Form EST-80

Virginia Estate Tax Return

VA Dept of Taxation 3101027 3/07

For dates of death from January 1, 2005 through June 30, 2007



IMPORTANT: A copy of the federal estate tax return,				
A Resident Return	Form 706, mus	st be filed with this return.	Offical use only	
B Nonresident Return	Decedent's Name		-	
C Alien Return	Social Security Number		Amount Received	
D Amended Return	Domicile at Date of Death			
E Amended - Fed Audit			Date Received	
F Extension - Filing				
G Extension - Payment				
H IRC 6166 Extension	Addiess			
*	· ·		<u> </u>	
		6a		
		6b		
))	6	
	Resident Return (Box A above			
	d, enter value of real and tangible 1 located outside Virginia	le personal 7a		
7b. Divide Line 7a by Line 1 ((Enter % two places past decim	al. Ex: 47.35%) 7b	<u></u>	
7c. Multiply Line 7b by Line 6	S	7c		
7d. Death taxes paid to other	states (do not include penalty of	or interest)7d.		
7. Enter lesser of Line 7c or	Line 7d		7	
8. Virginia Estate Tax (Virgin	nia Residents) Line 6 less Line 7	7	8	
<u>Nonresia</u>	<u>dent or Alien Return (Box B o</u>	r C above)		
9a. If Box B or C above is che property included in Line		9a		
9b. Divide Line 9a by Line 1 ((Enter % two places past decim	al. Ex: 47.35%)9b	%	
9. Virginia Estate tax (Nonre	esidents) Multiply Line 9b by Lin	e 6	9	
10. Total tax (Enter tax from L	Line 8 or 9 as applicable)		10.	
11. Payment Credits:	Extension Payments	11a		
	Other Payments	11b		
	Less Previous Refunds	11c		
Total Paym	ent Credits (Line 11a +11b - 11d	c)	11.	
		ess than zero)		
-				
15. Total tax, penalty and interest due (Line 12 + 13 +14)				
16. Overpayment (if Line 11 is larger than Line 10, enter overpayment)				
onder penalty of law, I decidle that I	Lave examined this return and, to the be	I authorize the Dept. of Taxation to	discuss this return with my prepar	er.
Signature of personal representative			Date Telephone Numl	ner .

FILING REQUIREMENTS

Code of Virginia §58.1-900 et seq. imposes the estate tax on estates of decedents whose date of death occurred from January 1, 2005 through June 30, 2007 in an amount equal to the maximum amount of the credit for state death taxes allowable under Section 2011 of the Internal Revenue Code as it existed on January 1, 1978. The Virginia estate tax requirements have been repealed for decedents whose date of death occurred on or after July 1, 2007. If a federal return is required to be filed for a decedent whose date of death occurred prior to July 1, 2007, a Virginia return must also be filed even if there is no tax due. For information or assistance with completing Form EST- 80, contact the Virginia Department of Taxation at (804) 367-8031. Additional information can also be obtained from Title 23 Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) 10-300-10 through 10-300-90. Mail the return to Virginia Department of Taxation, Processing Operations, P. O. Box 1500, Richmond, VA 23218-1500.

> for Estate Taxes paid to another state must be documented — attach a copy of the other state's

closing letter certifying the amount of tax paid or

FILING THRESHOLDS

DATE OF DEATH	GROSS	S VALUE EXCEEDING	DATE OF DEATH	GROSS VALL	E EXCEEDING
Through December 31, 1997		\$600,000	January 1, 2002 - December 31, 2003	3 \$ ⁻	1,000,000
January 1, 1998 - December 31,	1998	\$625,000	January 1, 2004 - December 31, 2005	5 \$	1,500,000
January 1, 1999 - December 31,	1999	\$650,000	January 1, 2006 - June 30, 2007	\$2	2,000,000
January 1, 2000 - December 31,	2001	\$675,000			

FORM INSTRUCTIONS

Check appropriate box in the upper left hand corner of the return. Fill in Decedent's Name, SSN, Date of Death and State of Domicile at Date of Death. Fill in the name and address of the Personal Representative to whom all correspondence

of the Personal Representative to whom all correspondence will be addressed. A continuation sheet may be attached if there are more than one.		Line 7 Line 8	a copy of the tax return filed in the other state(s). Enter the Lesser of Line 7c or Line 7d Line 6 less Line 7. This is the amount of estate tax due to the Commonwealth of Virginia for Virginia
Line 1	From Line 1, Federal Form 706		residents.
Line 2	From Line 2, Federal Form 706	Line 9a	If Box B is checked, enter value of nonresident's
Line 3a	Subtract Line 2 from Line 1		real and tangible personal property located in
Line 3b	From Line 3b, Federal Form 706. See "New Federal Deduction" section on next page for more information on the federal deduction for state death		Virginia. If Box C is checked, enter value of alien decedent's real and tangible/intangible personal property located in Virginia.
	taxes.	Line 9b	Divide Line 9a by Line 1 (carry the calculation
Line 3c	Subtract Line 3b from 3a		to 4 decimal places, expressed as a percentage
Line 4	From Line 4, Federal Form 706		with two decimal places, e.g, 47.35%)
Line 5	Line 3c plus Line 4	Line 9	Multiply Line 9b by Line 6.
Line 6a	Enter amount from Line 12 of Federal Form 706.	Line 10	Enter tax from line 8 or line 9 as applicable.
Line 6b	Compute tax on Line 3c using tax table on next page.	Line 11a	extension request.
Line 6	Enter lesser of Line 6a or 6b.	Line 11b	
Line 7a	If Box A is checked, enter value of the Virginia	Line 11c	Enter amount of refunds issued
	resident's real and tangible personal property	Line 11	Line 11a + Line 11b - Line 11c
Line 7b	located outside of Virginia. Divide Line 7a by Line 1 (carry the calculation	Line 12	Line 10 less line 11 (do not enter an amount less than zero)
	to 4 decimal places, expressed as a percentage with two decimal places, e.g, 47.35%)	Line 13	Penalty. If payment is made later than the due date or extended due date (for payment), enter
Line 7c	Multiply Line 7b by Line 6 (maximum credit for		5% of Line 12.
	tax paid to other states)	Line 14	Compute interest, as established below, for all
Line 7d	Enter amount of estate tax actually paid to other		payments not made by the original due date.
	states. Do not include penalty or interest. Credits	Line 15	Add lines 12, 13 and 14
		Line 16	If line 11 is larger than line 10, enter refund amount.

Adjusted Taxable Estate Worksheet

Taxable estate (Line 3c from Form EST-80)	
2. Adjustment	60,000
3. Adjusted taxable estate (Subtract line 2 from line 1).	
Use this amount to compute tax from Tax Table below	

Tax Table — Virginia Estate Tax

Based on Adjusted Taxable Estate (Line 3c - Form EST-80 less \$60,000)

(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)	
Adjusted Taxable Estate		Tax on amount in	Rate of tax on excess	
Taxable amount equal to or over	Taxable amount not over	Column (1)	over amount in Column (1)	
0 40,000 90,000 140,000 240,000	40,000 90,000 140,000 240,000 440,000	0 0 400 1,200 3,600	0.8% 1.6% 2.4% 3.2%	
440,000 640,000 840,000 1,040,000 1,540,000 2,040,000	640,000 840,000 1,040,000 1,540,000 2,040,000 2,540,000	10,000 18,000 27,600 38,800 70,800 106,800	4.0% 4.8% 5.6% 6.4% 7.2% 8.0%	

(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)	
Adjusted Taxab	le Estate	Tax on amount in	Rate of tax on excess	
Taxable amount equal to or over	Taxable amount not over	Column (1)	over amount in Column (1)	
2,540,000 3,040,000 3,540,000 4,040,000 5,040,000	3,040,000 3,540,000 4,040,000 5,040,000 6,040,000	146,800 190,800 238,800 290,800 402,800	8.8% 9.6% 10.4% 11.2% 12.0%	
6,040,000 7,040,000 8,040,000 9,040,000 10,040,000	7,040,000 8,040,000 9,040,000 10,040,000	522,800 650,800 786,800 930,800 1,082,800	12.8% 13.6% 14.4% 15.2% 16.0%	

NEW FEDERAL DEDUCTION

Effective for decedents dying on and after January 1, 2005, federal law allows estates to deduct the inheritance and estate taxes paid to the states. Because the Virginia estate tax will reduce the federal taxable estate, which is the starting point for calculating Virginia tax,

it will be necessary to use simultaneous equations to calculate the Virginia tax. Additional information is available on the Department of Taxation website to assist you in calculating Virginia tax. See www. tax.virginia.gov.

PENALTY AND INTEREST

The penalty for late payment of the tax is 5% of the tax due on Line 13 of the return. There is no penalty for late filing. Interest is accrued on the tax owed, from the due date through the date the tax is paid.

In accordance with § 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia, interest is assessed at the federal underpayment rate established by the Internal Revenue Service, plus 2%.

EXTENSIONS

Virginia law allows an extension of time for filing Form EST-80 and/ or paying the tax due only if a federal extension has been granted. The Department of Taxation accepts any extension granted by the Internal Revenue Service, as long as a true copy of the approved federal extension is attached to the Virginia return when filed. If a federal extension is requested for filing only, the Virginia tax is still due to be paid within nine months from the date of death. To pay the tax (estimated payment), use Form EST-80, check Box F and enter

amount of tax on line 15, leave lines 1-14 blank. If the tax is not paid by the due date, penalty and interest will be assessed. Estates requesting a payment extension under Internal Revenue Code §6166 must attach a copy of the letter requesting such extension and check Box H on page 1. Interest on the Virginia Estate Tax under this extension will NOT be reduced to correspond with the Internal Revenue Service reductions.

AMENDED RETURNS

If filing an amended return to report changes to the original return, check Box D and attach a copy of the amended Federal Form 706. If this return is requesting a refund, include federal acceptance. To

file an amended return due to a federal change, check Box E and attach a copy of the federal audit.

IMPORTANT

A COPY OF THE FEDERAL ESTATE TAX RETURN, FORM 706 MUST BE FILED WITH THIS RETURN. Be sure to include all schedules and continuation pages, approved payment extensions and/or a copy of the letter to the IRS requesting an extension under

Section 6166 of the Internal Revenue Code. Do not include a copy of the will or copies of real and personal property appraisals. This information will be requested if needed.