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What’s New

Advancement of Virginia’s Fixed Date Conformity with the Internal Revenue Code

Virginia's date of conformity with the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) was advanced from December 31, 2019, to December 31,
2020, subject to certain exceptions. This legislation also generally conformed Virginia to the provisions of the federal
Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (‘CARES”) Act and the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021. However,
Virginia specifically deconforms from certain provisions of this federal legislation. This includes, but is not limited to, provisions
that temporarily change limitations applicable to the net operating loss deduction, excess business losses, and the business
interest deduction. See Tax Bulletin 21-4, posted on the Department’s website at www.tax.virginia.gov, for additional
information regarding Virginia’s conformity with the IRC and adjustments that may be required as a result of this legislation.

Virginia will continue to deconform from the following: bonus depreciation allowed for certain assets under federal law; the
five-year carryback of certain federal net operating loss (NOL) deductions generated in the 2008 or 2009 taxable years; the
federal income treatment of applicable high yield discount obligations; and the federal income tax treatment of cancellation
of debt income realized in connection with certain business debts.

If legislation is enacted that results in changes to the IRC for the 2021 taxable year, taxpayers may need to make adjustments
to their Virginia returns that are not described in these instructions. Information about any such adjustments will be posted
on the Department’s website at www.tax.virginia.gov.

Increased Annual Credit Caps for Research and Development Tax Credits

For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2021, the annual caps for the Research and Development and Major
Research and Development Tax Credits have increased. The Research and Development Tax Credit limit increased from
$7 million to $7.7 million per fiscal year. The Major Research and Development Tax Credit limit increased from $20 million
to $24 million per fiscal year. If the total amount of approved credits exceeds the credit cap amount, the Department will
allocate credits on a pro rata basis. See Forms RDC and MRD for additional information.

Port of Virginia Tax Credits Sunset Date

The sunset date for three Port of Virginia Tax Credits has been extended to tax years beginning before January 1, 2025.
These credits include Barge and Rail Usage Tax Credit, International Trade Facility Tax Credit, and Port Volume Increase
Tax Credit. See Schedule 500CR Instructions for additional information.

Virginia Housing Opportunity Tax Credit

For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2021, but before January 1, 2026, taxpayers may claim a Virginia tax
credit in an amount substantially similar to the amount of federal low-income housing tax credit allocated or allowed by the
Virginia Housing Development Authority to such projects. Taxpayers may claim this credit against the individual income
tax, estate and trust income tax, corporate income tax, bank franchise tax, insurance premiums license tax, and license
tax telegraph, telephone, water, heat, light, power, and pipeline companies. See Schedule 500CR Instructions for more
information.

Changes to Agricultural Best Management Practices Tax Credit

For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2021, but before January 1, 2025, the Agricultural Best Management
Practices Tax Credit amount has increased to 25% of the first $100,000 expended for agricultural best management practices
by the taxpayer. Additionally, an expanded credit is available to taxpayers that are engaged in agricultural production for
market, or that have equines that create needs for agricultural best management practices to reduce nonpoint source
pollutants, and have in place a resource management plan approved by the local Soil and Water Conservation District. The
expanded credit is equal to 50% of the first $100,000 expended for agricultural best management practices implemented
by the taxpayer on the acreage included in the resource management plan. The aggregate amount of both portions of the
credit is limited to $75,000 per taxpayer per taxable year. The annual cap is $2 million per fiscal year. Taxpayers must apply
for their share of the credit using Form ABM. See Form ABM and Schedule 500CR Instructions for more information.
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What’s New (Continued)

Tax Credit for Purchase of Conservation Tillage and Precision Agricultural Equipment

Effective January 1, 2021, the nonrefundable Conservation Tillage Equipment and Pesticide and Fertilizer Application
Equipment Tax Credits have expired. These credits have been replaced with one, new refundable credit for individuals and
corporations effective for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2021, but before January 1, 2026. The credit
is equal to 25% of all expenditures made for the purchase of equipment that reduces soil compaction such as a "no-till"
planter, drill, or other equipment, or equipment that provides more precise pesticide and fertilizer application or injection. The
maximum amount of the credit is $17,500 per taxable year.

To be eligible for the new credit, a taxpayer must be engaged in agricultural production for market, have in place a soil
conservation plan approved by the local soil and water conservation district, and be implementing a nutrient management
plan developed by a certified nutrient management planner. Taxpayers must apply to the Department using Form AEC. For
more information, refer to Form AEC and Schedule 500CR Instructions.

Changes to Coal-Related Tax Credits

The Coalfield Employment Enhancement Tax Credit and Virginia Coal Employment and Production Incentive Tax Credit will
expire for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2022.

Electricity generators that originally earned the Virginia Coal Employment and Production Incentive Tax Credits may continue
to carry forward amounts of credit for up to 10 taxable years or until the full amount is used, whichever is sooner. However,
a taxpayer claiming carryover credits on a return for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2022 may not claim
more than $1 million in credits for a single taxable year. No taxpayer may amend a return for a taxable year beginning before
January 1, 2022 to claim more credits than the amount included on such return before amending it.

Assistance

Online Resources:
The Department’s website, www.tax.virginia.gov, contains valuable information to help you.
¢ Online Services — Link to online registration, filing, payment, and other electronic services.

* Laws, Rules, & Decisions — Access the Code of Virginia, Tax Regulations, Legislative Summaries, Rulings by the Tax
Commissioner, Tax Bulletins, and Attorney General Opinions.

* Email Updates — Sign up and stay informed. By subscribing, you will periodically receive automatic email notifications
regarding legislative changes, filing reminders, and other relevant information.

Contact Us:
Customer Service Inquiries Forms Requests
Department of Taxation Department of Taxation
P.O. Box 1115 P.O. Box 1317
Richmond, Virginia 23218-1115 Richmond, Virginia 23218-1317
Phone: (804) 367-8037 Phone: (804) 367-8037
Fax: (804) 254-6111 or visit www.tax.virginia.gov
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Instructions for Preparing 2021 Form 502
Virginia Pass-Through Entity Return of Income and Return of Nonresident Withholding Tax

GENERAL INFORMATION

Pass-Through Entities Required to File

Every pass-through entity (PTE) doing business in Virginia
or having income from Virginia sources is required to
electronically file a Form 502 for each taxable year.

Pass-through entities include S corporations, general
partnerships, limited partnerships, limited liability
partnerships (LLPs), limited liability companies (LLCs),
electing large partnerships, and business trusts. A PTE is
any entity that is recognized as a separate entity for federal
income tax purposes and the entity’s owners report their
distributive or pro rata shares of the entity’s income, gains,
losses, deductions, and credits on their own income tax
returns. Unlike C corporations, a PTE typically does not
pay income tax itself; rather, the entity’s income and related
items are reported by the owners on their personal returns
and the tax is computed and paid at the owner level. Estates
and trusts that file Virginia Form 770 are not subject to the
Form 502 filing requirements.

An owner of a PTE may be an individual, a corporation, a
partnership, or any other type of entity that is treated as a
shareholder, partner, or member of a PTE for federal income
tax purposes.

An owner of a PTE may itself be a PTE and have other
pass-through entities as its owners so that income, gains,
losses, and deductions may pass through several levels
of ownership before reaching an owner that is taxable. All
pass-through entities that are subject to filing in Virginia are
required to file their own returns regardless of the ownership
hierarchy. There are no “consolidated” or “multilevel” PTE
returns.

A PTE has Virginia source income if it has:

1. Any items of income, gain, loss, or deduction related to
either:

a) the ownership of real or tangible personal property in
Virginia, or

b) a business, trade, profession, or occupation carried
on in Virginia;
—OR-

2. Anyincome or gain from intangible property to the extent
that such property is used by the entity in a business,
trade, profession, or occupation carried on in Virginia.

If a PTE does not conduct its entire business within Virginia,
then it must determine the Virginia-source portion of its
total income through allocation and apportionment. See
Pages 5, 11, and 22 for more information on allocation
and apportionment. In general, a non-Virginia entity will

have income from Virginia sources if it has enough activity
or presence in Virginia to make any apportionment factor
(property, payroll, or sales) positive. Therefore, it may
be deemed to have Virginia-source income under the
apportionment formulas even if no specific portion of its
gross or net income is separately identifiable as being
derived directly from Virginia.

Single-Member LLC

A single-member LLC that is disregarded as a separate
entity for federal income tax purposes will be similarly treated
for Virginia income tax purposes. Its income, gains, losses,
and deductions will be included with those of its owner on
the owner’s income tax return. The disregarded entity is not
required to file Form 502.

Investment Pass-Through Entities

Previous rulings of the Tax Commissioner have held that
pass-through entities that are established solely to invest in
intangible personal property, such as stocks and bonds, and
that have no employees and no real or tangible property, are
not considered to be carrying on a trade or business. Thus,
the income from the intangible property that is held by an
investment PTE is not income from Virginia sources, and
these types of pass-through entities are not required to file
Form 502.

Period Covered by the Return

A PTE'’s taxable year for Virginia purposes is the same as its
taxable year for federal income tax purposes.

Withholding Tax Payments for Nonresident Owners

Every PTE that does business in the Commonwealth and
has taxable income derived from Virginia sources must
withhold and pay Virginia income tax on behalf of each of
its nonresident owners, unless the entity or the owner meets
an exception. See the section heading “Exceptions to the
Requirement for Withholding.” If an owner was a nonresident
owner for only a portion of the taxable year, the income
allocated to such owner must be prorated by the number of
days of residence outside of Virginia in order to determine
the amount on which the withholding tax must be paid.
The tax is equal to 5% of the share of taxable income from
Virginia sources that is allocable to each nonresident owner.
In determining the amount of tax, the entity may apply any
tax credits that pass through to nonresident owners, but the
tax liability of any nonresident owner may not be reduced
to less than zero. To avoid penalties, the payment must
be equal to the lesser of: 90% of the withholding tax
liability that was reported for the current taxable year
or 100% of the withholding tax liability reported for the
previous taxable year, provided that the return for the
previous year covered a 12-month period and reflected
a withholding tax liability.
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Due Date for Payment

Payment of the withholding tax is due by the original due
date for filing Form 502 (i.e., April 15 for a calendar year
return). The automatic 6-month filing extension for Form 502
does not apply to the withholding tax payment. If the entity
chooses to use the automatic filing extension for Form 502,
the withholding tax payment must be submitted electronically
no later than the original due date for filing Form 502.

Penalties and Interest

If a PTE that is subject to the withholding tax requirement
fails to pay the minimum tax amount described above by
the original due date, penalties may apply. The penalties are
computed in the same manner as the extension penalty and
late payment penalty for individual income taxes. The late
filing penalty is computed in the manner prescribed under
Va. Code § 58.1-394.1.

If Form 502 is filed within the 6-month extension period, but
the required minimum withholding tax amount was not paid
by the original due date, the extension penalty will apply. The
extension penalty is imposed at the rate of 2% per month
or part of month on the balance of the tax due from the due
date through the date the return is filed, up to a maximum of
12% of the tax due.

If Form 502 is filed within the 6-month extension period and
full payment is not included with the return, the late payment
penalty will apply. The late payment penalty is imposed at
the rate of 6% per month from the date of filing of Form 502
through the date of payment, up to a maximum of 30% of
the tax due. If the entity fails to pay the minimum tax amount
required as described AND fails to make full payment with
a return filed within the 6-month extension period, both the
extension penalty and the late payment penalty will apply.
The extension penalty will be imposed from the original due
date through the date that the return is filed, and the late
payment penalty will begin to accrue on the day after the
return is filed.

If Form 502 is filed more than 6 months after the due date
or more than 30 days after the federal extended due date,
whichever is later, the greater of the late payment penalty,
imposed at the rate of 30% of the tax due, or a late filing
penalty of $1,200 will apply.

Any balance of unpaid tax is also subject to accrual of
interest at the rate specified under IRC § 6621, plus 2%,
from the due date until the date of payment. For details
on computing the penalty and interest charges, see the
line-by-line instructions for Page 2 of Form 502.

Exceptions to the Requirement for Withholding

Publicly traded partnerships and disregarded entities are not
subject to the withholding requirement. A PTE with an owner
that is a disregarded entity does not withhold on behalf of the
disregarded entity. The disregarded entity does not withhold
on behalf of its individual owner. For all other pass-through
entities, no withholding of Virginia income tax is required on
behalf of the following nonresident owners:

(1) individuals who are exempt from paying federal
income taxes, who are exempt from Virginia income

taxes, or whose credit for taxes paid to other states is
sufficient to offset all Virginia income tax attributable to
the shares of income distributed by the PTE;

(2) individuals included on a composite return (Form 765);

(3) entities other than individuals and corporations that
are exempt from paying federal income taxes by
reason of their purpose or activities;

(4) real estate investment trusts (REITs) that are not
Captive REITs; and

(5) corporations exempt from Virginia income tax.

The exemption from federal income tax for entities other
than individuals and corporations must apply to the entity’s
share of the PTE’s income.

Examples of such exempt entities include:

(1) Other PTEs. Generally, a PTE does not need to
withhold for a nonresident owner that is also a PTE.
These nonresident owner PTEs are responsible for
filing their own PTE returns ofincome and must pay the
withholding tax for their nonresident owners’ shares of
income from Virginia sources. If a PTE is notified by
a nonresident owner PTE that the nonresident owner
PTE is not going to file a Virginia PTE return, then the
PTE is required to withhold on the nonresident owner
PTE.

CAUTION: As a general rule, a PTE should not
withhold tax on behalf of another PTE. If a PTE does
withhold on a nonresident owner PTE, the nonresident
owner PTE cannot claim credit on its Form 502 for
such withholding. PTE withholding is not “generation
skipping” and does not pass through an intermediate
PTE to owners that are more than one level of
ownership away. In the event that a PTE erroneously
withholds for a nonresident owner PTE, the PTE
should file an amended Form 502. See the amended
returns section for additional information.

(2) Entities that are exempt by reason of diplomatic
immunity or pursuant to treaties between the United
States and other countries. An entity claiming this
exemption must provide a statement to the PTE
stating that it has diplomatic immunity from federal
income tax.

(3) Any nonresident person who is a part of a PTE that
owns and leases 4 or fewer dwelling units in the
Commonwealth, provided that the PTE discloses the
name and federal taxpayer identification number for
all such owners in its return for the taxable year filed
under Va. Code § 58.1-392. For this purpose, the term
“person” is defined using the definition of “person” in
Va. Code § 55-248.4.

See the Laws, Rules, & Decisions page on the Department’s
website for any additional exceptions that may apply.

If paying the withholding tax imposes an undue hardship
on the PTE, the PTE may request a waiver of the payment
requirement. To request a waiver, the PTE must write a
letter to the Tax Commissioner describing the facts and
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circumstances creating the hardship. The letter must provide
information to enable the Tax Commissioner to compare
and evaluate the cost of the PTE’s compliance with the
withholding requirements and the cost to the Commonwealth
of collecting income tax from any nonresident owners that
do not voluntarily file Virginia income tax returns and pay
the tax.

To indicate an exception for the PTE, the entity must enter
the appropriate exception code on Form 502, Line d.

To indicate an exception for the entity or for any or all
nonresident owners, the entity must enter the appropriate
exception code on Line f of the nonresident owner’s Schedule
VK-1, and enclose a list of all of the nonresident owners that
are claiming an exception to the Form 502. See Page 10 of
these instructions for a list of withholding exemption reason
codes.

Accounting Method

A PTE’s accounting method for its Virginia return of income
is the same as its accounting method for federal income tax
purposes.

Allocation and Apportionment

If a PTE’s entire business is conducted within Virginia,
then all of its income is Virginia source income; no income
is allocated to another state, and the entity’s Virginia
apportionment is 100%.

If a PTE conducts its business in Virginia and elsewhere in
a manner such that its income would be subject to a tax
on net income in Virginia and at least one other state, the
entity must allocate and apportion its income in the same
manner that is provided in Virginia law for corporations. This
applies to all types of pass-through entities (partnerships,
LLPs, LLCs, and S corporations). Dividends received are to
be allocated to the state of commercial domicile, but all other
income must be apportioned. An entity may not apportion
its income based on divisional or separate accounting,
or any other alternate method unless it has requested
and received permission to do so in advance from the
Department.

The effect of the PTE’s apportionment may vary from one
owner to another, depending on the entity types of the
owners. For instance:

* a Virginia resident individual owner is taxable on all
of his or her PTE income regardless of the entity’s
apportionment;

* a nonresident individual owner uses the entity’s
Virginia apportioned income in determining his or her
own Virginia nonresident percentage; and

* a corporate owner may need to include the PTE'’s
property, payroll, and sales factors in determining its
own apportionment percentage.

For more information on allocation and apportionment, see
Schedule 502A and the Instructions for Schedule 502A
section contained in these instructions.

Certified Company Apportionment for Business
Conducted in Certain Disadvantaged Localities

Certain companies may decrease the amount of their
income taxed by Virginia when they meet specific eligibility
requirements and are certified by the Virginia Economic
Development Partnership Authority (VEDP). This includes a
requirement that a specified number of jobs be created and, if
applicable, investments be made in particular disadvantaged
localities.

Once the company is certified by VEDP as meeting the
applicable eligibility requirements, it is entitled to decrease
the amount of income taxed by Virginia. For multistate
certified companies, the decrease in income is accomplished
by allowing such companies to make modifications to their
apportionment factors (“Certified Company Apportionment”).
For instate certified companies, this is accomplished by
allowing such companies the ability to use apportionment
and to use Certified Company Apportionment to make
modifications to their apportionment factors. See Schedule
500AP Instructions for detailed information.

General Filing Requirements
When to File

The PTE return must be submitted on or before the 15th day
of the 4th month after the close of the entity’s taxable year.

How to File

The Departmentrequires that all pass-through entities (PTEs)
file their withholding tax payments, extension payments,
annual tax returns, and final payments electronically. There
are two options available. Returns may be filed through
the Federal/State e-File program, or certain Virginia PTEs
may qualify to electronically file a Form 502EZ using the
eForms system on the Department’'s website. If the PTE is
unable to file and pay electronically by the effective date, the
PTE may request a waiver. Visit the Department’s website
at www.tax.virginia.gov to access a waiver form and the
mailing address.

e-File (Form 502)

The e-File system is supported by numerous commercial
software programs. e-File software will automatically check
for completeness, correct errors, generate the applicable
schedules, and electronically transmit the return and
payment to the e-File processing systems. A list of approved
commercial software is available on the Department’s
website. If a tax due payment is required, the payment can
be made through the e-File system as a direct debit by using
eForms or with an ACH credit established through the PTE’s
bank.

In order to successfully e-File, the pass-through entity must:

» Use an approved commercial e-File software product.
Approved e-File software is listed on the Department’s
website.

* You must be able to create a readable PDF file for any
document or schedule that is required for backup to
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the return. You must either have a scanner that allows
you to scan documents into a PDF file or software that
allows you to save a file as a PDF document. This
feature will allow you to e-File your state return if the
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) does not support the
federal return and/or schedules through the federal
e-File system by attaching the federal return as a PDF
file to the state return’s electronic transmission.

* The Virginia e-File program has been designed to
accept transmission of the federal and state return
together or separately (often referred to as a state-
only transmission). The state-only transmission option
can be used when the federal return being filed is not
supported by the federal e-File system. This allows
the state return to be filed electronically by itself.
Most software vendors support both the electronic
transmission of the federal and state together (linked)
or separately (unlinked).

e Large pass-through entities must decide whether
to use an Electronic Return Originator (ERO) to
electronically file the return or prepare and e-File
the return themselves. Please note, if a partnership
chooses to prepare and e-File the return themselves,
they may have to register and apply with the IRS to
obtain an Electronic Filing Identification Number
(EFIN) and possibly an Electronic Transmitter
Identification Number (ETIN) depending upon the
e-File option chosen. Please see the Department’s
website for detailed information.

* Small pass-through entities may use an online
provider to avoid having to register with the IRS for an
Electronic Filing Identification Number (EFIN).

eForms (Forms 502EZ, 502W, and 502V)

An online return, Form 502EZ, is available through the
eForms application on the Department’s website. This return
is a shorter version of the existing Form 502, and is designed
to simplify the filing process. In addition, you can submit
pass-through entity withholding payments (Form 502W) and
return payments (Form 502V) using eForms. Using eForms
is a fast and free way to file and pay state taxes.

To be eligible to file Form 502EZ, the PTE must meet all
of the criteria below:

* 100% of the PTE’s business is in Virginia

* 100% of the PTE’s income is from Virginia sources
* The PTE’s commercial domicile is in Virginia

* The PTE does not have more than 10 owners

* The PTE is not required to file a Virginia Corporation
Income Tax Return (Form 500)

« The PTE is not filing Schedules 502A and 500AP

* The PTE is not a noncorporate home service contract
provider who must file a Form 500 and 500HS

* The PTE passes no Schedule CR credits to its owners
for the year

* The PTE has no fixed date conformity modifications or
adjustments to pass to its owners

* The total taxable income of the PTE must be greater
than or equal to $0 and does not exceed $40,000 for
the taxable year of the return

¢ The total additions to and subtractions from income
are less than $1,000

e The return is not being amended as a result of a
partnership-level federal adjustment.

The 502EZ is free, secure, available 24/7, and does not
require registration or login credentials. For more information,
go to www.tax.virginia.gov/eforms.

Waiver Request

If the requirement to file and pay electronically creates an
undue hardship for a taxpayer, the PTE may request a
waiver. All requests for waivers must be submitted to the
Department in writing using the PTEs Tax Electronic Filing
Waiver Request form on the Department’s website at www.
tax.virginia.gov.

Extension of Time to File

An automatic extension of time to file is granted to the date
6 months after the due date for filing Form 502 or 30 days
after the extended due date for filing the federal income tax
return, whichever is later. The automatic extension of time
to file does not extend the payment due date for withholding
tax. The withholding tax payment is due on the due date of
the PTE’s return regardless of whether the extension to file
Form 502 is used. Use Form 502W to make the withholding
tax payment by the due date.

Penalties

If Form 502 is not filed within the automatic extension period
or more than 30 days after the extended federal due date,
the extension will be invalid and the greater of the late
payment penalty or the late filing penalty will apply. The late
payment penalty is equal to 6% of the tax due per month,
with a maximum penalty of 30% of the tax due. The late filing
penalty is $1,200 when filed after the automatic extension
period of 6 months.

If the failure to file continues for more than 6 months, the
Department may assess the PTE with a late filing penalty
equal to 6% of the Virginia taxable income that the owners
derive from the entity. The Department may estimate this
taxable income using any method it deems reasonable and
with any information in its possession. The 6% penalty will
be reduced by any monthly penalty that has already been
assessed pursuant to Va. Code § 58.1-394.1(A), or the 6%
penalty may be assessed instead of the monthly penalty.
The 6% penalty will also be reduced to the extent that any
owner has paid Virginia income tax on his or her share of the
entity’s income for the same taxable year.

Penalty for Returned Check or EFT Nonpayment

If the PTE’s bank does not honor a payment to the
Department, the Department may impose a penalty of $35,
as authorized by Va. Code § 2.2-614.1. This penalty will be
assessed in addition to other penalties due.
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Signature

The return must be signed by an officer of the S corporation,
a general partner, or an authorized LLC member, as
appropriate for the type of entity. An owner’s signature on
the return will be prima facie evidence that the owner is
authorized to sign on behalf of the PTE. If the return was
prepared wholly or in substantial part by a person other than
an owner or an employee of the entity, that person must also
sign the return.

Virginia Schedules and Enclosures

In addition to Form 502, the return must include Schedule(s)
VK-1 or VK-1 Consolidated, and Schedule(s) SVK-1, if
applicable, indicating the owner’s share of income and
Virginia modifications and credits for each owner. Also,
Schedule 502ADJ and Schedule 502A, are usually required.
To claim certain tax credits, specific documentation must
be enclosed with the return. See the Schedule 502ADJ,
Section C — Virginia Tax Credits section of these instructions
for more information. If an entry is made on Section C, Part |,
Line 1 of Schedule 502ADJ for state income tax paid, a
supporting schedule must be enclosed. If the PTE and the
qualifying nonresident owners elect, a composite return,
Form 765, Virginia Unified Nonresident Individual Income
Tax Return (Composite Return), may also be filed. This is a
separate return and should not be included with Form 502.

A copy of the PTE’s federal return of income, as filed with
the IRS, is required to be enclosed with the Virginia return.
The required enclosure includes the federal Form 1120-S,
Form 1065, or Form 1065-B, with Schedule K. Do not
include federal Schedule K-1 because it is not required. If
the federal return is so voluminous that it is impractical to
include a complete copy with the Virginia return, enclose the
Form 1120-S, Form 1065, or Form 1065-B along with the
Schedule K, and a statement that the complete return will be
made available upon request.

ORDER OF DOCUMENTS

Form 502

»  Schedule 502ADJ, if applicable

» Schedule 502ADJS, if applicable
«  Schedule 502A, if applicable

* Schedule(s) VK-1 or VK-1 Consolidated
»  Schedule(s) SVK-1, if applicable
* Schedule 500AB, if applicable

* Schedule 500AP, if applicable

* Form 500HS, if applicable

* Form 502FED-1, if applicable

* Acopy of your federal return

Report of Change in Federal Return

If the amount of any item of distributive or pro rata income, or
deduction on the PTE’s federal return of income is changed
or corrected by the IRS or any other competent authority, or
through renegotiation of a contract with the United States,
the entity must notify the Department and issue an amended
Schedule VK-1 to each owner within 1 year of the federal

final determination date. If a PTE amends its federal return
of income in any manner that would affect its Virginia return
or the Virginia returns or tax liabilities of its owners, the entity
must file an amended Virginia return and issue an amended
Schedule VK-1 and Schedule SVK-1, if applicable, to each
owner with full disclosure of the federal amendment.

Report of Partnership-Level Federal Adjustments

Partnerships are required to report partnership-level
federal adjustments no later than 90 days after the final
determination date by submitting Form 502FED-1, Virginia
Partnership-Level Federal Adjustments Report, to the
Department. The partnership can either elect to pay any
resulting Virginia income tax due on behalf of its partners or
instead file amended Forms 502 and/or 765, issue updated
Schedules VK-1, and send a copy of completed Form
502FED-1 to each direct partner within 90 days of the final
determination date. See the Form 502FED-1 instructions for
more information.

If the partnership elects to pay on the entity-level, it
must submit Form 502FED-2 within 90 days of the final
determination date. The entity-level tax payment is due within
1 year of the final determination date. See Form 502FED-2
Instructions for more information.

Amended Returns

A PTE may amend its Form 502 through PTE e-File. The
“amended return” indicator must be marked on the return
within the software package. If the original return was filed
through eForms using 502EZ, the PTE may use the eForms
application to amend the return. Enter the corrected figures
for Form 502 and supporting schedules. An explanation of
any changes made must be documented with the e-File
submission, including any supporting forms or schedules. In
addition, the PTE must issue an amended Virginia Schedule
VK-1 to each owner. To amend a return that was originally
filed through eForms using Form 502EZ, the PTE must
submit Form 502.

If the amended return includes an adjustment to the
total withholding due for nonresident owners, complete
Schedule 502ADJ, Section D —Amended Return, to compute
any additional tax due or refund resulting from the amended
return.

If a PTE files Form 502 and later finds it did not include
all Schedule(s) VK-1, Schedule(s) VK-1 Consolidated, or
Schedule(s) SVK-1, if applicable, with the return but no
other changes to the return are necessary, the entity should
not file an amended Form 502. Instead, it should submit the
additional schedule(s) to the Department with a cover letter
that includes the notation “Additional Schedule(s) VK-1,
Schedule(s) VK-1 Consolidated, or Schedule(s) SVK-1
Enclosed with Previously Filed Return.”

In the event the PTE that filed the Form 502 erroneously
withheld for an owner, such as a nonresident owner PTE,
and no other changes to the original Form 502 are necessary,
the PTE should file an amended Form 502, completing
all lines and schedules, reflecting a reduced withholding
amount on Line ¢, Form 502, and in Section 1, Form 502.
Also, the PTE should complete Section D of Schedule
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502ADJ to determine the amount of withholding overpaid
with the original return and now due to the PTE as a refund.
Enclose revised Schedules VK-1, marked amended, only for
the owners for which withholding was erroneously reported
indicating that no withholding was required.

Be sure to issue a corrected Schedule VK-1 and
Schedule and SVK-1, if applicable, to every owner
affected by the changes to the return, with a notice
alerting the owners to the potential need to amend their
own Virginia returns. Upon receipt of the amended return,
the Department will review the amended return and, as
applicable, refund to the PTE the amount the PTE withheld
in error on the nonresident owner PTE.

A partnership with partnership-level federal adjustments
that files an amended Virginia return instead of making an
election to pay any resulting VA income tax due on behalf of
its partners, must file Form 502FED-1 along with amended
returns 502 and 765 (if applicable) and all associated
schedules within 90 days of the federal final determination
date. Do not send a copy of the Form 502FED-1 to partners
if you are electing to calculate and pay any tax due at the
entity level on behalf of the partners. See the Form 502FED-1
instructions for more information.

Supplemental Information for Multistate Activity

If the entity files composite returns in other states, or is taxed
as a corporation in other states, it must provide a statement
to each of its owners. The statement must confirm the
owner’s election to participate in the composite filing in the
other state and provide the owner’s share of gross income,
taxable income, and tax paid. This statement will be used
to determine the credit amount on the Virginia individual
income tax return. A sample reporting format is available on
the Department’'s website at www.tax.virginia.gov under
the topic of Credit for Taxes Paid to Another State.

Unified Nonresident Individual Income Tax Return
(Composite Return)

When a PTE is required to file a Virginia return of income,
the owners of the entity are typically required to file a Virginia
income tax return to report their respective shares of income.
To simplify the filing requirement for qualified individual
nonresident owners, the PTE may file a composite Virginia
income tax return on their behalf using Form 765, Unified
Nonresident Individual Income Tax Return (Composite
Return), provided that certain conditions described in the
Form 502 instructions are met. The PTE is not required to
pay the withholding tax on behalf of the individual nonresident
owners for whom it files Form 765, and should not withhold
for those owners. Accordingly, there is no provision on
Form 765 for claiming credit for such withholding. A PTE
may file a composite return for only a portion of its qualified
nonresident owners, provided that the PTE pays the PTE
withholding tax for any qualified nonresident owners who are
not included in the composite return.

The Form 765 is an individual income tax return that is
completed separately and filed in addition to the PTE’s
return. Accordingly, Form 765 may not be filed unless the
entity has also filed its Form 502 or, if the entity is a trust or

estate, its Form 770. Do not submit Form 765 with Form 502
or Form 770, or include Form 765 as an enclosure with those
returns.

Form 765 may be downloaded from the Department’s
website, www.tax.virginia.gov, or requested by calling the
Department at (804) 367-8037.

Qualified Nonresident Owner

A qualified nonresident owner is generally defined as an
individual who is a nonresident of Virginia for income tax
purposes and who is a direct owner of the entity. A qualified
owner may derive Virginia source income from more than one
PTE (and thereby be included in multiple composite returns),
or from other sources. If the qualified owner also receives
income from sources other than pass-through entities, or
from entities that do not file composite returns, the owner
must also file an individual income tax return on Form 763 to
account for any Virginia source income that is not reported
in a composite return. Corporations, regardless of where
domiciled, Virginia resident individuals, and individuals
who are not direct owners of the entity, regardless of their
residency status, are not qualified nonresident owners and
may not be included in a composite return.

Multiple pass-through entities under common ownership
that wish to file a consolidated Form 765 must request
permission from the Department to do so. Address requests
to the Tax Commissioner, Virginia Department of Taxation,
P.O. Box 2475, Richmond, VA 23218-2475.

Conditions for Filing a Composite Return

The PTE must obtain the consent of each qualified
nonresident owner, as defined above, to be included in the
return. Such consent must indicate that the nonresident
owner agrees to be taxed under the following conditions:

1. The PTE must provide a schedule containing the
total income of the entity and the amount that is
attributable to Virginia under either the applicable state
apportionment formula, as provided in Va. Code §§
58.1-408 through 58.1-420, or by using an alternative
method of apportionment that is approved by the Tax
Commissioner as provided in Va. Code § 58.1-421.

2. The return will include each qualified nonresident
owner’s name, address, and social security number,
and the Virginia taxable income attributable to each
qualified nonresident owner.

3. The amount of tax is computed on the Virginia taxable
income by applying the highest rate for individual
income tax specified in Va. Code § 58.1-320 or by
reference to the tax tables that are published by
the Department, without regard to the number of
participants. The tax is computed on the entity’s
income that is attributable to the qualified nonresident
owners without the benefit of itemized deductions,
standard deductions, personal exemptions, credit for
income taxes paid to states of residence, or credit for
Virginia income tax withheld on behalf of the owners.

4. An owner, officer, or employee of the PTE who is
authorized to act on behalf of the PTE in tax matters
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(authorized representative) must sign the composite
return. By signing the return, the signer is declaring that
he or she is the authorized representative of the PTE
and that each participant has signed a consent form
authorizing the PTE to act on the participant’s behalf
in the matter of composite returns, and acknowledging
the participant’'s understanding and acceptance of
all of the terms and conditions of participation in a
composite return. The consent form must continue
in force indefinitely until it is revoked in writing by the
participant, and permit the PTE to file amendments or
take other actions concerning the composite return
without additional authorization from the participant.
The consent forms must be maintained by the PTE
and provided to the Department for inspection upon
demand. Participation in the composite return will
indicate the consent of the nonresident owner to be
taxed by the Commonwealth of Virginia.

5. Estimated income tax payments made on behalf of
owners included in a composite return must be made
on a composite basis, using the name and account
number or FEIN of the PTE.

Automatic extensions of time to file Form 502 or Form 770
and Form 765 are separate and independent of each other.
A payment may be required for an extension for Form 765
if 90% of the liability has not been paid by the original due
date.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 1 OF FORM 502

Taxpayer Information

Fiscal year or short period filers: Enter the beginning
and ending dates for the PTE’s fiscal or short year. Enter as
MM/DD/YYYY.

Check boxes at top of page: Mark the appropriate box for
any condition that applies:

» Schedules VK-1 filed by Web Upload;

* The Department is authorized to discuss this return
with the undersigned preparer;

* The return is the initial return filed by the entity;

* The return is an amendment of a previously filed return
(see amended return reason codes below);

« The return is the final return that the entity will have to
file with Virginia (i.e., the entity has been dissolved or
no longer operates in Virginia);

* The name or address shown represents a change that
should be reflected in the Department’s records;

» The entity’s fiscal year has changed;

* A \Virginia Unified Nonresident Individual Income Tax
Return (Composite Return), Form 765, will be filed for
the same taxable year;

» The entity is an electing large partnership;

» The entity is subject to bank franchise tax. If this
box is checked, the S corporation will provide the

shareholders with the pertinent information concerning
their allocable share of the income or gain, losses, or
deductions or the value of any distributions paid or
distributed to the shareholder by the S corporation.

« The company is certified by the VEDP and is electing
to use a modified apportionment method according to
the provisions of Va. Code § 58.1-405.1.

Amended Return Reason Codes

If amending a return, mark the amended return check box and
enter the reason code in the space provided. Use the reason
code that best describes why the return is being amended
and enclose the appropriate documentation.

Code Amended Return Reason
02 Partnership-Level Federal Adjustment —
Enclose Form 502FED-1
03 Federal Return Adjusted or Amended —
Enclose copy of IRS final determination
04 Virginia Return Changes to Subtractions, Deductions,

Additions, and Credits

10 | Allocation and Apportionment Changes
11 | Schedule 500AB Changes

30 | Other — Enclose Explanation

Federal Employer ID Number: Enter the PTE’s FEIN.

Name and Address: Enter the entity’s name and address in
the space provided.

Date of Formation, Date Operations Began in Virginia,
and State or Country Where Incorporated: Enter the
entity’s date of formation, the date operations began in
Virginia, and the state or country where it is incorporated or
organized in the space provided.

Entity Type: (A proper entry in this field is required.) Enter
the code from the following table that corresponds to the
type of entity filing this return.

Entity Type Code
S Corporation SC
General Partnership PG
Limited Partnership PL
Limited Liability Company LL
Limited Liability Partnership LP
Nonprofit Organization NZ
Other OB

NAICS Code: Enter the 6-digit NAICS code. A list of these
codes can be accessed from the Businesses section on the
Department’s website, www.tax.virginia.gov.

Description of Business Activity: Enter a 1 to 2 word
description of the primary activity in which the business is
engaged.
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Number and Types of Owners

a. Enter the total number of owners. The total number
of owners should be the same as the number of
shareholders who were shareholders during any part
of the taxable year (see federal Form 1120-S, Page 1,
Line I) or the number of Schedules K-1 filed with
the PTE’s federal return (see federal Forms 1065 or
1065-B, Page 1, Line I).

b. Enter the total number of owners that are not residents
of Virginia. If the residency status is not known, enter
the number of owners whose address of record is not
in Virginia.

c. Enter the total amount withheld for all nonresident
owners from Line e of each Schedule VK-1 filed with
this return.

d. If the entity claims an exemption from paying the
withholding tax, enter the exemption code from the
Withholding Exemption Reason list below in the space
provided.

Entities Exempt From Withholding

The PTE will not be required to pay the withholding tax if it:
* is a publicly traded partnership
* is a disregarded entity

« files a composite return on behalf of all nonresident
owners

» the PTE owns and leases 4 or fewer dwelling units

Because only individuals may be included on a composite
return, PTEs that have both individual and corporate and/
or other entity members may be exempt from paying the
withholding tax for the individual members, but will still be
required to pay the withholding tax on behalf of the corporate
and/or other entity members. In that case, the PTE should
not indicate that it is exempt from paying the withholding
tax. Instead, it will indicate on the individual members’
Schedules VK-1 that it is not required to pay the withholding
tax for them because they are included on a composite
return.

Withholding Exemption Reason Code
Entity files a composite nonresident income 03
tax return for ALL nonresident owners.

Publicly traded partnership 04
Undue hardship waiver granted 06
PTE’s income is from rents with 4 or fewer 07
dwelling units

Undue Hardship

If a PTE believes that the withholding requirement
causes an undue hardship, the PTE may apply to the Tax
Commissioner requesting an exemption. In addition to any
other information that is pertinent to the PTE’s petition for
relief, the letter must provide information that will enable
the Tax Commissioner to compare and evaluate the cost to
the PTE of complying with the withholding tax requirements
and the cost to the Commonwealth of collecting income

tax from any nonresident owners who do not voluntarily file
Virginia income tax returns and pay the tax. For purposes
of requesting an undue hardship exemption, the withholding
tax liability itself is not considered to be part of the cost of
compliance, nor is a PTE’s inability to pay the tax a basis for
exemption.

Distributive or Pro Rata Income and Deductions
Line 1. Total of taxable income amounts.

Enter the total of all the various categories of taxable income
shown in the “Income” section of Schedule K of the PTE’s
federal Form 1065 or Form 1120-S. It may be helpful to use
the worksheet below to summarize the income, but note that
the worksheet lines may not correspond exactly to every item
on the Schedule K. If you are an “electing large partnership,”
see the paragraph labeled “Electing large partnerships”
following the Line 3 instructions below.

1. Ordinary income (loss) from trade
OF bUSINESS....ooviiiiiiiiiiiiece
2. Netincome (loss) from rental real
estate ...
3. Net income (loss) from other
rental activity .........cccccoeieeiennnn

Interest income .........cccoeevveeeenn...

Dividend income .........cccoeeeeennne.n.

Other portfolio income.................

4

5

6. Royalty income .........ccoccveeeennnn
7

8

Net short-term capital gain (loss)...

9. Netlong-term capital gain (loss)....
10. Net IRC § 1231 gain (loss)..........

11. Other taxable income (loss)........

12. Total of taxable income amounts
(This is a Virginia calculation;
there is not a total on Schedule K
of federal Form 1065 or
Form 1120-S.) .coveeeeiiiiiii,

Caution

The Schedule K of federal Forms 1065 and 1120-S does
not include a total taxable income amount, and the correct
amount to enter on Form 502 is not necessarily the sum of
all entries in the “Income” section of Schedule K. Schedule K
may have entries that overlap for a particular category of
income (forinstance, a yearly amountand the amount through
a certain date because of a midyear federal law change).
For each category of income, include only the yearly total in
the Virginia computation; do not omit, duplicate, or count any
amounts twice.

Line 2. Total deductions.

Enter the total of the various categories of deductions shown
in the “Deductions” section of Schedule K of the PTE'’s
federal Form 1065 or 1120-S. This may include charitable
contributions, the IRC § 179 expense deduction and “other”
deductions.
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Line 3. Tax-exempt interest income.

Enter the total tax-exempt interest income shown in the
“Other” section of the PTE’s federal Schedule K.

Electing large partnerships. An electing large partnership,
which files federal Form 1065-B, combines items of income,
gain, loss, and deduction before reporting to the partners,
rather than reporting such items separately to partners as
do other partnerships. The Schedule K for Form 1065-B is,
therefore, significantly different from Schedule K for Forms
1065 and 1120-S. From the Schedule K (Form 1065-B),
combine total taxable income (loss) from passive loss
limitation activities (without regard to general or limited
partner allocation), taxable income (loss) from other activities,
qualified dividends from other activities, and any net capital
gain or other taxable income from Schedule K that is not
included in the above amounts. Enter the result on Line 1,
Total taxable income amounts. Leave Line 2 blank. Enter the
amount of tax-exempt interest income from Schedule K on
Line 3. The electing large partnership rules were repealed
for partnership tax years beginning after 2017.

Allocation and Apportionment

Lines 4-7 (All pass-through entities must complete this
section).

If the PTE conducted its business entirely within Virginia,
and no income is allocated or apportioned elsewhere, then
leave Lines 4 and 5 blank, repeat the amount from Line 1
on Line 6, and enter “100%” on Line 7. In all other cases,
complete Schedule 502A first to determine the entries for
Lines 4-7 as described below. See Schedule 502A and its
instructions for more information on who is eligible to allocate
and apportion income. If the PTE is electing the alternative
method of apportionment for manufacturers, mark the box to
the right of the allocation and apportionment heading.

Virginia law provides that dividends that are received are to
be allocated to the state of commercial domicile, and that
all other income must be apportioned as directed in Va.
Code §§ 58.1-408 through 58.1-420, 58.1-422, 58.1-422.1,
58.1-422.2, or 58.1-422.3. Virginia law does not allow for
subtractions from apportionable income based on separate
or divisional accounting, or for the exclusion of non-Virginia
investment income. Except as provided below, an alternative
method of allocation and apportionment may not be used
without prior written approval from the Department.

Some entities may be entitled to an alternative method of
allocation and apportionment if they can demonstrate that
the application of Virginia’s apportionment law to their
particular facts for the taxable year would be contrary to the
principles set forth in Allied-Signal, Inc. v. Director, Div. of
Taxation, 504 U.S. 768 (1992).

In Allied-Signal, the Court reaffirmed the continued validity
of apportionment of any income received directly by the
taxpayer, including investment income such as capital gains,
unless the capital transaction serves an investment function
thatis completely unrelated to any of its operational activities
carried on in the state. The Court also reinforced the principle
that investment income may be included in apportionable

income if there is a unitary relationship between the taxpayer
and the entity in which the taxpayer has invested. However,
the Court made it clear that the absence of a unitary
relationship does not necessarily preclude apportionment.

Such an adjustment for unrelated investment function
income is only available to a multistate entity that is entitled
to allocate and apportion its income, and that proves by clear
and cogent evidence that the assets producing the income
serve an investment function unrelated to operational
functions. If investment function income is excluded from
apportionable income, the denominator of the relevant
apportionment factors must also be adjusted to exclude
items related to the investment assets.

Any entity that qualifies for an alternative method of allocation
and apportionment for this type of income is required to
add back any loss included in federal taxable income that
is attributable to the acquisition, ownership, management,
stewardship, sale, or exchange of investment assets that
are unrelated to the taxpayer’s operational function. If the
entity previously claimed a subtraction for nonapportionable
investment function income with respect to any investment
assets, an addition is required for any subsequent losses
generated by such assets.

Burden of Proof: As a prerequisite to claiming an adjustment
on Lines 3b and 3d in Section C of Schedule 502A (which
effectively allocates income other than dividends) the entity
must be able to demonstrate that the application of Virginia
law to its particular facts will be unconstitutional. The burden
is on the entity to prove by clear and cogent evidence that
the capital investment was completely separate from its
operations, and that the taxpayer’s investment function was
located outside of Virginia. The entity must also demonstrate
that the classification of the capital asset and its income for
Virginia purposes is consistent with the manner in which
the income has been allocated and apportioned with other
state tax authorities. The entity will be under a particularly
heavy burden of proof in cases where the asset was clearly
operational at any time. Objective evidence is required; an
unsubstantiated statement as to the entity’s intent, purpose
or state of mind will be insufficient to meet the burden. An
entity claiming this exclusion for nonapportionable income
must enclose a statement with the return stating the nature
of the adjustment and the basis for the position that the relief
is in accordance with Allied-Signal. The entity must include
with the return all evidence necessary to support its position.
For additional information, see Virginia Tax Bulletin 93-4
(also designated Public Document (“PD”) 93-93B).

Other alternative methods of allocation or
apportionment: If any PTE believes that the method of
allocation or apportionment specified by the Department
will subject it or its owners to taxation on a greater portion
of the entity’s net income than is reasonably attributable to
business or sources within Virginia, it is entitled to file with
the Department a statement of its objections and of the
alternative method of allocation or apportionment that it
believes to be proper under the circumstances, with such
detail and proof and within such time as the Department may
reasonably prescribe. If the Department concludes that the
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method of allocation or apportionment employed is, in fact,
inapplicable or inequitable, it will redetermine the allocation
or apportionment by such other method as it deems best
calculated to assign to the state for taxation the portion of
the income reasonably attributable to business and sources
within the state, not exceeding, however, the amount which
would be arrived at by the application of the statutory rules
for allocation or apportionment.

The policy of the Department is that the statutory method
is the most equitable method of determining the portion of
income that is attributable to business activity in Virginia.
Permission to use an alternative method of allocation
or apportionment will be granted only in extraordinary
circumstances.

Line 4.

Enter the amount from Schedule 502A, Section C, Line 2.
Line 5.

Enter the amount from Schedule 502A, Section C, Line 3(e).
Line 6.

Enter the amount from Schedule 502A, Section C, Line 4. If
the PTE conducted its business entirely within Virginia and
no income was allocated or apportioned elsewhere, enter
the amount from Form 502, Line 1.

Line 7.

Enter the apportionment percentage from Schedule 502A,
Section B, Line 1 or Line 2(f). If the PTE conducted its
business entirely within Virginia and no income was allocated
or apportioned elsewhere, enter 100% on Line 7.

Virginia Modifications to Income (Additions and
Subtractions)

Virginia modifications (additions and subtractions) should
be allocated among owners in proportion to each owner’s
percentage of ownership or participation in the PTE, or
as provided in the partnership agreement or other entity
document. However, each owner may only claim the
modifications that are allowed on the owner’s Virginia
income tax return. Therefore, an individual owner reports
only modifications applicable to individual income tax and a
corporate owner reports only those modifications applicable
to Virginia corporate income tax.

Fixed Date Conformity Update for 2021

Virginia's fixed date of conformity with the Internal Revenue
Code (IRC) was advanced from December 31, 2019, to
December 31, 2020, subject to certain exceptions.

Virginia will continue to deconform from the following: bonus
depreciation allowed for certain assets under federal law;
the five-year carryback of certain federal net operating loss
(NOL) deductions generated in the 2008 or 2009 taxable
years; the federal income treatment of applicable high yield
discount obligations; and the federal income tax treatment
of cancellation of debt income realized in connection with
certain business debts.

Virginia Additions

Use the following line instructions for reporting Virginia
additions to income.

Line 8. Fixed Date Conformity Addition — Depreciation.
Enter the amount that should be added to federal taxable
income based upon the recomputation of allowable
depreciation. If depreciation was included in the computation
of your federal taxable income and one or more of the
depreciable assets received the special bonus depreciation
deduction for federal purposes in any taxable year from
2001 through 2021, then depreciation must be recomputed
for Virginia purposes as if such assets did not receive the
special bonus depreciation deduction for federal purposes in
any taxable year from 2001 through 2021. If the total 2021
Virginia depreciation is less than 2021 federal depreciation,
then the difference must be recognized as an addition. For
further instructions, see Virginia Tax Bulletins 10-8, 11-1,
12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1, 16-1, 17-1, 18-1, 19-1, 20-1, and
21-4, which are available on the Department’'s website at
www.tax.virginia.gov, or call (804) 367-8037.

Line 9. Fixed Date Conformity Addition — Other.

(1) Disposed Asset. If an asset was disposed in 2021 and
such asset received the special bonus depreciation
deduction for federal purposes in any taxable year from
2001 through 2021, and a gain or loss was recognized
for federal purposes, then the gain or loss must be
recomputed as if such asset did not receive the special
bonus depreciation deduction for federal purposes in any
taxable year from 2001 through 2021. The adjustment
will be the difference in the federal and Virginia basis
of the asset when sold. If the federal basis of the asset
is greater than the Virginia basis (resulting in a lower
gain reported for federal purposes), then the difference
between the bases is an addition on the Virginia return.
For further instructions, see Virginia Tax Bulletins 10-8,
11-1, 12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1, 16-1, 17-1, 18-1, 19-1,
20-1, and 21-4, which are available on the Department’s
website at www.tax.virginia.gov, or call (804) 367-
8037.

(2) Other Fixed Date Conformity Additions. If you
are required to make any other fixed date conformity
additions listed in the Fixed Date Conformity Update for
2021 above, enter the total amount of such additions.
Also, enclose a schedule and explanation of such
additions.

Line 10. Net Income Tax. Enter the amount of any net
income taxes and other taxes, including franchise and excise
taxes, which are based on, measured by, or computed
with reference to net income, imposed by this state or any
other taxing jurisdiction, to the extent they are deducted in
determining federal taxable income. Income tax of any sort
and by any name is not an allowable deduction in determining
Virginia taxable income. Note that this item may be related to
the income tax paid on Schedule 502ADJ, Section C, Part |,
Line 1, but is defined differently and is not necessarily the
same amount.
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Line 11. Interest on Obligations Other Than Virginia.
Enter interest income received, less related expenses to the
extent they are not deducted in determining federal taxable
income, on obligations of any state other than Virginia, or
of a political subdivision or agency of any such other state
unless it was created by compact or agreement to which
Virginia is a party.

Line 12. Total Additions From Schedule 502ADJ. First
complete Schedule 502ADJ, Section A. See the Schedule
502ADJ instructions on Page 15. Enter the total additions
from Schedule 502ADJ, Section A, Line 5.

Virginia Subtractions

Use the following line instructions for reporting Virginia
subtractions from income.

Subtractions should be allocated among owners in proportion
to each owner’s percentage of ownership or participation
in the PTE, or as provided in the partnership agreement
or other entity document. However, each owner may only
claim the subtractions allowed on the owner’s Virginia
income tax return. Therefore, an individual owner may
only claim subtractions applicable to individual income tax,
while a corporate owner may claim only those subtractions
applicable to Virginia corporate income tax.

Line 14. Fixed Date Conformity Subtraction—Depreciation.

Enter the amount that should be subtracted from federal
taxable income based upon the recomputation of allowable
depreciation. If depreciation was included in the computation
of your federal taxable income and one or more of the
depreciable assets received the special bonus depreciation
deduction for federal purposes in any taxable year from
2001 through 2021, then depreciation must be recomputed
for Virginia purposes as if such assets did not receive the
special bonus depreciation deduction for federal purposes in
any taxable year from 2001 through 2021. If the total 2021
Virginia depreciation is more than 2021 federal depreciation,
then the difference must be recognized as a subtraction.
For further instructions, see Virginia Tax Bulletins 10-8, 11-
1, 12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1, 16-1, 17-1, 18-1, 19-1, 20-1, and
21-4 which are available on the Department’'s website at
www.tax.virginia.gov, or call (804) 367-8037.

Line 15. Fixed Date Conformity Subtraction — Other.

(1) Disposed Asset. If an asset was disposed of in 2021
and such asset received the special bonus depreciation
deduction for federal purposes in any taxable year from
2001 through 2021, and a gain or loss was recognized
for federal purposes, then the gain or loss must be
recomputed as if such asset did not receive the special
bonus depreciation deduction for federal purposes in any
taxable year from 2001 through 2021. The adjustment
will be the difference in the federal and Virginia basis of
the asset when sold. If the federal basis of the asset is
lower than the Virginia basis (resulting in a greater gain
for federal purposes), then the difference between the
two bases is a subtraction on the Virginia return. For

further instructions, see Virginia Tax Bulletins 10-8, 11-1,
12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1, 16-1, 17-1, 18-1, 19-1,20-1, and
21-4, which are available on the Department’'s website
at www.tax.virginia.gov, or call (804) 367-8037.

(2) Other Fixed Date Conformity Subtractions. If you
are required to make any other fixed date conformity
subtractions listed in the Fixed Date Conformity
Update for 2021 above, enter the total amount of such
subtractions on this line. Also, enclose a schedule and
explanation of such subtractions.

Line 16. Interest on Obligations of the United States.
Enter the amount of income (interest, dividends and
gain) derived from obligations or the sale or exchange
of obligations of the United States, and on obligations or
securities of any authority, commission or instrumentality of
the United States to the extent they are included in federal
taxable income but exempt from state income taxes under
the laws of the United States. This includes, but is not limited
to, stocks, bonds, treasury bills, and treasury notes. It does
not include interest on refunds of federal taxes, equipment
purchase contracts or normal business transactions.

Line 17. Total Subtractions from Schedule 502ADJ. First
complete Schedule 502ADJ, Section B. See the Schedule
502ADJ instructions later in this book. Enter the total
subtractions from Schedule 502ADJ, Section B, Line 5.

Line 18. Total Subtractions. Add Lines 14 through 17.
Virginia Tax Credits

Line 19. Enter the total nonrefundable credits from Schedule
502ADJ, Section C, Part Il, Line 1.

Line 20. Enter the total refundable credits from Schedule
502ADJ, Section C, Part IV, Line 1.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 2 OF FORM 502

Section 1 — Withholding Payment Reconciliation

Line 1. Total withholding tax due for nonresident
owners. Enter the total tax required to be withheld on behalf
of the nonresident owners. The total withholding tax due is
generally 5% of each nonresident owner’s share of income
from Virginia sources (including additions and subtractions).
The amount of withholding tax may be reduced by any tax
credits that were earned by the PTE that pass through to
nonresident owners provided the credits are applicable to
the owners’ income tax return. Reminder: the PTE is not
required to pay the withholding tax on behalf of the individual
nonresident owners for whom it files Form 765 and should
not withhold for those owners.

Line 2. Total withholding tax paid. Enter the amount of
withholding tax paid by the PTE that is named on Form 502
and submitted directly to the Department prior to the return
filing. Do not enter any amount that was withheld by another
PTE in which this PTE is a nonresident owner and was
issued a Schedule VK-1 reflecting an amount that was
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withheld by the other PTE. Only amounts paid directly to the
Department by the PTE filing Form 502 should be recorded
on Line 2. If another PTE has withheld erroneously on the
PTE filing Form 502, then the PTE should contact the other
PTE and request reimbursement of the amount withheld in
error.

Line 3. Overpayment. If Line 2 is greater than Line 1, enter
the difference here.

Line 4. Balance of withholding tax due. If Line 2 is less
than Line 1, enter the difference here.

Section 2 — Penalty and Interest Charges on
Withholding Tax

Line 5. Extension penalty. The extension penalty may apply
if the balance due on Line 4 is more than 10% of Line 1.
Virginia law provides for an automatic extension of time for
filing Form 502 for a period of 6 months after the original
due date, or 30 days after the extended federal due date,
whichever is later. Note: The automatic extension for filing
federal partnership and estate and trust returns has been
reduced to 5 months. This extension does not apply to the
payment of the income tax withheld on behalf of the entity’s
nonresident owners. If the entity does not pay at least 90%
of the required withholding tax by the original due date for
filing Form 502 (or 100% of the previous year’s liability),
provided that the return for the previous year covered a
12-month period and reflected a tax liability, an extension
penalty will apply to the balance of tax due after subtracting
the payments on Line 2 from the tax liability on Line 1. The
penalty is assessed at the rate of 2% per month or part of a
month from the original due date for filing Form 502 through
the date that the Form 502 is filed. The maximum extension
penalty is 12%. The extension penalty applies only if the
Form 502 is filed within the extension period.

Extension Penalty Worksheet

A. Tax due after timely payments as
reportedon Line 2.......cccceeeeenn.

B. Date the Form 502 was filed........

Number of months from the due
date through the date filed (count
in 30-day increments and round

up to the next full month). ...........

D. Extension penalty percentage.
Multiply Line C by 2% (.02). .
Do not exceed 12%......cccuceeee...... %0

E. Extension penalty.
Multiply Line Aby Line D.............

Line 6. Late payment penalty on withholding tax due.
The late filing penalty will apply if there is a balance due
on Line 4 and Form 502 is being filed more than 6 months
after the original due date or more than 30 days after the
federal extended due date (federal extension of 5 months),
whichever is later. If Form 502 is being filed after the specified

dates, compute a late filing penalty of 30% of the tax due on
Line 4. The extension penalty does not apply in cases where
the return is subject to the late filing penalty.

Line 7. Interest. Interest may apply if there is a balance due
onLine 4. IfLine 4 reflects a balance of tax due and Form 502
is being filed after the original due date, interest must also
be accrued on the balance of tax due. Interest is accrued
at the underpayment rate established by IRC § 6621, plus
2%, from the due date of the return through the date the
tax is paid. For current interest rates, visit the Department’s
website at www.tax.virginia.gov.

Line 8. Total penalty and interest due. Add Line 5, or
Line 6, (whichever applies) to Line 7.

Section 3 — Penalty for Late Filing of Form 502

Line 9. Penalty for Late Filing of Form 502. If Form 502 is
being filed more than 6 months after the original due date,
or more than 30 days after the federal extended due date,
enter $1,200.

Section 4 — Withholding Overpayment

Any overpayment reported on Line 3 of Section 1 must be
offset against any penalty and interest charges computed in
Sections 2 and 3.

Line 10. Net overpayment.

» IfLine 8 or Line 9 exceeds Line 3, go to Line 13 below
to compute the total payment due.

* Compare Line 6 and Line 9. If Line 6 is greater than
Line 9, subtract Line 8 from Line 3.

» If Line 9 is greater than Line 6, subtract the sum of
Line 7 and Line 9 from Line 3.

» Otherwise, enter overpayment from Line 3.

Line 11. Amount of withholding overpayment to be
credited to 2022. Enter the amount of the net overpayment
from Line 10 that you want to apply as credit to income tax
withheld for nonresident owners for Taxable Year 2022.

Line 12. Amount of withholding overpayment to be
refunded. Enter the amount of the net overpayment from
Line 10 to be refunded to the entity. Subtract Line 11 from
Line 10. The total of Lines 11 and 12 cannot exceed the
amount on Line 10.

Section 5 — Tax, Penalty, and Interest Due

Line 13. Balance of tax due plus extension penalty, if
applicable. If there is an amount due on Line 4, enter the
amount from Line 4, plus the extension penalty on Line 5, if
applicable. If there is an overpayment on Line 3 and Line 8
or Line 9 is greater than Line 3, enter Line 5 minus Line 3.

Line 14. Interest charges on withholding tax. Enter the
amount of interest due from Line 7.

Line 15. Late filing penalty. Enter the greater of Line 6 or
Line 9.

Line 16. Total payment due. Add Line 13, Line 14, and Line
15.
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Section 6 — Amount Due or Refund

Line 17. Motion Picture Production Tax Credit to be
refunded directly to PTE. If the PTE elects to have this
credit refunded at the entity level, enter the amount of
credit authorized by the Virginia Film Office within the
Virginia Tourism Authority in their certification letter. For
more information about this credit, see Motion Picture
Production Tax Credit in the Schedule 500CR instructions
or contact: Virginia Film Office within the Virginia
Tourism Authority, 901 E. Cary St. Suite 900, Richmond,
VA 23219, or call (804) 545-5530.

Line 18. Research and Development Expenses Tax
Credit to be refunded directly to PTE. If the PTE elects to
claim this credit at the entity level, enter the amount of credit
available.

Line 19. Total Amount of Tax Credit Refund. Add Line 17
and Line 18.

Line 20. Amount Due. If there is an amount due on Line 16
and the amount exceeds the amount on Line 19, subtract
Line 19 from Line 16.

Line 21. Amount of Refund. If there is an amount due on
Line 16 and the amount is less than the amount on Line
19, subtract Line 16 from Line 19. If there is an amount on
Line 12, add Line 12 and Line 19.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE 502ADJ

Sections A and B - Virginia Modifications

To report Virginia modifications (additions and subtractions)
enter the 2-digit code and amount for the type of modification
in Sections A and B below. Use Section A to report additions
and Section B to report subtractions from the list of codes
below.

Section A — Addition Codes

Use the codes below to report amounts for Virginia Additions
in Section A. If you have more than 4 additions to report
in Section A, Lines 1-4, use the supplemental Schedule
502ADJS to provide information for additions in excess of
4. Include the total of additions from the Schedule 502ADJS
in the total additions reported on Schedule 502ADJ, Line 5.

Addition Codes for Use on Schedule 502ADJ

Code | Description

10 | Interest on federally exempt U.S. obligations —
Enter the amount of interest or dividends that are
exempt from federal income tax, but taxable in
Virginia, less related expenses. (Va. Code §§ 58.1-
322.01 1; 58.1-402 B.2.)

13 | Deduction for bad debts — The deduction for bad
debts allowed in computing federal taxable income

for a state or federal savings and loan association.
(Va. Code § 58.1-403 1.)

14 | Unrelated business taxable income — The amount
of unrelated business taxable income as defined by
IRC § 512. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 B.5.)

Addition Codes for Use on Schedule 502ADJ

Code | Description

15 | Royalty addback for intangible expenses — See
the instructions for Schedule 500AB for additional
information. Enclose Schedule 500AB with Form
502. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 B.8.a.)

16 | Interest addback for intangible expenses — See
the instructions for Schedule 500AB for additional
information. Enclose Schedule 500AB with Form
502. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 B.9.a.)

18 |Income from Dealer Disposition of Property —
Enter the amount that would be reported under
the installment method from certain dispositions
of property. If, in a prior year, the taxpayer was
allowed a subtraction for certain income from
dealer dispositions of property made on or after
January 1, 2009, in the years following the year of
disposition, the taxpayer is required to add back
the amount that would have been reported under
the installment method. Each disposition must be
tracked separately for purposes of this adjustment.
(Va. Code § 58.1-402 F.)

21 | Food Crop Donation Tax Credit — To the extent
a credit is allowed for growing food crops in the
Commonwealth and donating such crops to a
nonprofit food bank, an addition is required for
any amount claimed by the taxpayer as a federal
income tax deduction for such donation.

22 | Addition Related to the Business Interest
Deduction — For taxable years beginning on and
after January 1, 2018, an income tax deduction is
allowed in an amount equal to 20% of the business
interest that is disallowed for federal income tax
purposes. If (i) you claimed a Virginia Business
Interest Deduction on prior year Virginia return(s)
and (ii) you are able to fully utilize your federal
carryover of business interest from those prior
year(s) on your current year federal return, you
must report an addition on your current year Virginia
return equal to the amount of the Virginia Business
Interest Deduction claimed on the prior year Virginia
return(s). However, if you are able to only partially
utilize your federal carryover of business interest
from the prior year(s) on your current year federal
return, the Business Interest Addition will be applied
in the same proportion as the amount of federal
carryover that is utilized. If reporting this addition,
enclose a copy of federal Form 8990.
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Addition Codes for Use on Schedule 502ADJ

Subtraction Codes for Use on Schedule 502ADJ

Schedule ADJ. See the worksheet in the individual
income tax instruction booklet.

Section B — Subtraction Codes

Code | Description Code | Description

23 | Partnership-Level Federal Adjustments Income 13 | Any amountincluded in federal taxable income that
Addition — Income related to certain partnership is foreign source income and defined as follows:
adjustments that result from federal _tax changes 1) Interest other than interest derived from
and other changes to federal taxa_ble income must sources within the United States:
be added to the income tax return if the income was
not previously reported on the Virginia return. The 2) Dividends other than dividends derived from
amount of the addition is equal to the income that sources within the United States;
was not included in Virginia taxable income on the 3) Rents, royalties, license, and technical fees
original Virginia income tax return. When reporting from property located or services performed
this addition, enclose the partnership’s completed without the United States or from any interest in
Form 502FED-1. such property including rents, royalties, or fees

99 | Other (Enclose Explanation) — Enter the amount for the use of or the privilege of using without
of any other income not included in federal taxable the United States any patents, copyrights,
income which is taxable in Virginia. If you are filing secret processes and formulas, goodwill,
electronically, provide a detailed explanation in the trademarks, trade brands, franchises, and
space provided by the software program. If you other like properties; and
are filing by paper, enclose an explanation and 4) Gains, profits, or other income from the sale of
supporting documentation, if applicable. intangible or real property located without the
This must include the amount of losses or United States.
deductions of an S corporation that is subject In determining the source of income for purposes
to the bank franchise tax, or the amount of any of items 1 through 4 above, the provisions of
distributions from such an S corporation. This IRC §§ 861, 862, and 863 will be applied. (Va.
addition will be claimed as a negative deduction Code § 58.1-402 C.8.)
(Code 112) on Line 8a of the shareholder's 14 | The amount of any dividends received from

corporations in which the taxpaying corporation
owns 50% more of the voting stock, to the extent
included in federal taxable income and to the extent
not otherwise subtracted from federal taxable
income. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.10.)

Use the following codes to report amounts for Virginia 16
Subtractions in Section B. If you have more than 4
subtractions to report in Section B, Lines 1-4, use the
supplemental Schedule 502ADJS to provide information for

The amount that could have been deducted by a
gas supplier, pipeline distribution company, or gas
utility company, as a net operating loss carryover
or net capital loss in arriving at taxable income

additions in excess of 4.

Subtraction Codes for Use on Schedule 502ADJ

except that such loss or portion thereof had been
carried back for federal purposes to a taxable year
before it became subject to Virginia income tax.
To the extent that the recomputed loss is carried

Code | Description back more than 2 years, it may be subject to the

10 | Any amounts included under the provisions of IRC modification for deconformity. (Va. Code § 58.1-
§ 78. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.5.) 4039.)

11 | The amount of any refund or credit for overpayment 17 | A gas supplier, pipeline distribution company, gas
of income taxes imposed by this state or any other utility company, or electric supplier (except an
taxing jurisdiction. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.4.) electric cooperative) that was subject to the state

12 | Any amount included therein by the operation of license tax on gross receipts in 2000, and became
IRC § 951 (subpart F income) and/or, for taxable subject to Virginia income tax in 2001, may
years beginning on and after January 1, 2018, IRC amortize its Virginia tax basis using the straight-
§ 951A (Global Intangible Low-Taxed Income). (Va. line method over a period of 30 years, beginning
Code § 58.1-402 C.7.) on the adjustment date. The Virginia tax basis is

the aggregate adjusted book basis less aggregate
adjusted tax basis of assets placed in service prior
to the first day of the taxable year that the company
became subject to Virginia income tax. (Va. Code
§ 58.1-440.1.)
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Subtraction Codes for Use on Schedule 502ADJ

Code

Description

Subtraction Codes for Use on Schedule 502ADJ

Code

Description

20

The amount of income derived from Virginia
obligations or the sale or exchange of Virginia
obligations that are included in federal adjusted
gross income. (Va. Code §§ 58.1-322.02 2; 58.1-
402 C.2))

21

The amount of wages and salaries eligible for the
Federal Work Opportunity Tax Credit that are not
deducted for federal tax purposes. (Va. Code §§
58.1-322.02 6; 58.1-402 C.6.)

22

The amount of intangible expenses and costs or
interest expenses and costs added to the federal
taxable income of a corporation must be subtracted
from the federal taxable income of the related
member if the related member is subject to Virginia
income tax on the same amount. See the Form
500 instructions for additional information. Enclose
Schedule 500AB with Form 502 (Va. Code § 58.1-
402 C.21.)

43

The amount contributed to the Virginia Public
School Construction Grants Program and Fund
that has not been claimed as a deduction on the
taxpayer’s federal income tax return. (Va. Code
8§ 58.1-322.03 8; 58.1-402 C.15.) Note: This
deduction will be claimed as a deduction (Code
107) on the owner’s individual income tax return.

49

Income from Dealer Disposition of Property —
An adjustment is allowed for certain income from
dealer dispositions of property made on or after
January 1, 2009. In the year of disposition the
adjustment will be a subtraction for gain attributable
to installment payments that are to be made in
future taxable years provided that (i) the gain arises
from an installment sale for which federal law does
not permit the dealer to elect installment reporting
of income, and (ii) the dealer elects installment
treatment of the income for Virginia purposes on
or before the due date prescribed by law for filing
the taxpayer’s income tax return. In subsequent
taxable years, the adjustment will be an addition
for gain attributable to any payments made during
the taxable year with respect to the disposition.
Each disposition must be tracked separately for
purposes of this adjustment. (Va. Code §§ 58.1-
322.04 4; 58.1-402 F.)

48

The amount of payments received in the preceding
year in accordance with the Tobacco Quota Buyout
Program of the American Jobs Creation Act of
2004 to the extent they are included in federal
taxable income. For example, on the 2021 return
the taxpayer may subtract the portion of payments
received in 2020 that is included in the taxpayer’s
2020 federal taxable income; while payments
received in 2021 may generate a subtraction on
the 2022 Virginia return. If the taxpayer chooses
to accept payment in installments, the gain from
the installment received in the preceding year may
be subtracted. If, however, the taxpayer opted
to receive a single payment, 10% of the gain
recognized for federal purposes in the year that
the payment was received may be subtracted in
the following year and in each of the 9 succeeding
taxable years. (Va. Code §§ 58.1-322.03 11;
58.1-402 D.) Note: This deduction will be claimed
as a deduction (Code 108) on the owner’s individual
income tax return.

50

Gains from Land Preservation - Enter the
amount of federal gain or income recognized as a
result of the sale of Land Preservation Tax Credits.
A subtraction is allowed for any gain or income
recognized by a taxpayer on the application of
Land Preservation Tax Credits against Virginia
income tax liability to the extent the gain is included
in and not otherwise subtracted from federal
taxable income. The transfer of the credit and its
application against a tax liability must not create
gain or loss for the transferor or the transferee.

51

Certain Long-Term Capital Gain — Provided
the long-term capital gain or investment
services partnership income is attributable to an
investment in a “qualified business” as defined in
Va. Code § 58.1-339.4 or any other technology
business approved by the Secretary of Technology
or the Secretary of Commerce and Trade, it may
be allowed as a subtraction. The business must
have its principal facility in Virginia and less than
$3 million in annual revenues for the fiscal year
preceding the investment. The investment must
be made between the dates of April 1, 2010, and
June 30, 2020. Taxpayers claiming the Qualified
Equity and Subordinated Debt Investments
Credit, the subtraction for income attributable to a
Virginia venture capital account, or the subtraction
for income attributable to a Virginia real estate
investment trust cannot claim this subtraction
relating to investments in the same business.
In addition, no investment is “qualified” for this
subtraction if the business performs research in
Virginia on human embryonic stem cells.
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Subtraction Codes for Use on Schedule 502ADJ

Subtraction Codes for Use on Schedule 502ADJ

investment trust in which they invest must be
certified by the Department as a Virginia real estate

Code | Description Code | Description

52 | Gain from Historic Rehabilitation — To the extent 56 | Business Interest Deduction — For taxable years
that it is included in federal taxable income, any beginning on and after January 1, 2018, Virginia will
amount of gain or income recognized by a taxpayer conform to the federal business interest limitation
in connection with the Historic Rehabilitation Tax pursuant to § 163(j) of the Internal Revenue Code.
Credit is allowed as a subtraction on the Virginia Virginia will allow individuals and corporations
return. to claim a deduction of 20% of business interest

53 | Venture Capital Account Investment — Taxpayers disallowed. If claiming this deduction, enclose a
may claim a subtraction for income attributable to copy of federal Form 8990. Note: This subtraction
an investment in a Virginia venture capital account will be claimed as a deduction (Code 116) on the
made on or after January 1, 2018, but before owner’s individual income tax return.
December 31, 2023. For the purposes of this 57 | Gain from Eminent Domain — For taxable years
subtraction, income includes, but is not limited to beginning on or after January 1, 2019, taxpayers
investment services partnership interest income, may claim a subtraction for any gain recognized
otherwise known as investment partnership carried from the taking of real property by condemnation
interest income. No subtraction will be allowed proceedings.
for an investment in a company that is owned 58 | Partnership-Level Federal Adjustments Income
or operated by a family member or an affiliate of Subtraction— Income related to certain partnership
the taxpayer. No subtraction will be allowed for adjustments that result from federal tax changes
a taxpayer that has claimed the Qualified Equity and other changes to federal taxable income may
and Subordinated Debt Investment Tax Credit, be subtracted from Virginia taxable income if the
a subtraction real estate investment trust for the income was previously reported on the Virginia
same investment, or a subtraction for certain long- return but should not have been reported. The
term capital gains for the same investment. amount of the subtraction is equal to the federal
In order for the subtraction to be claimed on the taxable income that was included in the Virginia
investors’ income tax returns, the fund in which original income tax return. When claiming this
they invest must be certified by the Department as subtraction, include a copy of the partnership’s
a Virginia venture capital account for the taxable Form 502FED-1.
year during which the investment was made. If the 99 | Other — Enter the amount of any other subtraction
fund is approved, a 9-digit certification number will not included in federal taxable income, which is not
be provided. Enter this number in the “Certification taxable in Virginia. If you are filing electronically,
Number” space provided by the subtraction code provide a detailed explanation in the space

54 |Virginia Real Estate Investment Trust — For provided by the software program. If you are filing
taxable years beginning on and after January 1, by paper, enclose an explanation and supporting
2019, taxpayers may claim a subtraction for income documentation, if applicable.
attributable to an investment in a Virginia real estate This must include the amount of income or gain of
investment trust made on or after January 1, 2019, an S corporation that is subject to Bank Franchise
but before December 31, 2024. Tax. This deduction (Code 112) will be claimed
In order for the subtraction to be claimed on the on the shareholder’s income tax return. See the
investors’ income tax returns, the real estate worksheet in the individual income tax instructions.

Section C - Virginia Tax Credits

investment trust for the taxable year during which
the investment was made. If the fund is approved,
a 9-digit certification number will be provided. Enter
this number in the “Certification Number” space
provided by the subtraction code.

Tax credits based on a PTE’s activities are passed through
to the owners, generally in proportion to each owner’s
percentage of ownership or participation in the entity
(although the legislation for a particular credit may allow for
other allocation). When the credit is subject to a limitation,
the limitation applies to the total credit of the PTE (the
aggregate of the owners’ shares), not to each owner’s share
separately.

No subtraction is allowed to an individual taxpayer:
for an investment in a company that is owned
or operated by a family member or affiliate of
the taxpayer; who claimed the subtraction for
certain long-term capital gains or Venture Capital
Investments for the same investment; or who
claimed the Qualified Equity and Subordinated Debt

Pass-through entities do notuse or compute creditcarryovers.
A PTE passes through to each owner the owner’s share of
each credit earned by the PTE for that year. Each owner
must then determine the manner in which, with respect to
Investments Tax Credit for the same investment. For | its own circumstances, the credits can be used (including
more information, see the Form REIT instructions. carryovers).
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For most credits, specific documentation must be
enclosed with the return of the PTE and the return of the
owner. See the instructions for Schedule CR, instructions
for Schedule 500CR, or visit the Department's website,
www.tax.virginia.gov, for more information about each
credit and its required documentation. Without proper
documentation, the credit will not be allowed.

Many credits may not be reported on your return and allocated
to owners until after you have submitted an application and
have been notified in writing that the credit is allowed. If your
return is due and you have not yet been notified, you have
the option to either:

« Pay at least 90% of your withholding tax liability by the
return due date and file your return on extension after
receiving such notification, or

» File your return by the due date without reporting and
without allocating the credit, and file an amended
return after you have received such notification

For information on specific credits, see either the
Schedule CR instructions (individuals) or the Schedule
500CR Instructions (corporations).

Exception: There are currently 2 refundable credits that the
PTE may elect to have refunded at the entity level. They are
the Motion Picture Production Tax Credits and the Research
and Development Expenses Tax Credit. If the PTE makes
this election, the full amount of the credit(s) will be refunded
to the PTE reduced by any outstanding tax assessments.

State Income Tax Paid: Many states follow the federal tax
treatment of pass-through entities and apply income tax to
the entity’s income only at the owner level. Some states,
however, may not recognize the federal S corporation
election or may otherwise impose an income tax directly on
a PTE. If the PTE properly paid a direct state income tax,
owners who are individuals may qualify to claim the “credit
for tax paid to another state” on their Virginia individual
income tax returns, based on their proportional shares of the
tax paid by the PTE.

The credit for tax paid to another state is based only on
an income tax on earned or business income, or gain on
the sale of an asset. Other taxes do not qualify, including
any franchise, license, excise, unincorporated business or
occupation tax, or any tax characterized as such by the
taxing jurisdiction, even if the tax is based on earned or
business income. A tax that would be illegal or unauthorized
in the taxing jurisdiction if it were characterized as an income
tax or a commuter tax does not qualify.

If the PTE paid a direct state income tax for which an
individual owner could claim the credit for tax paid to another
state based on his or her proportional share, enter the total
amount of tax paid by the entity, and a schedule identifying
each taxing jurisdiction with a description of the tax and the
amount paid.

Do notinclude any taxes paid by the entity that reflect another
state’s income tax withholding requirement on behalf of
specific owners, or that were paid in connection with another
state’s equivalent to Form 765 on behalf of specific owners.

These amounts may be shown with appropriate descriptions
on the Schedule VK-1 of each specific owner that is affected,
but should not be included in the amount on Section C,
Part I, Line 1, of Form 502ADJ, which will be distributed to
all owners based on each owner’s participation percentage.

Credit Allocation

The following credits must be allocated among owners in
proportion to each owner’s percentage of ownership or
participation in the PTE:

» State Income Tax Paid (See above)
* Neighborhood Assistance Act Tax Credit
» Biodiesel and Green Diesel Fuels Tax Credit

* Recyclable Materials Processing Equipment Tax
Credit

* Major Business Facility Job Tax Credit
» Agricultural Best Management Practices Tax Credit
»  Waste Motor Oil Burning Equipment Tax Credit

» Riparian Forest Buffer Protection for Waterways Tax
Credit

»  Communities of Opportunity Tax Credit

* Green Jobs Creation Tax Credit

*  Farm Wineries and Vineyards Tax Credit
» International Trade Facility Tax Credit

* Port Volume Increase Tax Credit

» Barge and Rail Usage Tax Credit

* Livable Home Tax Credit

» Education Improvement Scholarships Tax Credit
* Food Crop Donation Tax Credit

*  Worker Training Tax Credit

* Motion Picture Production Tax Credit

» Conservation Tillage and Precision Agriculture
Equipment Tax Credit

These credits may be allocated among owners in proportion
to each owner’s percentage of ownership or participation in
the PTE, or as the owners may mutually agree, or as provided
in the partnership agreement or other entity document.

* Vehicle Emissions Testing Equipment Tax Credit
* Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit
e Land Preservation Tax Credit

* Qualified Equity and Subordinated Debt Investments
Tax Credit

* Virginia Coal Employment and Production Incentive
Tax Credit

* Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit

* Major Research and Development Expenses Tax
Credit

» Virginia Housing Opportunity Tax Credit
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Form PTE - Virginia Pass-Through Credit Allocation

Form PTE must be filed with the Tax Credit Unit to allocate
certain tax credits to owners before they can be claimed by
the owners on their Virginia Income Tax Returns. See Form
PTE for a list of those credit types. Form PTE must be filed
with the Tax Credit Unit by the pass-through entity within
30 days of certification of the credit but at least 90 days prior
to the participants filing their income tax returns.

For more information, write to: Virginia Department of
Taxation, Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA
23218-0715, or call (804) 786-2992.

Part Il — Total Nonrefundable Credits. Add Part |, Lines
1-8 and 11-27.

Part lll - Refundable Credits. These credits provide for
refunds of amounts that exceed the tax due.

» Agricultural Best Management Practices Tax Credit

» Conservation Tillage and Precision Agriculture
Equipment Tax Credit

* Coalfield Employment Enhancement Tax Credit
* Motion Picture Production Tax Credit
* Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit

Part IV — Total Refundable Credits. Add Part Ill, Lines 1,
5,and 7-9

All pass-through entities distributing credits to owner(s),
shareholders, partners, or members must give each a
Schedule VK-1, Owner’s Share of Income and Virginia
Modifications and Credits. Also, a Schedule VK-1
Consolidated must be included with the return. If the
Schedule VK-1 Consolidated is completed, do not enclose
each owner's Schedule VK-1.

Section D — Amended Return

If the PTE is filing an amended return, complete Form 502
using the corrected figures, as if it were the original return.
Do not make any adjustments to the amended return to
show that the PTE received a refund or paid a balance due
as the result of the original return. Then complete Schedule
502ADJ, Section D, Lines 1-6 to determine if the PTE is
due a refund or any additional tax is due with the amended
return. When completing Line 1, enter tax paid prior to filing
the return, tax paid with the return, and additional tax paid
after the return was filed.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR VIRGINIA SCHEDULE
VK-1 AND SCHEDULE VK-1 CONSOLIDATED

General Instructions

Schedule VK-1 or Schedule VK-1 Consolidated and
Schedule SVK-1 (if applicable) is prepared by the PTE to
show each owner’s distributive or pro rata share of the entity’s
income, Virginia modifications and Virginia credits, and other
information necessary for an owner to be able to include the
effect of participation in the entity in the owner’s income tax
return. Schedule VK-1 does not replace federal Schedule
K-1; it is a supplement to the federal schedule for those state
tax issues that require additional information. The PTE will

prepare a Schedule VK-1 and SVK-1 (if applicable) for each
owner; a copy should be given to each owner, and a copy
should be included with the entity’s Form 502 submission
to the Department. Use the Web Upload application on the
Department’s website, www.tax.virginia.gov, to submit
Schedules VK-1 and SVK-1 electronically.

Schedule VK-1 Consolidated

Use this template only if the PTE has been granted a
waiver from the electronic filing mandate. Schedule VK-1
Consolidated allows taxpayers to report multiple owners
on one Excel summary sheet. The PTE will continue to
send a copy of the Schedule VK-1 to each owner for filing
purposes, but will not need to send a copy of each owner’s
Schedule VK-1 to the Department. In its place, a summary
of each owner’s share will be reported on the Schedule VK-1
Consolidated and sent to the Department for processing.
Use the Form 502 instructions with the Schedule VK-1
Consolidated form layout for field computations, additions,
subtractions, tax tables, and mailing addresses. To avoid
the disclosure of confidential taxpayer information, the PTE
must not send the summary to its owners.

If filing by paper, PTEs reporting 10 or more owners must use
the Schedule VK-1 Consolidated to report the owner’s share
of income, modifications, allocations, and the total additions,
subtractions, and credits reported on the Schedule VK-1.

A Schedule VK-1 Consolidated template is available for
download from the Corporation and Pass-Through Entity
Forms section of the Department’s website. Users may
create their own forms using the form layout; however,
they must adhere to the form layout requirements and
specifications in the Schedule VK-1 Consolidated Summary
to ensure accurate processing of the Schedule VK-1
Consolidated. The Schedule VK-1 Consolidated Summary is
available on the Department’s website at www.tax.virginia.
gov. The Summary’s Appendix contains detailed steps for
using Excel, including screen shots.

Additional Owner Information

Line a: Date Owner Acquired Interest in the PTE. Enter in
MM/DD/YYYY format.

Line b: Owner’s Entity Type. Enter the code that
corresponds to the owner’s entity type:

Entity Type Code
Individual who was a Virginia resident RES
Individual who was not a Virginia resident NON
General Partnership PG
Limited Partnership PL
Limited Liability Company LL
Limited Liability Partnership LP
S Corporation SC
C Corporation CcC
Trust or Estate TE
Nonprofit Organization NZ
Other OB
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Line c: Owner’s Participation Type. Enter the code
that corresponds to the owner’s type of membership or
participation in the PTE:

Participant Type Code
General Partner GPT
Limited Partner LPT
LLC /LLP Member LLM
S Corporation Shareholder SHR
Other OTR

Line d: Owner’s Participation Percentage. For an
S corporation shareholder, enter the owner’s percentage
of stock ownership for the taxable year, as shown on the
owner’s federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1120-S), Line G. For
a partner or other recipient of federal Schedule K-1 (Form
1065), enter the ending percentage for the partner’s profit
share as shown on the Schedule K-1, under Line J.

For a partner in an electing large partnership, the federal
Schedule K-1 (Form 1065-B) does not indicate a participation
percentage, but the partnership must determine such a
percentage in order to distribute Virginia modifications
and credits among the owners. The percentage should be
determined in a manner substantially similar to the profit
sharing percentage at the end of the year provided for a
regular partnership, unless there is compelling reason to use
another method.

The participation percentages as shown on Schedules VK-1
for all owners of the PTE should equal 100%.

The participation percentage should be entered as a percent
with 2 decimal places. For instance, the participation
percentage for an S corporation shareholder who holds
one-third ownership is entered as “33.33%.”

Line e: Amount Withheld by PTE for Owner. Enter the
amount withheld by the PTE for the nonresident owner.

Line f: Withholding Exemption. If the entity does not have
to pay the withholding tax or if it is not required to include the
income of an owner in its withholding tax calculations, enter
the exemption code in the space provided.

Withholding Exemption Reason Code
Exempt from federal or Virginia income tax

L 01
(individuals)

Entities other than individuals and

corporations that are exempt from federal | 02
income taxes

Line Instructions

These items on Schedule VK-1 correspond to related items
with the same line numbers on Lines 1-11 of Form 502 and
to certain lines of Sections A, B, and C of Schedule 502ADJ.
In general, Form 502 and Schedule 502ADJ show the
PTE’s total amount for the item, while each Schedule VK-1
shows one owner’s share of the item. The owner’s share of
an item is usually determined by the owner’s participation
percentage (see above), but some partnership agreements
may provide for special allocations. The entries on each
line of the Schedules VK-1 for all owners of the PTE should
equal the corresponding entry on Form 502 and Schedule
502ADJ, except for Line 7. The entry on Line 7 will be the
same for all owners of the entity and the same as Line 7 of
Form 502 (the PTE’s Virginia apportionment percentage).

Additions, subtractions, and credits should be allocated
among owners in proportion to each owner’s percentage of
ownership or participation in the PTE, or as provided in the
partnership agreement or other entity document. However,
each owner may only claim the additions, subtractions, or
credits allowed on the owner’s Virginia income tax return.
Therefore, an individual owner may only claim additions,
subtractions or credits applicable to individual income tax,
while a corporate owner may claim only those additions,
subtractions, or credits applicable to the Virginia corporate
income tax.

The Virginia Public School Construction Grants Program,
Fund (Code 43), the Tobacco Quota Buyout Program (Code
48), and the business interest (Code 56) deductions must
be claimed as deductions on the shareholder’s individual
income tax return. The deduction for an S corporation subject
to bank franchise tax is reported as an “other” addition or
subtraction on Schedule VK-1 and as a positive or negative
deduction on the owner’s individual income tax return. The
addition related to the business interest deduction (Code 22)
is reported as negative deduction on the owner’s individual
income tax return.

Report the following on the VK-1 Consolidated:
» Page 1, Lines a-f.
* Page 1, Lines 1-7.

» Page 1, total additions and subtractions from Lines 13
and 18.

» Page 2, total nonrefundable credits from Part IV,
Line 1.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE 502A

Individual owner is included in a composite

03
return
PTE is a publicly traded partnership 04
Corporations exempt from Virginia income 05

tax; or noncaptive REITs
Undue hardship (PTE) 06

PTE’s income is from rents with 4 or fewer
dwelling units

07

General Information

A PTE must determine the extent to which its income is from
Virginia sources. This determination is made in the same
manner as provided by law for corporations (Va. Code §§
58.1-405 through 58.1-421), with such accommodation as
may be necessary considering the differences between
regular taxpaying corporations and pass-through entities.
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When All Income Is from Virginia Sources

If a PTE conducts its entire business within Virginia,
then all of its income is Virginia source income. A PTE is
presumed to be doing business entirely within Virginia
unless it is subject to (or would be subject to if it were a
regular taxpaying corporation) one of the following taxes in
another state: 1) a tax imposed on net income; 2) a franchise
or other tax measured by net income; or 3) a franchise tax
for the privilege of doing business. An entity is “subject to”
such a tax if it carries on sufficient activity within a state
that the state has jurisdiction to impose the tax, whether or
not the state actually imposes the tax. The activities must
be considered in the light of Public Law (“P.L.”) 86-272 (15
U.S.C. §§ 381-384). If federal law would prohibit the state
from imposing the tax because the entity’s activities in the
state were not of a certain type or did not exceed a certain
threshold, then the state does not have jurisdiction, and
the entity is not subject to the state’s tax for purposes of
allowing the entity to allocate and apportion income away
from Virginia. In addition, an entity is not subject to a tax in a
state if it voluntarily pays the tax but is not required to do so
by the laws of that state, or if it pays a fee for qualification,
organization, or the privilege of doing business in the state
but either: 1) does not actually engage in business in the
state; or 2) engages in some business in the state, not
sufficient for nexus, and the tax or fee bears no relation to
the entity’s activities in the state.

When Income Is from Virginia and Other States

If a PTE’s income is not all Virginia source income, as
defined above, and the entity conducts its business in
Virginia and in one or more other states, then the portion
of total income that is Virginia source income is determined
through allocation and apportionment. Allocation is the
assignment of income, or a piece of income, wholly to one
state or another. Apportionment is the division of income
among states according to the ratio of activities in one place
to activities everywhere.

Who Must Use Schedule 502A

Schedule 502A is used to show the amount of allocated
income and to determine the apportionment percentage.

If the PTE’s income is all from Virginia, then the entity does
not allocate and apportion income; the Virginia apportionment
percentage is 100%, and Schedule 502A is not required. In
all other cases, the PTE must prepare a Schedule 502A and
enclose it with Form 502. The owners may also need a copy
of Schedule 502A from the PTE in order to prepare their own
returns properly (see the next section).

Effect of Schedule 502A on Owners of the PTE

A PTE does not calculate a net taxable income amount for
each owner. Rather, it determines each owner’s distributive
share of various types of income, gains, losses, deductions,
and credits. Each owner then uses that information as
applicable, plus the PTE’s allocation and apportionment
information from Schedule 502A, in determining its Virginia
taxable income. How each owner uses the PTE’s information
will vary, however, depending on the owner’s entity type.

Allocable and Apportionable Income

Virginia law provides that dividends received are to be
allocated to the state of commercial domicile, and that all
other income must be apportioned as directed in Va. Code
§§ 58.1-408 - 58.1-420, 58.1-422, 58.1-422.1, 58.1-422.2,
or 58.1-422.3. Virginia law does not allow for subtractions
from apportionable income based on separate or divisional
accounting, or for the exclusion of non-Virginia investment
income.

Certified Company Apportionment for Business
Conducted in Certain Disadvantaged Localities

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018,
certain companies may decrease the amount of their
income taxed by Virginia when they meet specific eligibility
requirements and are certified by the Virginia Economic
Development Partnership Authority (“WVEDP”). This includes a
requirement that a specified number of jobs be created and, if
applicable, investments be made in particular disadvantaged
localities.

Once the company is certified by VEDP as meeting the
applicable eligibility requirements, it is entitled to decrease
the amount of income taxed by Virginia. For multistate
certified companies, the decrease in income is accomplished
by allowing such companies to make modifications to their
apportionment factors (“Certified Company Apportionment”).
For instate certified companies, this is accomplished by
allowing such companies the ability to use apportionment
and to use Certified Company Apportionment to make
modifications to their apportionment factors. See Schedule
500AP Instructions for detailed information

Schedule 500AP

Schedule 500AP must be used by companies certified by
VEDP as eligible to use Certified Company Apportionment
that elect to use a modified apportionment method to
determine the amount of Virginia income that is subject
to apportionment. Eligible companies must complete the
Schedule 500AP prior to completing the Schedule 502A to
determine the value that will be used on the appropriate line
of Schedule 502A, Section B, Column B.

Line Instructions
Enter the company’s name and FEIN.
Checkboxes

If filing a Unified Nonresident Individual Income Tax
Return, Form 765, check the box as indicated. The “Unified
nonresident return filed” check box must also be marked on
Form 502, Page 1. Please enclose a completed Schedule
502A with Form 765 if a composite return is filed by the
business owners.

If the pass-through entity is certified by VEDP as eligible to
use Certified Company Apportionment, check the box and
enclose the Schedule 500AP. Use the modified Virginia
apportionment factor that was computed on Schedule
500AP, Column C to complete the Schedule 502A. See the
Schedule 500AP Instructions for additional information.
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Section A — Apportionment Method

All income of the PTE except the class of income allocable
as specified in the instructions for Section C, Line 3 is
apportioned to this state in accordance with the items below.
(Va. Code § 58.1-408.)

Line 1. Motor carriers. If a taxpayer is a motor carrier and
an exception applies, check the proper box for Exception 1
or Exception 2. See the instructions for Section B, Line 1 for
more information.

Line 2. Financial companies. Check this box if the PTE
is a financial company. Financial companies must apportion
income based on cost of performance in Virginia versus
cost of performance everywhere. See the instructions for
Section B, Line 1 for more information.

Line 3. Construction companies. Check this box if the PTE
is a construction company that has elected to report income
on the completed contract basis. Construction companies
that have made this election must apportion income as
provided in the instructions for Section B, Line 1.

Line 4. Railway companies. Check this box if the PTE is a
railway company. Railway companies must determine their
net apportionable income by using revenue car miles. See
the instructions for Section B, Line 1 for more information.

Line 5. Retail Company Apportionment. Check this box if
the company is a retail company.

For purposes of this requirement, a retail company is defined
as a domestic or foreign company primarily engaged in
activities that, in accordance with the NAICS, United States
Manual, United States Office of Management and Budget,
1997 Edition, would be included in Sectors 44-45.

A retail company is required to apportion its income using a
single sales factor method of apportionment.

Line 6 — Debt Buyers Apportionment

Check this box if the corporation is a debt buyer with a taxable
year beginning on or after January 1, 2019. A debt buyer is
required to apportion its income using a single sales factor
method of apportionment. See the instructions for Section B,
Line 1 for more information. (Va. Code § 58.1-422.3.)

Line 7. Manufacturer’s modified apportionment method:
Check this box if a manufacturer is electing the modified
apportionment method under Va. Code § 58.1-422. See the
Rulings & Decisions section on the Department’'s website
at www.tax.virginia.gov to download the guidelines for this
apportionment method.

Which Manufacturers Qualify: An electing manufacturer
must certify to the Department that the average weekly
wage of its full-time employees was greater than the lower
of the state or local average weekly wage for the taxpayer’s
industry. (Va. Code § 58.1-422.)

In addition, the PTE must maintain 90% of the base year
level of employment in Virginia for the first 3 taxable
years after making the election. If a PTE fails to meet this
requirement, it will be required to reapportion income based
on the standard apportionment and provide the owners with

corrected income amounts. The owners will be required
to pay the difference between taxes calculated under the
standard method of apportionment and taxes calculated
under the election, as well as interest and a 10% penalty.
(Va. Code § 58.1-422.)

Manufacturing pass-through entities may elect to use the
modified apportionment method. Once a manufacturing
PTE makes this election, it generally may neither revoke
such election for 3 taxable years nor amend the return on
which such election was made to change its method of
apportionment. The manufacturing company will be required
to use the apportionment factor that is effective at the time
that the modified apportionment method election is made,
and any apportionment factor that becomes effective in the
first 3 taxable years after the election.

Line 7(a). Enter the beginning date (MM/DD/YY) of the
election year.

Line 7(b). A taxpayer making this election must certify that
the average weekly wage of its full-time employees is greater
than the lower of the state or local average weekly wages
for its industry and that the average annual number of full-
time employees of the manufacturing company is at least
90% of the base year employment. Check the box certifying
that the company meets the requirements. The wage and
employment certification box should be checked for each
year that the manufacturer’s election is claimed.

Manufacturer does not maintain employment levels for
modified apportionment method election. A manufacturer
will be subject to additional tax (recapture) and interest if the
average weekly wage of its full-time employees is lower than
the state or local weekly wage for its industry or its number of
full-time employees do not equal or exceed 90% of its base
year employment level. The amount of the recapture is equal
to the difference between the tax that would have been due
under the standard apportionment method and the amount
of tax that was due using the modified apportionment method
for each of the first 3 years in which the average weekly
wage of its full-time employees was lower than the state or
local weekly wage for its industry or its number of full-time
employees did not equal or exceed 90% of its base year
employment level. The Department will generally assess
the manufacturer with the amount required to be recaptured
and any interest due. However, a manufacturer that fails, or
anticipates that it will fail, to meet the wage and employment
requirements may file returns for the taxable years for
which recapture would be required, using the statutory
apportionment method, and pay any taxes and interest due
on such returns in lieu of waiting to receive an assessment
of such amounts due from the Department. Such company
must submit a written explanation with its return detailing
why it is changing to the statutory apportionment method.

If you file an amended return and voluntarily change your
apportionment method because you anticipate that you
will fail to meet the wage and employment requirements,
file an amended return by completing a new return for
the year of adjustment using the corrected figures, as if it
were the original return. Do not make any adjustments to
the amended return to show that the you received a refund

Page 23



or paid a balance due as the result of the original return.
Check the amended return box on Form 502, complete a
revised Schedule 502A, and the Amended Return section on
Schedule 502ADJ, Page 2.

Line 8. Enterprise Data Center Operation: A taxpayer
with an enterprise data center operation that enters into a
memorandum of understanding with the Virginia Economic
Development Partnership (VEDP) to make a new capital
investment of at least $150 million in an enterprise data
center in Virginia is required to apportion Virginia taxable
income using a single sales factor method of apportionment.

Line 9. Multi-Factor Formula with Double-Weighted
Sales Factor: Check if using the multi-factor apportionment
formula with a double-weighted sales factor.

Section B — Apportionment Percentage

Line 1. Single Factor Computations: Motor Carriers,
Financial Companies, Construction Companies, Railway
Companies, Retail Companies, Debt Buyers, Manufacturers
who elected the Modified Apportionment Method in Section A,
and Certain Enterprise Data Center Operations.

For taxpayers using the single-factor computation, check
the appropriate box for the PTE’s entity type (motor carrier,
financial corporation, construction corporation, railway
company, retail company, qualified manufacturer’s modified
apportionment, enterprise data center operation) on
Lines 1 through 8 of Section A. Based on the appropriate
computation method for your entity type or election, enter
the total, Virginia, and percentage on Line 1, Section B. For
example: railway companies are to use the ratio of revenue
car miles in Virginia to total revenue miles of the corporation
everywhere.

Motor carriers: Motor carriers of property or passengers
using highways of this state must, unless they meet one
of the two exceptions set forth below, apportion their net
apportionable income to Virginia using the ratio of vehicle
miles in this state to total vehicle miles everywhere. “Vehicle
miles” means miles traveled by vehicles, owned or operated
by the taxpayer, hauling property, or carrying passengers for
a charge or fare.

A carrier meeting either of the exceptions set forth below is
not required to apportion income to Virginia. In such cases,
a return must be filed, but it is necessary only to enter the
name and address on appropriate lines, enter zero on Line 7,
Form 502, check the appropriate box(es) on Schedule
502A, Section A, Line 1 and complete Section B, Line 1 of
Schedule 502A. (Va. Code § 58.1-417.)

Exception 1: A carrier which neither owns nor rents real
or tangible personal property inside this state except
vehicles, makes no pickups or deliveries inside this state,
and travels no more than 50,000 “vehicle miles” inside this
state; provided that the Virginia “vehicle miles” are less
than 5% of total vehicle miles.

Exception 2: Acarrier which neither owns nor rents real or
tangible personal property inside this state except vehicles,
and which makes no more than 12 round trips into this state

during the taxable year, either hauling property or carrying
passengers; provided that the Virginia “vehicle miles” are
less than 5% of total vehicle miles traveled during the
taxable year.

Financial companies: A financial company is a company
that is not exempted from the imposition of tax under the
provisions of Va. Code § 58.1-401, which derives more
than 70% of its gross income from the classes of income
enumerated in items 1 through 4 below, without reference
to the state where the income is earned, including, but not
limited to, small loan companies, sales finance companies,
brokerage companies, and investment companies:

1. Fees, commissions, other compensation for financial
services rendered;

2. Gross profits from trading in stocks, bonds, or other
securities;

3. Interest; and

4. Dividends that are included in Virginia taxable income.
In computing the amounts referred to in items 1 through
4 above, any amount received by a member of an
affiliated group (determined under IRC § 1504(a), but
without reference to whether any such company is an
includible company under IRC § 1504 (b)) from another
member of such group, will be included only to the
extent that the amount exceeds the related expenses
of the recipient.

The Virginia taxable income of a financial company, as
defined in Va. Code § 58.1-418, excluding income allocable
under Va. Code § 58.1-407, must be apportioned within and
without this state in the ratio that the business within Virginia
is to total business of the corporation. Business within this
state must be based on cost of performance in Virginia over
cost of performance everywhere. (Va. Code § 58.1-418.)

Cost of Performance Factor

(a) The cost of performance is the cost of all activities directly
performed by the taxpayer for the ultimate purpose of
obtaining gains or profit, except activities directly performed
by the taxpayer for the ultimate purpose of obtaining
dividends allocable under the provisions of Va. Code
§ 58.1-407.

(i)  Such activities do not include those performed on
behalf of a taxpayer, such as those performed by
an independent contractor.

(i)  The cost of performance does not include the
cost of funds (interest, etc.), but does include the
cost of activities required to procure loans or other
financing.

(b) Activities constituting the cost of performance are deemed
performed at the situs of real and tangible personal
property or the place at which or from which activities are
performed by employees of a taxpayer.

(c) Cost of performance of a financial institution within and
without Virginia must be determined without regard to
the location of borrowers, location of property in which
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the financial company has only a security interest, or the
cost to the financial company of the funds which it lends.
(23 Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) 10-120-250.)

Construction companies: Construction companies which
have elected to report income on the completed contract
basis for federal income tax purposes must apportion
income within and without this state in the ratio that the
business within this state is to total business of the company.
The business within and without this state is based upon
“sales” as defined by Va. Code § 58.1-302, to the extent
that it is included in taxable income, and is determined
as provided by Va. Code §§ 58.1-414 through 58.1-419.
All other construction companies must determine Virginia
taxable income by reference to Va. Code §§ 58.1-406
through 58.1-416.

Railway companies: Railway companies must determine
their net apportionable income to this state by multiplying
Virginia taxable income of such company, excluding the
income allocable under Va. Code § 58.1-407, by the use of
the ratio of revenue car miles in this state to total revenue
car miles of the company everywhere.

“Revenue car mile” in the case of railway carriers of property
or passengers means the movement of a unit of loaded
car equipment a distance of one mile. The loaded car
miles must be determined in accordance with the Uniform
System of Accounts for Railroad Companies of the Interstate
Commerce Commission. (Va. Code § 58.1-420.)

Retail Companies

Aretail corporation is required to apportion its income using a
single sales factor method of apportionment. For purposes of
this requirement, a retail company is defined as a domestic or
foreign corporation that is primarily engaged in activities that,
in accordance with the North American Industry Classification
System (NAICS), United States Manual, United States Office
of Management and Budget, 1997 Edition, would be included
in Sectors 44-45 (Va. Code § 58.1-422.1).

Debt Buyers

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, a
debt buyer is required to apportion their income to Virginia
using a single factor method of apportionment based on
sales and market-based sourcing methods to source certain
sales that consist of money recoverable on debt.

For purposes of Debt Buyer Apportionment, a "debt
buyer" is an entity and its affiliated entities that purchase
nonperforming loans from unaffiliated commercial entities
that (i) are in default for at least 120 days or (ii) are in
bankruptcy proceedings. "Debt buyer" does not include an
entity that provides debt collection services for unaffiliated
entities.

For debt buyers, sales, other than the sales of tangible
personal property, are in Virginia if they consist of money
recovered on a debt that a debt buyer collected from a
person who is a resident of Virginia or an entity that has its
commercial domicile in Virginia, regardless of the location
of the debt buyer's business (Va. Code 58.1-416 B). If
necessary information is not available to the taxpayer to

determine whether a sale other than the sale of tangible
personal property is in Virginia, the taxpayer may estimate
the dollar value or portion of the sale in Virginia, provided
that the taxpayer can demonstrate that:

1. the estimate has been undertaken in good faith;

2. the estimate is a reasonable approximation of the dollar
value or portion of the sale in the Commonwealth; and

3. in using an estimate the taxpayer did not have as a
principal purpose the avoidance of any tax due.

Manufacturers Modified Apportionment Method: Use
the single sales factor apportionment if the PTE elected
the Manufacturer’'s Modified Apportionment Method in
Section A. Enter the Total, Virginia, and Percentage on
Section B, Line 1.

Enterprise Data Center Operation: A taxpayer with
an enterprise data center operation that enters into a
memorandum of understanding with the Virginia Economic
Development Partnership (VEDP) to make a new capital
investment of at least $150 million in an enterprise data center
in Virginia is required to apportion Virginia taxable income
using a single sales factor method of apportionment.

Line 2. Multi-Factor Computation: Three-Factor Formula
— Multistate companies are generally required to use
a three-factor formula of property, payroll and double-
weighted sales. The sum of the property factor, payroll factor
and twice the sales factor is divided by 4 to arrive at the
final apportionment factor. Retail companies are required to
apportion their income using a single sales factor method of
apportionment. See the specific instructions that follow.

Line 2(a). Property factor: The property factor is a
fraction, the numerator of which is the average value of the
company’s real and tangible personal property that is owned
and used or rented and used in this state during the taxable
year, and the denominator of which is the average value
of all the company’s real and tangible property owned and
used or rented and used during the taxable year and located
everywhere; to the extent that such property is used to
produce Virginia taxable income and is effectively connected
with the conduct of a trade or business within the United
States and income derived therefrom is includible in federal
taxable income. (Va. Code § 58.1-409.)

Property owned by the company is valued at its original
cost plus the cost of additions and improvements. Property
rented by the company is valued at 8 times the property’s
annual rental rate. (Va. Code § 58.1-410.)

The average value of property is determined by averaging
the value at the beginning and ending of the tax period, but
the Department may require the averaging of monthly values
during the tax period if it is reasonably required to reflect
properly the average value of the corporation’s property.
(Va. Code § 58.1-411.)

Line 2(b). Payroll factor: The payroll factor is a fraction, the
numerator of which is the total amount paid or accrued in this
state during the tax period by the company for compensation,
and the denominator of which is the total compensation paid
or accrued everywhere during the tax period; to the extent
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that such payroll is used to produce Virginia taxable income
and is effectively connected with the conduct of a trade or
business within the United States, and the income derived is
includible in federal taxable income. (Va. Code § 58.1-412.)

“Compensation” means wages, salaries, commissions, and
any other form of remuneration that is paid or accrued to
employees for personal services. (Va. Code § 58.1-302.)

Compensation is paid or accrued in this state if:

(a) the employee’s service is performed entirely within
the state; or

(b) the employee’s service is performed both within
and without the state, but the service performed
without the state is incidental to the employee’s
service within the state; or

(c) some of the service is performed in the state and:

(i) the base of operations or, if there is no base of
operations, the place from which the service is
directed or controlled is in the state; or

(ii) the base of operations or the place from which the
service is directed or controlled is not in any state
in which some part of the service is performed,
but the employee’s residence is in this state. (Va.
Code § 58.1-413.)

Line 2(c): Sales factor. The sales factor is a double-
weighted in the three-factor formula which consists of sales,
property and payroll factors. The sales factor is a fraction,
the numerator of which is the total sales of the company in
this state during the tax period, and the denominator of which
is the total sales of the company everywhere during the tax
period, to the extent that such sales are used to produce
Virginia taxable income and are effectively connected with
the conduct of a trade or business within the United States
and income derived is includible in federal taxable income
(Va. Code § 58.1-414). “Sales” means all gross receipts of
the company other than dividends, except that, in the case
of the sale or other disposition of intangible property, only
the net gain is included. Net gain is determined on a per
transaction basis. (Va. Code § 58.1-302.)

Sales of tangible personal property are in this state if the
property is received in this state by the purchaser. In the
case of delivery by common carrier or other means of
transportation, the place at which such property is ultimately
received after all transportation has been completed is
considered the place at which such property is received by
the purchaser. Direct delivery in this state, other than for
purposes of transportation, to a person or firm designated
by a purchaser, constitutes delivery to the purchaser in
this state, and such direct delivery outside of this state to
a person or firm designated by the purchaser does not
constitute delivery to the purchaser in this state, regardless
of where title passes, or other conditions of sale. (Va. Code
§ 58.1-415.)

Sales, other than sales of tangible personal property, are in
Virginia if: (a) the income-producing activity is performed in
Virginia; or (b) the income-producing activity is performed
in and outside of Virginia and a greater proportion of this

activity is performed in Virginia than in any other state, based
on costs of performance. (Va. Code § 58.1-416.)

Line 2(d). Standard Apportionment Sales Factor. Multiply
Line 2c by 2 and enter the result. The sales factor is a
double-weighted.

Line 2(e). Sum of Percentages. Add Lines 2(a), 2(b), and
2(d).

Line 2(f). Multi-Factor Percentage. Line 2(e) divided by the
number 4 (double-weighted sales) reduced by the number of
factors, if any, having no denominator.

Standard apportionable income is apportioned by multiplying
the income by a fraction, the numerator of which is the
property factor plus the payroll factor, plus 2 times the sales
factor, and the denominator of which is 4. However, if the
sales factor does not exist, the denominator of the fraction
must be the number of existing factors. If the sales factor
exists, but the payroll factor or the property factor does not
exist, the denominator of the fraction must be the number of
existing factors.

Section C — Allocable and Apportionable Income

Line 1. Total of Taxable Income Amounts. Enter Total of
Taxable Income Amounts from Form 502, Line 1.

Line 2. Dividends. If the commercial domicile is in Virginia,
enter the dividends received. Also, enter this amount on
Form 502, Line 4.

Line 3(a). Dividends-Commercial Domicile Is Not
Virginia. If the PTE’s commercial domicile is not in Virginia,
enter the dividends received.

Line 3(b). Nonapportionable Investment Function
Income. Enter the nonapportionable investment function
income from assets producing income serving an investment
function unrelated to the operational functions of the
business.

Line 3(c). Subtotal. Add Lines 3a and 3b.

Line 3(d). Nonapportionable Investment Function Loss.
Enter the nonapportionable investment function loss from
assets that are producing losses from an investment function
unrelated to the operational functions of the business.

Line 3(e). Allocable Income. Subtract Line 3d from Line 3c.
Enter the amount on Form 502, Line 5.

Line 4. Apportionable Income. If domiciled in Virginia,
subtract Line 2 from Line 1. If not domiciled in Virginia,
subtract Line 3e from Line 1.

Alternative Method of Allocation or Apportionment

If any company believes that the method of allocation or
apportionment administered by the Department will subject
it to taxation on a greater portion of its net income than is
reasonably attributable to business or sources within this
state, it is entitled to file with the Department a statement of
its objections and of such alternative method of allocation
or apportionment as it believes to be proper under the
circumstances with such detail and proof and within such
time as the Department may reasonably prescribe. If
the Department concludes that the method of allocation
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or apportionment employed is, in fact, inapplicable or
inequitable, it must redetermine the taxable income by such
other method of allocation or apportionment as seems best
calculated to assign to Virginia for taxation the portion of
the income reasonably attributable to business and sources
within the Virginia, not exceeding, however, the amount
which would be arrived at by application of the statutory
rules for allocation or apportionment. (Va. Code § 58.1-421.)

A company requesting permission to use an alternative
method of allocation or apportionment of income must
comply with Virginia Corporation Income Tax Regulation
23 VAC 10-120-130. The policy of the Department is that
the statutory method is the most equitable method of
determining the portion of a multistate company’s income
that is attributable to business activity in Virginia. Permission
to use an alternative method of allocation and apportionment
will be granted only in extraordinary circumstances.
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