2019 Virginia Tax Relief Refund

August 20, 2019

Some taxpayers may receive a check in the mail this fall. See if you're eligible for the Virginia Tax Relief Refund.

Virginia Sales Tax Holiday Runs from Aug. 2-4, 2019

July 22, 2019

The 3-day holiday starts at 12:01 am on Friday, Aug. 2 and ends at 11:59 pm on Sunday, Aug. 4, 2019. 

New Virginia Tax Laws for July 1, 2019

June 27, 2019

Starting July 1, 2019, a number of new state and local tax laws go into effect, which could impact you or your business.

File Your Individual Income Taxes by midnight on July 1

June 18, 2019

Taxes must be filed by the deadline to qualify for the one-time Tax Relief Refund.

Tax Tips for Newlyweds

June 12, 2019

Getting married this year? There are several ways to prepare for your first return as a newlywed.

Customer Services Walk-In Center now closed

May 31, 2019

Our Customer Services Walk-In Center in Richmond is now closed.

Litter Tax due May 1

April 5, 2019

Manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors, or retailers of specific types of products are required to pay the Litter Tax by May 1.

Update on Return Processing

March 6, 2019

We have worked through the backlog of returns and are now current with individual income tax processing. 

File for free

February 28, 2019

If you made $66,000 or less in 2018, you qualify to use Free File.

Virginia Tax to Begin Processing Returns

February 15, 2019

New tax legislation allows us to begin processing returns for this year. See what the new law means for this year’s filing season.