Sheep Assessment Return Instructions

General: An assessment is levied on sheep and lambs sold in Virginia.
The handler (defined as an operator of a stockyard, livestock dealership,
slaughter house, packing plant or livestock auction market or any person
or business entity making a purchase from a producer at the point at which
the sheep or lamb is sold or traded) is responsible for payment of tax on
all sheep and lambs. The assessment must be deducted by the handlers
from payments to owners of the sheep and lambs. A handler purchasing
sheep or lambs in Virginia for resale within 10 days is exempt from the
assessment on the subsequent sale.

Filing Procedure: The Sheep Assessment return must be filed and the
tax paid by the handler to the Virginia Department of Taxation on or before
the last day of the month following the end of each quarter. Quarters end
March 31, June 30, September 30 and December 31.

Send completed return below to: Virginia Department of Taxation
Virginia Sheep Assessment
PO Box 2185
Richmond VA 23218-2185

Change of Address or Out-of-Business: If you change your business or
mailing address, or if you are completely out of business, complete Form
R-3, Registration Change Request or notify the department by letter. Send
the form or letter to the Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1114,
Richmond, Virginia 23218-1114.

Questions: Call (804) 786-2450 or write the Virginia Department of
Taxation, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715. If you have Internet
access you can obtain most Virginia tax forms or even file your return from
our Web-site: www.tax.virginia.gov.

Assessment Rate: The assessment is 50 cents per head.

Penalties and Interest: If the tax is not paid when due, a penalty of 5% of
the tax due will be added to the tax, and the Virginia Department of Taxation
will notify the taxpayer of such delinquency. If the tax and penalty are not
paid within 30 days of the notification, interest at the underpayment rate
established by Section 6621 of the Internal Revenue Code, plus 2%, will
be added on both the tax and penalty.

Declaration and Signature: Be sure to sign, date and enter your phone
number on the return in the space indicated.

below.

Work Sheet For Computing Sheep Assessment
Complete this Worksheet and transfer items indicated by the arrows to corresponding lines on Sheep Assessment Return (Form SH-1)

1 Number of Sheep

Enter the total of sheep and lambs handled during the quarter covered by this return. <«
(NOTE: Do not include sheep or lambs purchased in Virginia for resale within 10 days.)

2 Assessment
Enter the amount of the assessment, 50 cents per head. (Line 1 X $.50)

3 Penalty for Late Filing and Payment <
See instructions above

4 Interest for Late Filing and Payment
See instructions above

5 Total Amount Due <
Enter the total amount due (Add Lines 2, 3 and 4)

DO NOT mail this worksheet.

Detach at dotted line below. DO NOT SEND ENTIRE PAGE.

Form SH-1 Virginia Sheep Assessment Return
(Doc ID 231)

Do NOT staple. For assistance, call (804)786-2450.

Period Due Date

Dheck if Out-of-Business and enter the termination/sold date

oooooooooooooOoO0O0 2316688 0OO0OO0O0OO

Account Number FEIN 1 Number of Sheep
N 2 A ment
ame
(Line 1 X $.50)
Address 3 Penalty for Late

Filing and Payment

City State Zip 4 Interest for Late
Filing and Payment

| declare that this return (including accompanying schedules and statements) has been
examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief is true, correct and complete. 5 Total Amount Due

(Add Lines 2, 3 and 4)

Signature Date Phone Number

Va. Dept. of Taxation SH-1ARW REV 5/06
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