
Cattle Assessment Return Instructions
General: Beginning January 1, 2019, and ending July 1, 2023, an 
assessment is levied on all cattle and calves sold in Virginia. Every handler 
is responsible for payment of tax from the proceeds of sale owed to the 
respective owners of all cattle and calves when sold in the Commonwealth. 
Dairy cows going to farms for milk, animals selling for less than $100 per 
head, or cattle of any type weighing 99 pounds or less are exempt from 
this tax. 

Handler means, at the point where the cattle are weighed or traded and 
the value determined, an operator of any stockyard, livestock dealership, 
slaughterhouse, packing plant, or livestock auction, market, or any other 
person who purchases from a producer.

The handler must pay the tax to the Tax Commissioner on or before the 
20th day of each month following the month in which the handler sells cattle.  

Filing Procedure: The Cattle Assessment Return must be filed and the tax 
paid by the handler to the Virginia Department of Taxation on or before the 
20th day of each month following the month in which the handler sells cattle.

Send completed return below to:	 Virginia Department of Taxation
	 Cattle Assessment
	 P.O. Box 2185
	 Richmond VA  23218-2185

Change of Address or Out-of-Business: If you change your business or 
mailing address, or if you are completely out of business, complete Form 
R-3, Registration Change Request or notify the Department by letter. Send 
the form or letter to the Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1114, 
Richmond, Virginia 23218-1114.

Questions: Call (804) 786-2450 or write the Virginia Department 
of Taxation, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715. You can 
file your return or obtain most Virginia tax forms from our website at  
www.tax.virginia.gov.

Assessment Rate: The tax is $0.50 per head.

Penalties and Interest: If the tax is not paid when due, a penalty of 5% of 
the tax due will be added to the tax, and the Virginia Department of Taxation 
will notify the taxpayer of such delinquency. If the tax and penalty are not 
paid within 30 days of the notification, interest at the underpayment rate 
established by Section 6621 of the Internal Revenue Code, plus 2%, will 
be added on both the tax and penalty.

Declaration and Signature: Be sure to sign, date and enter your phone 
number on the return in the space indicated.

Detach at dotted line below. DO NOT SEND ENTIRE PAGE.

Form CA-1	 Virginia Cattle Assessment Return
(Doc ID 251)	 For assistance, call (804)786-2450.
Do NOT staple.

	 Check if Out-of-Business  
	 and enter the termination/sold date _____________________________

DO NOT mail this worksheet.

0000000000000000 2518888 000000

I declare that this return (including accompanying schedules and statements) has been 
examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief is true, correct and complete.

Signature	 Date	 Phone Number
Va. Dept. of Taxation   CA-1 W      2601175     Rev. 8/18

Worksheet For Computing Cattle Assessment
Complete this Worksheet and transfer items to corresponding lines on Cattle Assessment Return (Form CA-1) below.

1	 Number of Cattle
Enter the total cattle handled during the month covered by this return.

2	 Assessment
Enter the amount of the assessment, $0.50 per head. (Line 1 X $0.50)

3	 Penalty for Late Filing and Payment
See instructions above

4	 Interest for Late Filing and Payment
See instructions above

5	 Total Amount Due
Enter the total amount due (Add Lines 2, 3 and 4)

Account Number FEIN

Name

Address

City State ZIP Code

1	 Number of Cattle

2	 Assessment
	 (Line 1 X $0.50)

3	 Penalty for Late 
	 Filing and Payment
4	 Interest for Late 
	 Filing and Payment

5	 Total Amount Due
	 Add Lines 2, 3 and 4

.

Period Due Date
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