Virginia Department of Taxation Commonwealth of Virginia www.tax.virginia.gov

Have Questions?

Visit the Department's website at www.tax.virginia.gov or call 804-367-8037

Accelerated Sales and Use Tax Payment Coupon

Virginia requires dealers meeting specific requirements to make accelerated sales and use tax payments for the month of June each year. Retail Sales and Use Tax Dealers who generated taxable sales and purchases of \$4 million or more for the twelve-month period ending June 30, 2017, are required to make an accelerated payment.

The Department of Taxation sent notices to affected taxpayers in mid-May. If you reported total taxable sales and purchases of \$4 million or more for the twelve-month period ending June 30, 2017, and you did not receive a notice, you should contact us at (804) 367-8037.

- This accelerated payment requirement is based on aggregate sales for all locations, regardless
 of the number of returns filed by the dealer.
- The amount of the payment is 90% of your June 2017 tax liability.
- Accelerated payments not made by the required date will be subject to a 6% penalty. The 6% penalty is computed on any late or unpaid accelerated sales tax due.

Unless you received a waiver from the electronic filing and/or payment mandate, you must make your accelerated sales tax payment electronically. For information on electronic payments, see **Electronic Funds Transfer** section on Page 2.

The June 2018 accelerated payment will be due on June 25, 2018, for dealers paying by mail and June 30, 2018, for dealers who pay electronically. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, you are allowed to file on the next succeeding business day. After making the accelerated payment, you should file your regular June return by July 20, 2018, and reconcile the accelerated payment with the actual June 2018 liability.

INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE - READ CAREFULLY

TOTAL PAID

	Do not submit the vou	cher below if you pay elec	ct <u>ronically</u>
Form ST-APC (Doc ID 110) Due June 25, 2018	Mail to: Virginia De	Sales and Use Tax F sed if the payment is not ma partment of Taxation, P nmond, VA 23261-6627	ade by the due date.
000000000000000000000000000000000000000	1108888 000000		
Period Ending: June 2018			
Account Number			
Name			
Address			

City, State, ZIP Code _

Accelerated Sales Tax and Reconciliation Instructions

STEP 1 – Make Your Payment Timely

Electronic Funds Transfer: Payments submitted using Electronic Funds Transfer ("EFT") are due by June 30, 2018. There are 2 options available for submitting your payment electronically:

- 1. **Online Services** We offer free, secure online filing and payment services. You can schedule your payment in advance for June 30, 2018 at **www.business.tax.virginia.gov**.
 - **eForms** look similar to paper versions of returns. No login or password is required. Use the Electronic Form ST-APC and fill in the required fields.
 - **Business iFile** allows you to manage your tax accounts, file your returns, and pay your state taxes all from one location. When you log into your Business iFile account, you will be provided instructions on making your accelerated tax payment.
- 2. **ACH Credit** To use ACH Credit, contact your financial institution for information on ACH origination services it offers and any associated costs. Check your bank's schedule for payment processing to ensure your payment is received by June 30, 2018. Instruct your bank to identify the payment as being for the period ending June 30, 2018. For additional information see the Electronic Payment Guide at **www.tax.virginia.gov**.

Paper Check: Payments submitted by paper check are due June 25. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, you are allowed to file on the next succeeding business day. To avoid problems:

- 1. Use the voucher and return envelope provided in this mailer.
- 2. Do not include other returns or payments in the envelope with your accelerated payment and voucher.
- 3. Mail your payment to the address shown below.

STEP 2 – File Your June Tax Return by July 20, 2018

- 1. Complete your regular sales and use tax return exactly as if you had not made an accelerated payment.
- 2. Compute your tax liability without regard to the accelerated payment and enter the amount on your Retail Sales and Use Tax return as normal. If you are submitting a paper Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax return, enter your net tax liability.
- 3. Determine the amount of tax you need to submit with your return as follows:

 A	ty minus allowed dealer's discount):	A. Enter your June net tax liability (tax liability n	Α. Ι
 nt: B	accelerated sales and use tax paymer	B. Enter the amount you submitted as your acc	В. І
C.	e:	C. Subtract B from A and enter the difference:	C. :

If B is greater than A, you owe no tax with your June 2018 tax return. Any overpaid amount will be carried forward to July and applied to your July tax liability. After you file your July return, if any amount is still overpaid, we will issue you a refund.

If A is greater than B, then pay only the difference when you file your June return. If filing a paper return, write "AST" across the top of the return.

Make sure this address shows through the window of the envelope.

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION ACCELERATED SALES AND USE TAX P.O. BOX 26627 RICHMOND VA 23261-6627