October 13, 2023
You may have recently received a letter from us titled Uncashed Refund Check if you have an uncashed check for a tax refund or tax rebate.
September 15, 2023
The General Assembly passed a law giving taxpayers with a tax liability a rebate of up to $200 for individual filers and up to $400 for joint filers. Eligible taxpayers must have filed by November 1, 2023 to receive the rebate.
September 14, 2023
Stock up on qualifying school supplies, clothing, hurricane and emergency preparedness supplies, and certain ENERGY STAR™ and WaterSense™ products without paying state sales tax during Virginia's Sales Tax Holiday weekend.
August 4, 2023
There’s a new way to share your feedback with Virginia Tax! We’ve added a new, streamlined survey to our site and online filing and payment applications that lets you share your experience interacting with them.
July 21, 2023
We recently redesigned our initial tax bill to make it easier to understand and use. This new design features the Virginia Tax logo at the top of the page, and a breakdown of the bill amount in an easy-to-follow table on the right.
June 28, 2023
Let us help you.
June 26, 2023
Several new state and local tax laws go into effect beginning July 1.
April 26, 2023
File Electronically to Save Time
April 21, 2023
If you live in Pittsylvania County, you will see an increase in the sales and use taxes you pay starting July 1, 2023.
The rate will go up by 1% in the county for a total of 6.3%. This includes the 4.3% state tax, the 1% local option tax, and the 1% additional tax for the county.
April 17, 2023
If your business is registered for litter tax, you’ll need to file and pay the tax by May 1.