If you haven’t yet filed your Virginia individual income taxes, Virginia Tax is encouraging you to take action now, so you don’t miss an important deadline.
Taxpayers must file by midnight on Monday, July 1, 2019, to qualify for the Tax Relief Refund. The refund is the result of new state legislation conforming the commonwealth’s tax law to the federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. An individual filer could receive up to $110 and a married couple filing a joint return could receive up to $220. The refund is not to exceed the taxpayer’s liability, and the law requires the checks to be mailed out by Oct. 15, 2019.
Some factors could reduce the Tax Relief Refund including:
- If you owe Virginia state taxes for 2018 or for any previous tax years, Virginia Tax will withhold all or part of the refund and apply it to outstanding tax bills; and
- If you owe money to Virginia local governments, courts, other state agencies or the IRS, Virginia Tax will withhold all or part of the refund to help pay these debts.
Here are some other tips to help Virginia Tax process your return more smoothly – ensure your name, address and Social Security number are correct on your return; file electronically; and include your Virginia driver’s license or Virginia identification card number on your return.