Year 
(Doc ID 200)
For assistance, call (804)367-8037.
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I declare that this return (including accompanying schedules and statements) has been examined 
by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief is true, correct and complete.

Signature	 Date	 Phone Number

Due Date

Account Number FEIN

Name

Address

City State ZIP

1. Annual $20.00 Tax
No. of Virginia Business Establishments

X $20 =

2. Annual $30.00 Tax
No. of Virginia Business Establishments

X $30 =

3. Total (Add Lines 1 and 2). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             

4. Penalty (See instructions). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

5. Interest (See instructions). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

6. Total Amount Due 
(Add Lines 3-5)
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