The following credits have expired or been repealed; however, taxpayers with carryover amounts may continue to claim the credits until their eligible amounts are exhausted or as otherwise provided by law. See the individual credit instructions for more information.
- Clean-Fuel Vehicle and Advanced Cellulosic Biofuels Job Creation Tax Credit
- Day Care Facility Investment Credit
- Credit for Purchase of Long-Term Care Insurance
- Low Income Housing Credit
- Rent Reduction Program Credit
- Telework Expenses Credit
This credit expired on December 31, 2014.
The Clean-Fuel Vehicle and Advanced Cellulosic Biofuels Job Creation Tax Credit allows a corporation to claim an income tax credit equal to $700 for each job it creates that is related to the manufacture and production of clean fuel and advanced cellulosic biofuel vehicles. The credit is allowed in the taxable year in which the job is created and in each of the two succeeding years.
The credit can be claimed in Part XI of the corporate Schedule 500CR. This credit is not available to individuals.
Reference: Virginia Code 58.1-439.1
This credit expired on December 31, 2013.
For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 1997, an employer may be eligible for a credit for expenditures incurred to establish a day-care facility for the children of employees. The maximum credit is $25,000. Virginia Tax may not approve more than $100,000 in total credits in any fiscal year.
To be eligible for the credit, the employer's day care facility must meet the following criteria: (1) the facility shall be operated under a license issued by the Virginia Department of Social Services; (2) the building permit application for the facility must be submitted after July 1, 1996; (3) the facility must be used primarily by the children of the taxpayer's employees and; (4) the Tax Commissioner must approve the credit application before a credit may be claimed. Any unused credit may be carried forward for 3 taxable years.
To apply for this credit, submit a letter of application that specifies the employer's name and location of the facility. You must also provide certification of items (1) and (2) above. Send your application to: Virginia Department of Taxation, Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715.
Individual filers complete Schedule CR, Part XII, and corporate filers complete Form 500CR, Part XIV to claim this credit.
Reference: Virginia Code 58.1-439.4.
This credit expired on December 31, 2013.
Individuals may claim a credit equal to 15% of the amount paid by the individual during the taxable year in long-term care insurance premiums for long-term care insurance coverage for himself, but the total credits for any policy may not exceed 15% of the amount of premiums paid for the first 12 months of coverage. Any unused credit may be carried forward for the next 5 taxable years. In order to determine the amount that may be used as a basis for this credit, the individual must subtract any amount actually included as a deduction on Schedule A of the individual's federal income tax return. In addition, the individual may not claim this credit to the extent the premiums have been used to claim the Virginia deduction for long-term healthcare premiums. It may be possible, however, for an individual to claim this credit and the Virginia deduction in the same year.
Example: This credit is based on the amount paid during the taxable year, even if the months covered by the policy extend into the following taxable year. For example, if an individual purchased a policy on July 1 and paid for 12 months, he would base his credit on the entire payment, even though only 6 months of the coverage period would fall in the taxable year in which he claimed the credit. If however, the individual made payments on a monthly basis, he would claim a credit in the current taxable year for 6 months of premiums and a credit in the second year for the next 6 months of premiums in order to reach the allowed total of 12 months. In that case, the individual could also claim a deduction in the 2nd year for the 6 months of premiums that were not used as a basis for the credit.
Reference: Virginia Code 58.1-339.11 (Repealed)
This credit expired on June 30, 2010.
If you are a Virginia taxpayer and you claimed a low-income housing tax credit on your federal income tax return for housing units placed in service in Virginia on or after January 1, 1998, you may qualify to claim the state low-income housing tax credit.
The Virginia credit is a percentage of the federal credit. If in subsequent years you are subject to the federal recapture provisions for this credit, you will also be subject to a recapture amount on your Virginia return.
You must receive certification from the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development before claiming this credit on your tax return. The allowable credit may not exceed your tax liability. For additional information contact the Department of Housing and Community Development at 804.371.7117.
Individual filers complete Schedule CR, Part XIII, and business filers complete 500CR Part XV to claim the credit.
Reference: Virginia Code 58.1- 336 (Repealed).
This credit expired on December 31, 2010.
Owners of rental property who provide a rent reduction to low income tenants who: 1) are over age 62; 2) have a mental disability, or; 3) have been homeless (those in domestic violence and homeless shelters) at any time within the previous 12 months preceding the lease term are eligible to apply for a state income tax credit.
The reduced rent must be at least 15% below the market rate. After January 1, 2000, no credit may be claimed unless credit was validly claimed on the unit for all or part of the month of December 1999. The credit is equal to 50% of the total rent reductions given to eligible tenants during the taxable year. The total amount of credit a taxpayer may claim per taxable year may not exceed their tax liability. Unused credits may be carried forward for 5 years. Total credits approved in a fiscal year cannot exceed $50,000.
For more information and to apply for the credit, contact the Virginia Housing Development Authority.
Individual filers complete Schedule CR, Part VII, and corporate filers complete Form 500CR Part VIII to claim this credit.
Reference: Virginia Code 58.1 -339.9.
This credit expired December 31, 2018
This credit is available to employers for eligible expenses incurred for allowing employees to telework under a signed telework agreement for taxable years beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2012, but before Jan. 1, 2022. An employer may be eligible for a credit of up to $1,200 per teleworking employee and/or a maximum of $20,000 for conducting a telework assessment. The amount of credit will not exceed $50,000 per employer for each calendar year. The telework assessment can only be allowed once. The aggregate amount of tax credits that will be issued is capped at $1 million annually. An employer will be ineligible for a tax credit as stated in this section if the employer claims a credit based on the jobs, wages, or other expenses for the same employee under any other provision of this chapter. Employers are not allowed to deduct expenses that are deducted for federal purposes.
The business must apply for reservation of tax credits between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31 of the year preceding the taxable year for which the tax credit is to be earned using Form TEL-1. Send your application to Virginia Tax, Tax Credit Unit, PO Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715. We will send a letter certifying tentative approval of the credit by Dec. 31. The business must also file Form TEL-2 by April 1 of the year following the calendar year that the eligible expenses were incurred. Applications received after the filing deadline will not be eligible for the credit. We will issue the credit by June 30 providing the amount of the credit that can be claimed on the Virginia return is available. Unused tax credit can't be carried forward or carried back against the employer's tax liability.
The amount of the credit attributable to a partnership, electing small business corporation (S corporation), or limited liability company must be allocated to the individual partners, shareholders, or members in proportion to their ownership or interest within the business entity using Form PTE within 30 days after the credit is granted.
The Department of Rail and Public Transportation (DRPT) is available to help guide businesses through the development of a telework program. This includes providing assistance on policy and agreement development, training for teleworkers and managers, and program assessment. For questions about developing a telework program or telework policies, visit the Telework! VA website. You can also get help by calling DRPT at 804.786.4440 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Reference: Va. Code § 58.1-439.12:07